Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booked on Expedia, but hotel was full!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We booked this hotel and arrived at 2pm to check in. When we arrived we were told that the hotel had been full when we booked it, but not to worry as they had arranged for us to stay at another hotel in town. We didn't get our bed request at the other hotel, were in a noisy room next to reception and therefore had a thoroughly miserable stay. We weren't offered anything by way of compensation for our troubles. Not good enough - sort out your booking system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Accrington, England

Great hotel in a superb location.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, unique Arabic architecture.
Location: Superb location situated between the two main Almunecar bays and within easy walking distance of the town centre and all amenities.
Our eighth visit to this hotel and we continue to enjoy the whole experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

quaint old world feel

Posted Nov 28, 2015
The old north African décor really makes this place look special, the inside is equipped with all needs and even has a lift. Nice for a quick stay with close parking during the colder months, might be problem in summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Hotel Casablanca was definitely the only small and interesting hotel I saw in Almenucar and I was so grateful we had booked into this little gem rather than the other hotels in town which looked pretty ugly. Frankly, was not that enamoured with Almunecar but had a nice room on the top floor with a terrace overlooking the ocean which was very nice. Big bathroom with a bath, very comfortable bed with nice sheets. Also had lunch in their restaurant downstairs which was outstanding, beautiful fresh fish and calamari and the house salad is chock full of avocado and tomato.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great hotel with beautiful view

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Our family loved staying here especially since the staff were so friendly and helpful. If you request a room in the front with a balcony it has a beautiful view of the ocean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fine hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location just a few steps from the beach and the staff were very pleasant.
Cons: When you book it should mention the option of smoking and non-smoking rooms.
The hotel is in a great location, parking is difficult and using the public parkade could be expensive (it was 20 euros for 24 hrs.) so check with the hotel as I think they do have some limited parking. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was decent size, and the beds very comfortable. It was a smoking room hence the OK rating, but next time I'll be sure to request non smoking. We would stay here again should we pass through Almunecar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south devon, uk.

Traditional Spanish hotel, close to beaches.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Traditional decor, old but clean. Excellent food, particularly fish.
Cons: Needs a secure luggage facility and changing room with a shower. Would benefit from a swimming pool.
Location: Excellent location just a few metres to the beaches. Lots of bars a restaurants near by. Only a few minutes walk to the old town.
Old traditional design decor, but very clean. Slightly understaffed at busy times. Lift tiny but works well. Air conditioning struggled on the hottest days. It was very hot during our visit. Would stay again. Was reccomended to us and in turn we would reccomend. A large sign informs of major improvements to hotel, but nobody seemed to know quite what or when.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Good restaurant. Market outside hotel in evenings added interest.
Hotel was lovely but Almunecar itself was unimpressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel close to the sea

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Cons: In the room; Fix some of the old furnitures and lamps that soon will break apart...and install a desk that makes it possible to work if needed..
Location: The hotel is situated close to a small and charming placa with trees and benches .just some minutes walk to old town and the fortress.
The hotel is situated close to a small and charming placa with trees and benches . Close by a cliff with a nice view to the beach and the town. just some minutes walk to old town and the fortress. The staff are very friendly and the hotel have their own restaurant with local dishes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Malaga

Handily placed near to beach and restaurants

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: The hotel was a bit noisy at night, especially on one windy night when the wind could be heard whistling past poorly sealing outside doors.
A basic hotel which offered good value for money