Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Shena

Well situated

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very well situated, walking distance to many other restaurants. The food at the hotel is not good at all. If a little bit more attention is given to the cleanliness, it will be excellent. Some of the staff don't care, for e.g. , there are big signs do no use the towels from the rooms at the pool, use only the pool towels provided, but they do not provide them, when you ask them for pool towels, they say they will bring it & do not pitch up at all. Also they have a security that walks around, he has no uniform, so u don't know who he is, and sometimes he sits outside playing this loud music on his phone.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Good location on Grand Bay

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Grand Bay is the best location on Mauritius in our view. Hotel staff were excellent. Breakfast good. Room was clean but very dark and needs modernising with better use of space. Very limited facilities if you want to eat in the room. Pool was small but nice. Beach was nice but would benefit from being cleaned up and tidied up at the start of each day. We felt that with a bit more TLC the whole site could be improved.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Contemporary large room

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay. Ocean Villa was ideally located to sea excursions, shopping and access to the shopping malls. Also close to night life in Grand Baie. Ideal launch pad to visit the rest of the island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation value in Grand Baie!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and plenty of room. We enjoyed a good omelet cooked to order for breakfast.every day..
Cons: Wireless internet is included. After a good start, we had some connectivity issues mid-visit, but the Director was able to resolve them. .
Location: Close to the beach at Mont Choisy and shopping at Grand Baie. Good central location that was easy to get to and from..
We have stayed here 3 times in the past 10 years. Excellent value for families. Clean rooms and spacious "villa" style apartments with living room and full kitchen. Nice pool, bar and restaurant. The half board with breakfast is a good combination. The hotel has a sandy beach with sunbathing and fun beach activities but it tends to be windy in winter (NE exposure). The pool is very nice and great place to relax and convenient to the villas. There is a spa that provides a peaceful escape from other activities. The hotel staff is very knowledgeable about activities in the area and can make local arrangements for rental car, day trips, or sightseeing. They are very helpful and pleasant (particularly Jennifer at the front desk), and arranged a training session and open water dive for myself and my daughter...
5 out of 5
by Nqaba from Johannesburg

Ocean Villas the best

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Tod from Cape Town

Ocean Villas the Best

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing stay. We were pleasantly supprised by this amazing setting and beautifull settings. The Breakfast was good and the staff very helpfull and Friendly. Very good value for Money
5 out of 5
by Tushar from New Delhi

apart from the world

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel staff was great, very cordial and helpful.The food was great ,the sea view room was amazing with a very spacious balcony. We had a very nice excursion trip to ambre island, our speed boat driver along with his collegue were very fun loving to talk to. above all the CEO of the hotel Mr. Clifford made our trip a memorable one and i expect to see him in the near future very soon.
3 out of 5
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good location

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: TV serrvice - a few local channels should be made available
Location: Good location, with available transport facilities ad several restaurants nearby
Overall service OK - TV out of service most of the time with no local channels available. Lots of noise coming from late night party guests retruning to their rooms next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watford,United kingdom

Good hotel but the restoration staff very bad

Posted Dec 13, 2015
I had problem with some of the restoration staff, beach dirty in 8 days they clean 2 time, for the rest of you eat outside is good. Gran Bay is very expensive place.