Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty Terrible

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Rooms are not clean. Plenty of hair from previous guests. Hallways and stairways are unswept and dirty. You check in at the Tandoor Restaurant and the manager there tries to be helpful but he's limited in what he can do because the hotel is so poorly managed. You book one tyoe of room and they may give you a different type because there's no cleaner that day. Seaview rooms are tired and need fresh paint. There was a water leak somewhere in my bathroom that kept the floor all wet. The food at the restaurant is average. The beach is a bit of a walk and not one of Mauritius' better beaches. I left after one night. The price was $62 for a superior room but wasn't worth even half that.
4 out of 5
by BRUNO

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
food mainly indian only at dinner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Situated within walking distance from Grand Baie. Stunning view from the room. Nice breakfasts. Overall a hotel I can recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Durban, South Africa

Great place in Grand Bay

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Indian restaurant, room space and location.
Cons: Wear and tear of rooms.
Location: Easy walk to shops and right in the bay.
We spent two nights at the Oceanic in February. Although the rooms are in serious need of upgrading (generally run down), we found them to be spacious and clean. Bonus is a bath. The staff were great and the breakfast adequate. The location in Grand Bay is good, right in the bay and you can easily walk into the town. the Indian restaurant which is part of the hotel has great food and is a must. This hotel is good value for the money paid. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Bear Lake

If you're ready for quirky, this is it.

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Hotels
What an odd experience. Be aware there are other hotels in this area (same street) that have similar names. 1 is high-end, 1 is closed and this one. The location is on the same side as the beach and it overlooks the bay. It's not your typical hotel with a lobby. The reception is more like a of a house which is connected to the main house that the owners live in. They are very nice people. Do not book based on the photos. Totally inaccurate. A beautiful pic of a sofa/lounger on the internet actually had laundry hanging on it and was kept in a garage type area in the main house. We adapted to the disappointment. it's located within easy walk to main township.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2011 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Cons: tous je pense
déçu déçu déçu , les photo ne corresponde pas du tout a ce que l'on voit sur place , jamais je ne proposerait cette hotel , meme pas a mon plus pire énemie , il n'y a meme pas d'isolation , on entend tous ce que le voisin fait , en plus du bruit extérieur .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand baie

Hotel horrible et très décevant

Posted Mar 9, 2017
l hotel ne correspondait pas à l annonce et de plus l hygiène de cet établissement n est pas digne d être proposé. À notre arrivée la montée d escalier était pitoyable. La chambre était sale, j ai retrouvé de nombreuses bouteilles d alcool vide dans la cuisine, ainsi qu'une bouteille d échantillon d'ancien locataire entamée, une bouilloire avec des choses à l interieur. Le frigo n a pas était vidé. Dans la salle d eau une forte odeur était présente, pas de réceptacle pour accueillir la brosse à toilette qui avait bien vécu (caca et pipi bien collé dessus). Des bêtes sont sorties du lit lorsque nous nous sommes assis dessus. Nous n avons pas pu dormir car la chambre donnait sur la route très très passante et sur les voisins de chambre ainsi que sur un toit poubelle, puis des chiens qui ont aboyés toute la nuit. Les meubles sont à moitié cassé. En résumé, cet hotel est une horreur. Je n ai jamais été dans un hotel aussi pitoyable. C est pour cela nous avons préférer quitter cette hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels