Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Nitish

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Lovely stay for a friend's wedding

Posted Aug 9, 2017
The rooms were nice and we had a lovely time apart from the ants in the shower when we arrived, but sorted quickly. Staff were polite and helpful, although drinks orders occasionally took a while they were served with a smile. There is a little town that is worth a wander into and hiring a taxi to explore is definitely worth it as you get to enjoy the views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
comfortable clean and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Nice hotel on the beach ,nice swim in the sea

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The smiles on everyone faces and the excellent service
Cons: The rooms and bathrooms
Location: The glass bottom boat was great, and the town of Grand Baie is at walking distance( @ 1 km )the market also was interesting. The trip on a catamaran
All staff were very welcoming with a nice smile and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The food was great ,specially the grilled lobster and all the special rums!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros:
Cons: stop birds coming in dining room. lots of birds poo on seats , gets on to your clothes. unhygienic. lots of flies too.
Location: a few restaurant and bars nearby plenty of shops. Not very good for walking too, due to very uneven and broken footpath
disappointing , there was a cyclone at the time it rained for the 8 days we where there so this didnt help , but it wasnt as beautiful as we were expecting , just maybe wrong area it was;nt paradise .dirty in area lots of litter .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great facilities and food for the money

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Pleasant outlook, nice grounds, on the water, close to supermarket and town, good breakfasts, service, facilities, free water craft, gym, wifi.
Cons: Room smelt damp at first.
Location: Can pay extra for boat trips to islands, diving, taxi to botanical gardens. Plenty of restaurants in town - 15 minute walk.
Excellent mid-range hotel with good rooms, generous buffet breakfast, good service, small private beach, great pools, free water craft, modest gym, free wifi, 5 minute walk to supermarket, 10-15 minute walk to town. We had a "Superior Room" with breakfast at a good price compared with other hotels. Room (no. 500) smelt slightly damp at first, but ok with windows open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. we hope to see you soon at Veranda Grand Baie, The Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The staff could have been more attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017
Dear guest, Greetings from Veranda Grand Baie, We thank you for your feedback. we have taken good note as per below mail. The Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Not quite a Mauritian experience

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Very basic, beach area tiny and uninviting. Dining very basic and breakfasts and dinners very ordinary selection. Service very average to poor. A lot of locals cross beach area, not very private and water sports very very basic. Hounded by staff for payment of bills throughout stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, We wish to take this opportunity to express to you our gratitude for having recently chosen to stay at “Veranda Grand Baie Hotel and Spa”. Equally, I, wish to thank you for having shared with us your observations, for which we are most grateful. In the areas we were found lacking, we would like to apologies sincerely as this is not our usual service standard. We will address this issue internally with all due diligence. In Mauritius, all the beach are public, we cannot prevent locals to cross the beach. Our beach might not be up to your standard but we do proposed our guest to visit the public beach which is bigger than our beach. With regards to water sport activities we do propose complimentary activities like kayaking, peddle boat, sailing boat, wind surfing and glass bottom boat. We do have activities with supplement Ski, Diving and big game fishing. We hope to see you soon at Veranda rand Baie Hotel and Spa. The Management and Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A home away from home

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
This is an amazing hotel. They have went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable at their hotel. The entertainment was wonderful in the evenings. The location is very central to everything. All staff at the hotel were friendly and made the stay so much more personal and special. It's not 5-star, but they go out of their way for you.