Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

May Hotel perfect staff

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Very nice and helpful staff; Nizar and Ozz and the others. The hotel geographic location is good, very close to Grand bazaar and local restaurants. The problem was the area(streets) were dirty. And you have to be fit to go up hills reach main road/ metro. The tour was wondrful.
2 out of 5
by Nikolay from Sofia

May Hotel give you fake extras

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
May Hotel offering free parking. It is not true. Hotel haven't parking. Hotel area is prohibited daily for cars. We have booked 2 triple rooms in this hotel but we got 2 single room with one extra large bed and claustrophobic room. For this room the hotel may receive only one star. 3 stars is a joke with clients.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Worst experience ever

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: not a single thing
Cons: beds/shower facility/food
Hotel is situated on a hill 20 minutes walk from the central sultan ahmet area. Hotel staff decently friendly however rooms are tiny, dirty showers/bathroom. The beds are terrible and require changing-staff are you paying attention!! Bed sheets were dirty and when they got changed, which they did after 3 requests, the new sheets were also dirty. I travelled with my pregnant wife so I required a hotel with breakfast...their breakfast was terrible. I had to spend extra money every morning to buy food from outside. We fell ill after eating the fruit the first morning. Bread was awful and the only decent thing to eat was the bread. Tea was so string and tasted like wee. Overall, regardless of what your budget is, do not book here. Trust me, you will regret it. If I had the money to, I would've checked out the following morning and booked elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in a somewhat scruffy area

Posted Dec 10, 2014
the hotel was really very nice. Situated in a somewhat "authentic" if not scruffy, but very safe working class area, the hotel was a little oasis in the midst of it. Don't need an alarm clock - the call to prayer at 6.00 will probably wake you - but that's part of the Istanbul experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke

Difficult to find but worth it in the end

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent air conditioning and pretty good location. Not too expensive considering it's a proper hotel as opposed to a hostel. It was clean & friendly
Cons: I wasn't over impressed with the breakfast but I'm particularly picky in that regard. There's plenty there to fill you.
Location: In the middle of the old town, a little difficult to find ina back street but once you've got your barings it's very well placed.
A nice little hotel, the pics make it look better than it is but it's in a pretty good location for Sultanahmet albeit tough to find at first - especially in the dark! It's on a very steep hill so beware if that's an issue for you. Aside from that it's clean, comfortable and cheap. The rooms are a bit small and it's not plush by any stretch but if your here to see the city rather than sit in your room then this will do you very nicely ( to sleep and pit stop).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
A good location with walking distance to all the tourist attractions. Its a 10 min walk however a hike up the hill so would not suggest to the elderly. The hotel is small but clean and friendly staff. The street gets busy in the night with trucks unloading and garbage collection which can get quite noisy. However the location, price and cleanliness offsets this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Usman from Islamabad, Pakistan

Decent place to stay in middle of Fatih

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: Located at walking distance from the old city sights.
Cons: It is small, but then again I am not moving in on a long term basis.
Location: Ideal for any tourist. You can literally walk around all the interesting areas.
Was cheap, right in the centre of the Fatih and if I am travelling alone for a few days will not mind staying again. Staff was helpful and even helped me traverse the Istanbul with helpful directions and tips. Just recommended to a colleague who would be staying with them in coming February.
2 out of 5
by shimon alfassy

few issues you need to resolve

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels
i had this hotel for overnight stay even the fact its far from airport (close to the fish ,market and grand bazar).the reason to do so was that in the website and in resevation i was promised free transfer back to the airport so it made it more economicly to me .when i arrived there, they told me that even i have it written, they will not suply it to me beacuse its a mistake !!! even it was written both on site (diferent ones) and also in resevation.room was nice but in 4 in the morning you get to hear the muazine calling and its not so nice (unless you muslim) ...
3 out of 5
by Andy

Not a bad hotel, but...

Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels
The May Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It's in a pretty good location for all the historical sights (about a 15min slow walk). The room was pretty small (especially the shower), but well maintained... breakfast was nothing special (cold selection, bread, stewed tea). The main issue is that the street it is on is pretty noisy (bring earplugs!) and that no taxis seemed to know where it was. Once you got your bearings however you didnt really need taxis to see most of the sights...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Konkwa

Quartier très populaire

Posted Jun 4, 2017
L'hôtel doit être rénové du bâtiment jusqu'aux meubles pour avoir un standing plus ou moins acceptable.