Ratings based on 3,532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Old But OK And Close To The Canyon

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Its location to the Grand Canyon, and the recreation activities of the area.
Cons: Terrible internet reliability, and all the noise outside our door that started very early in the morning.
Location: The Grand Canyon is 10-minutes away, and National Geographic IMAX theater is basically in the same parking lot.
The hotel is big, old, but clean, and kept up nicely. The free internet was so spotty, and useless that they might as well not offer it. Bed was comfortable, but unfortunately the room they had us in was right next to the entrance door of the hall from the elevator, so we heard all late arrivers, and early risers as they went in, and out the door to, and from the elevator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Has seen better days

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The convenient location.
Cons: The bathroom needs to be refurbished and repaired.
Location: Near the South entrance to Grand Canyon National Park. The National Geographic visitor's center is across the parking lot.
The main attraction of this hotel is the convenient location as the Canyon Plaza is near the South entrance to the Grand Canyon and next door to the National Geographic visitor's center. The lobby is attractive and the staff were pleasant. The rooms, however, were tired and dated. The hotel was probably pretty posh in its day, but now is getting a little down at the heels. Our bathroom, in particular, needed to have the shower head replaced as it sprayed water every where unless a hand towel was placed over the pipe to the shower wall. Two odd wicker items on one of the two sinks held tissues and toiletries, but the wicker work was dusty and grubby. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of items, but was somewhat overpriced at $12.00 per person before tax. The impression is that the Canyon Plaza began as a "full service" hotel and is now trying to find a middle ground with customers who prefer a "limited service" hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs CA

Comfortable room, maintenance inconsiderate.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Checking into the hotel we received only warm welcome. The room we had was nice though. When we went to the Concierge for info (our first time to the Grand Canyon) he seemed more interested in what was on his lap top than guiding through our stay. The worst part of our stay was as we were having our dinner meal, the hotel decided that would be a good time for maintenance work. The very loud sound of a circular saw and pounding didn't stop even when if was brought up to the wait staff by people other than ourselves. Shame really, might have stayed there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Nice little place to stay when visiting the area.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Room was nice, and the location of the hotel was pretty good - Proximity to the Grand Canyon area is great and there are a bunch of decent restaurants and shops in the area too.
Cons: It was fairly difficult to find the main reception at first
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Grand Canyon

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: It wasn't too far from the Grand Canyon.
Cons: Improve the quality of food at the restaurant and fix things in the room.
Location: Near Grand Canyon
Room was clean. Some electrical outlets didn't work. No outlets on the night stands. Air conditioner/heater and the bathroom fan were terribly loud and didn't function well. I would not suggest anyone eat at the hotel restaurant. We had two meals there and both were terrible buffet meals. We ate there the first night because we got in late. Breakfast was no better. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, roomy, comfortable.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Right outside the entrance to the Grand Canyon park.
King bed, seprate sitting room, two t.v.s, fridge, microwave, keurig.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Located in Tusayan

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, great staff
Location: A few miles to Grand Canyon
Difficult to find at first. Near lots of restaurants, stores. RP's stage coach next door great for breakfast and lunch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

very noisy

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: The food suck everywhere. Don't waste your money going to the expensive restaurants nearby! Do not buy gas in the area! EXPENSIVE!!!
You can hear people talking in the hall. It can be very annoying if you are a sensitive sleeper. You can hear people hauling their luggage down the hall early in the morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Run down dump

Posted Oct 17, 2016
the place is a dump. There is not a lot of options and the only staff that was polite and friendly was the waiters at breakfast. The sinks were backing up. The towel holders falling off the wall. the shower curtain was dangling and the Air conditioner would not cool below 74*. called and had the hotel maintenance techs come in twice and they said they were too busy to make these repairs. Walking around the facility you can see that they do not care about the Hotel. Its comparable to a motel 6 at best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

One of the best places we've stayed o

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Comfortable beds, pleasant staff, One of the best places we've stayed on a cross country tour.