Ratings based on 1,389 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendliest Hotel Staff Ever!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Every single person my friend and I encountered at the Canyon Plaza Resort was exceptionally friendly and helpful! From providing clear maps, detailed instructions, offering additional suggestions on other things to see in Arizona, and even the waitstaff in the restaurant - everyone was dedicated, patient, and happy to talk over things. We really had a fantastic time while there. A huge bonus for me was that this is a pet-friendly hotel. I was greeted at check-in with a doggie water bowl, treats, and extra potty bags just in case. The only reason I didn't give higher ratings on the condition of the hotel is because areas of the hotel were under remodeling and construction conditions at the time of my visit. Overall however, we really enjoyed our stay and the very helpful staff. It was great that the room was already nice and warm with the heat on for our arrival because it was 20 degrees outside the night we arrived! Great experience and I would absolutely recommend, and already have, to other friends and family. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected

Posted Jan 6, 2017
I was not sure until i was there, this hotel gave us a very good time. Their buffet is very delicious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Old and dated and no amenities

Posted Dec 31, 2016
It was very disappointed hotel very old and dated
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

Expensive near the grand canyon

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The room rate of $250 night is high because of location not amenities. The room was just ok decorated in early 1990s. There was a new HD TV with good cable stations. A kuerig but no way to make hot water for tea. The bedding was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Under heavy construction...

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Dated hotel, no real gym, old decor and design. Really just a basic place to avoid camping for the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
First impression hotel lobby was nice. But, from there, room keys didn't work. Nice staff went to lobby desk to have keys recoded to our room. Got in to room, furniture extremely outdated, stained although sofa did appear to have been vacuumed. Mattresses did seem new, and were comfortable. Buffet breakfast next morning was just okay. Will probably choose different hotel next time we visit Grand Canyon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Hotel close to grand canyon

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Hotel close to grand canyon. There is small spa. We enjoyed it. It has comfort and calm room but now they fix their hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No care for guests

Posted Dec 22, 2016
If you stay on a determinate side of the hotel you have to actually go outside to get inside the hotel for any matter. No microwaves inside the room so you have to use the communal one at he lobby. Which was under construction. The microwave was full of dust and old food inside. Disgusting!! So we had to walk outside on the cold rain to warm up our food inside in the middle of a construction site with a disgusting microwave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, run down.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Receptionist at night unhelpful , condescending-not good for hotel business
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel close to GCNP entrance.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Location: Walk to IMAX theater, Nat Geo store, restaurants, gift shops and groceries.
Room was very comfortable with all the amenities. Close to shopping and all attractions. Easy access to GCNP. I did not eat at the restaurant, however, the bartender in the Saloon was very accommodating with serving menu items in the bar area instead. Room was cleaned daily and amenities restocked. Excellent service.