Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

A bit of History

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: clean simple rooms, friendly staff. Easy access to down town, walking distance to everything.
A very fun hotel to stay in. It is a historical hotel in Williams, built in the 1930's. Clean, simple and enjoyable. The rooms still use a key to open, not a card, and the clerk walks you to your room instead of just telling what number you are in. Friendly staff with knowledge of the surrounding area. Willing to recommend somewhere to eat or places to stop and see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your experience at our motel and the town of Williams. We work hard to ensure that you will enjoy your stay with us. Come back and see us as we are always making new improvements everyday. Safe travels and come back and see us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

STAYING HERE FROM NOW ON

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We love this place! The beds are new and very comfortable! (This is not the case at any of the other places we've stayed at in Williams). Very clean rooms. Friendly, homey atmosphere. One of our favorite parts was the private patio with table and chairs in front of each room. The owners are fabulous. Very helpful with lots of info on area attractions, restaurants, and history. It's right on Route 66- walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the nightly gunfight shows. Only a 5-10 minute drive to Bearizona, the Grand Canyon Deer Farm, and the Grand Canyon Railway. This was the first motel in Williams and the new owners are doing a great job bringing it back to its glory days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us for a few days. I think our kids had lots of fun over the 4th of July. My son says bring back the DUCK.....lol. We look forward to future stays from you. Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a wonderful review of the motel and Williams. When you need a cooling from the heat of Phoenix come and see us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Not your average "Motel"

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable beds, cutest kitchenette and updated bathroom. Owner is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: A/C in one room, had to turn down speed on wobbly ceiling fan because my son was afraid it was going to come down.
Location: Great vintage little town. Cowboy gunfight night!y in the street, fun kitschy shops all along the main street. 1 hour from south rim of Grand Canyon.
I had high hopes but low expectations from this 1937 "vintage" motel. After reading previous reviews I decided to give it a try. My kids and I were pleasantly surprised - our room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was much more than expected from this little place - bagels, muffins, toast, yogurt, coffee, juice and cereal. A giant improvement over the prepackaged sweet roll and apple we had from a competitor down the block on our last visit. If you are expecting the Hilton, stop elsewhere. If you are ready to step back in time, have a good nights sleep and a good breakfast then this is your place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
We thank you for staying and bring this issue to our attention. The fan must be off balanced and there are safety connections which prevents it from falling. It is always best to discuss any issues or concerns with the property so we may address it immediately. We strive to provide a nice, safe and enjoyable place to stay. Safe travels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice owner, Not Grand Motel.

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Owner was very nice & helpful about area. However, the room should have cost half of the price. Very dated, poor condition. There was no outlet in bath to dry hair or outlet near a mirror. Only 3 prong plug for laptop was in kitchen. All outlets loose or burned. No dresser, desk or chest to put toiletries or clothes on. One folding chair. Kitchenette was a sink, microwave & mini fridge. Terrible drafts around door & Windows. The bed was good. Photos online totally misleading, not what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sad to see your unsatisfied review however, the things you spoke of are not accurate to our motel. We kindly ask that you review your itinerary records to your stay as your remarks don't match our motel. We thank you in advance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Motel with Easy Access to Grand Canyon

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, easy access to the Grand Canyon, and nice town with lots of things to do and places to eat.
Cons: I would just offer to make the bed every day and change out the towels automatically.
Location: Good restaurants like Rod's Steakhouse and Canyon Cruiser Restaurant. Everyone is very friendly, so you can do a lot in this little Arizona town!
Very good experience! The hotel manager was helpful in giving us tips, recommended restaurants and various route suggestions in preparing to head to the Grand Canyon. The motel was clean, the room was warm (we went in the winter months when it was freezing outside), and we were even offered continental breakfast. Overall, it was a really positive experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We do work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Upon checking in, we kindly informed you (all our guests) that we do offer additional room service upon request including the towel change. We do not enter the room unless requested.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Small, but clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
The facilities was the first hotel built in Williams. It maintains the charm of the old structure, but with updates for comfort. The room was small, but the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom too was small, but good pressure and temperature on the water. I will definitely stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Historic Location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Staff was amazing. They are refurbishing this historic motel & doing so while keeping all of the integrity of the 1930s style/set up & we LOVED it. The nastalgia was so worth it. We are so excited to see it come back to life & look forward to staying again during our next visit to Williams. <3
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by gm, Hotel Management
Thx!!! Come back and see us in the spring as we only have a little portion of exterior painting left to complete as the winter came a little early. Looking real good and the guest are loving it. We are painting the building back to the original color of 1936.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calif

Old and worn out

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: To appreciate that I don't live in era than where you have to contend with spartan accommodation when traveling for vacation
Cons: They should just do one room vice two bedroom because of privacy issues.
Location: Grand Canyon
Very expensive for small rooms . Old and worn out, so much for nostalgic and very uncomfortable. The bed is right by the front door. I can hear people chatting on the porch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by gm, Hotel Management
HISTORIC property and town. You booked a stay in a historically town.....The double room that you booked is the original layout as we are a historic building. If we were to charge the room layout we would lose our historic status and plaque. The double rooms also gives privacy for our travelers. If you had talk to the staff we could have tried to help you with your challenges.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience of my life!!

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
This was possibly the worst experience from a booking I've experienced. The room was not clean, the toilet was plugged and owner (operator) was unaccommodating and rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We checked our daily logs and we were unsuccessful in finding you name showing that you stayed with us. Maybe you confused our property with another as all our rooms are cleaned daily and are all inspected prior to any guest checking in. Please kindly revise or remove your review.