Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, Ca

Route 66 Experience

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The feel of the “Route 66” experience. We bought the souvenirs and drove the road but this place brought it home. The new bed was nice.
Location: Lots of great shops and restaurants in walking distance. We went to the Grand Canyon.
We had a great stay. We were there for two nights. Rich, the owner, was very helpful and very concerned that we would have a good time. He told us the history of the motel to give us an understanding of what we were about to experience. He was kind enough to explain which restaurants and area attractions would be good to visit. The room was a throwback to days long ago. It gave a real feel of the “Route 66” experience. We bought the souvenirs and drove the road but this place brought it home. The bed was nice, the wifi worked fine and the television was good. I did keep forgetting the toilet was just behind the door as it was originally built. This is a small operation so there are some quirks but Rich is a quality guy who wants to give a chance to live in the Route 66 time. Rich is in process of adding updates to the rooms but not changing the feel.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great place to stay.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The owners are super friendly and very down to earth. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Clean.
Cons: The place is being renovated since it is a new ownership.
Location: Watch the trains go by. Look at the small shops. Dinner and drinks at the Cruiser's Bar & Grill.
Having worked in the Hospitality Industry fro many years, the most thing that you noticed about this place are the family who owns it. Great customer service, hands-on, very accomodating, friendly and helpful. This is the second time I stayed here, and will do it again on my next trip to the Grand Canyon. I have a lot of friends overseas who likes to come and visit me in Arizona, and one of the main attractions we visit is the Grand Canyon.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Für eine Nacht ok

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Etwas lautes Hotel (Straße, Zug)direkt am der Route 66. Leider gab es in diesem Motel kein warmes Wasser. ..im Sommer ist das ok, aber im Winter. ..??! Frühstück konnte nur im freien eingenommen werden, da kein Frühstücksraum vorhanden ist. Frühstück war für amerikanische Verhältnisse ausreichend. Ich würde mal behaupten, für eine Nacht ohne große Ansprüche ist das Motel gerade noch ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First motel in Williams & looks it

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Old layout is dated & decor mismatched with minimal furnishings. Breakfast very limited- went out. Worst motel of our 2 weeks touring the National Parks
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

nice motel close to everything.

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Personal attention by manager
Cons: need grab bar for bathroom tub and additional chair.
Location: Grand Canyon(train ride to and from), walnut canyon, meteor crater, painted desert and Lowell's observatory are very worthwhile to see.
A lot of personal attention and very friendly manager. Breaks fast included was excellen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restoration of ca. 1936 "motor court"

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Price Cleanliness Location
Cons: Motor courts typically came with one cover carport like space per unit for parking. The owners have closed these off for some reason.
This was the first motel or "motor court" in Williams, AZ. Williams is where the station for the Grand Canyon railway is located. If driving from the west it is where you turn left for the Canyon. Williams is trying to capitalize on the whole Route 66 nostalgia thing. The whole place is cute, clever and over priced. Entertaining if it's your first visit but annoying after that. The owners have applied a fresh coat of paint (over many older layers) on the interior of the units. They are clean, comfortable and functional. They are also minimalist by current standards - for example some travelers may be accustomed to a counter top in the bathroom but at the Grand Motel if cant balance to bottle and tooth past on the sink rim you are out of luck. There is free WiFi when it works. There is also cereal and toast in the morning but you must take it back to your room or eat outside in the gazebo in the center of the parking lot. It's not that the owners are earnest and trying very hard but there really isn't much to work with. The place was austere in 1936 and 80 years won't change that. On a positive note the price is reasonable for Williams if you don't crave full current amenities and the housekeeping was pristine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures on Expedia do not match reality.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Oldest motel in town, that says it all. It's comprehensible that this type of motel will never grow up to the "luxury" other motels with the same ratings provide, but all in all it was below my expectations.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Its a rustic but comfortable motel.

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the two bad separated with a wall so its actually two rooms.
The resection was very friendly. The room comfortable. Everything was in working condition.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Pleasant Surprise!

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Owners are fabulous! Bed was the most comfortable I've ever had on the road. Room had everything we needed!
Cons: A little more outside lighting
Location: Located in old town Williams -shopping, restaurants, Route 66. The Grand Canyon is only 1 hour away.
Nostalgic motel, oldest in Williams, is being rennovated. Bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had in a motel. Being a 1930's building, it is a little smaller than most modern motels, but owners have done a great job with the space to include the basic items such as fridge, microwave, TV. Outside still needs some work, especially some lighting for night. Parking lot is small but the owner knows how to get everyone in so that one can maneuver. I was fortunate to be able to park in front of the old-fashioned carport! Within walking distance of old town Williams. The owners are incredibly nice, perfect personalities for the hotel business. I won't hesitate to book again the next time I go through Williams!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kann sein, sollte nicht sein

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Die Betten waren sehr gut. Das war leider auch das einzige.