Ratings based on 2,761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Rooms need help

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms. House keeping plentiful and polite. Breakfast provided never varies day to day, but the hosts were A+++++ kept it clean and welcoming.
Cons: Rooms should be checked for proper security and functioning. Don't be so stingy with soap, towels, coffee, maintenance
Location: Just down the road from downtown Flagstaff. Good location and back building is away from highway noise.
Room: Clean, small microwave, fridge with control knob pulled. 2 queen beds, one 10" from a/c that wouldn't cool room even when set to 60 degrees. Shower spontaneously leaked like water turned on low twice a night, had to get up and run full, then off to stop, back bath window unable to lock, no screen. Easy access for break ins. I put ice tray in track to stop forced opening. TV worked intermittently. Crammed small room, no place to hang clothes, even suitcase stand was hitting fridge and wall turned sideways. 2 micro towels for 3 guests. No bath mat on slippery tile. Paper thin soap provided. One cup of in room regular coffee provided for 3 guests? Someone in management has really turned the screws on guest provisions. Front staff inexperienced, young, unsure how to handle complaints. No how was your stay, I'm sorry, just the basics... barely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to know that you were not able to enjoy your stay in our establishment due to the points you have mentioned. We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. We will take note of your feedback and we will see on how we can improve for your convenience and satisfaction. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We aim to provide you the best quality customer experience you all deserve. Again, we sincerely apologize. Have a pleasant day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Good base in Flagstaff

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Everything was fine - but the bed was excellent! SO comfortable.
Cons: For the price we paid, nothing. It was excellent value.
Location: The only down side to this hotel was it's proximity to the railway line. Light sleepers may be affected by the odd train through the night.
We enjoyed our stay here. Nice, clean rooms, with everything we needed for a short overnight stay. The bed was excellent! Very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. WiFi was free and worked easily. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lloyd, Thank you very much for this fantastic review. All team members were delighted to hear that you liked your stay so much. It is our great honor and pleasure to serve you. We aim to provide you and all our guests the best quality customer experience you all deserve. Thank you for appreciating our amenities and facilities. We want you and all our guests to enjoy your stay and get your money's worth and even more. We want all our guests to be happy and satisfied. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for choosing our establishment. Cheers and have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Staff for breakfast were friendly However the room was tiny and claustrophobic, no jacuzi though it advertised it, no tea making facility. Not comfortable People were constantly smoking at the entrance of the stairs and it stunk everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Freddie, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our team was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.We are very happy to serve you. We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. We will see what we can do so we can improve for your satisfaction and convenience. We are honored to serve you. We want all our guests to be happy and satisfied. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Again, we apologize. Have a pleasant day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Incredibly loud, directly at the amtrac line. No one told is breakfast would be taken away at 9:30am. We arrived at 9:40 with 5 kids. Did not even get offered anything anymore. No flexibility!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. We will take note of those points you have mentioned and we will see on how we can improve for your convenience and satisfaction. We want you and all our guests to enjoy your stay and get your money's worth and even more. We want all our guests to be happy and satisfied. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Again, we apologize. Have a pleasant day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Only stayed one night

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Short trip to the Grand Canyon, just needed a quick stop to refresh before heading to the Grand Canyon the next day. Didn't expect much for the price. Was impressed with the linen and towels considering only being a 3 star at best. Only complaint was Cable TV had to be reset every time it was not in use and antiquated AC was noisey. Nice pool area and actually had a cabana. Free international breakfast and happy hour 2 free cocktails. Again, not bad for the price and better than expected considering the 3 Star rating and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Guest, Thank you very much for this fantastic review. All team members were delighted to hear that you liked your stay so much. We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. It is our honor and privilege to serve you. Your feedback inspires us to continue on improving and doing our best so we can provide you and all our guests the best quality customer experience you all deserve. We want you and all our guests to enjoy your stay and get your money's worth and even more. We want all our guests to be happy and satisfied. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for choosing our establishment. Have a great day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong. Australia

Nice pool... good location.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location, pool
Cons: Rubbish truck came at 5.45am and made so much noise.. I think they woke the whole neighbourhood up...
Location: Easy walk to the historic downtown.. Felt like a very safe town to be in..
The room was quite nice, albeit a little old, but still ok... The pool was lovely and the breakfast was pretty good.. The location was really good to just walk downtown. Lots of cafes, shops etc. really good..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Anja, Thank you for your positive feedback. Our team was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It is our great honor and pleasure to serve you. Thank you for appreciating our convenient location. We aim to provide you and all our guests the best quality customer experience you all deserve. We want you and all our guests to enjoy your stay and get your money's worth and even more. We want all our guests to be happy and satisfied. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for choosing our establishment. We are looking forward to your next visit. Cheers and have a great day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Forestville, NY

Posted Aug 1, 2015
A quaint hotel (it's really a motel). And, although they have done their best to update the rooms to include what most hotels do, they are restricted by the physical structure. So, unfortunately, the rooms are rather cramped. There were 3 of us but we only stayed one night so it was fine...if we had to stay more than 2 nights, I think we would have gotten a little claustrophobic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Amy, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. We are sorry you feel that way. We will take note of your feedback and will see on how we can improve for your convenience and satisfaction. It is our great honor and pleasure to serve you. again, we sincerely apologize. Have a pleasant day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Clean and nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The room
Cons: I guess 4 more beers for the happy hour instead of 2 beers only
Location: Location is convenient to all the restaurants and stores
Our stay is excellent. The staff is nice and they always greet us with a smile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Erwin, Thank you very much for this fantastic review. All team members were delighted to hear that you liked your stay so much. We are so happy to serve you. Thank you for appreciating our customer service. We aim to provide you and all our guests the best quality customer experience you all deserve. We want you to get your money’s worth and even more. Thank you very much for choosing our establishment. we are looking forward to your next stay. Cheers and have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Better than I expected

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great breakfast spread - I expected muffins and coffee. Instead - delicious and hot scrambled eggs and sausage, waffles ( prepared for you), cereal, yogurt, toast, coffee, hot chocolate, orange and apple juice. Everything was delicious! Also, a nice place inside and outside to eat. I have an allergy to dust - our room was do clean - I didn't have to take allergy medicine. Also, the staff was professional and polite. I will definitely return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We love taking care of our guests especially when it comes to food. We have a wide variety of food choices for all of our guests. Thank you for appreciating the sanitation and our customer service as well. We aim to provide you and all our guests the best quality customer experience you all deserve. Thank you for choosing our establishment. Cheers and have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Staff
Location: Right on a main strip-close to restaurants, etc.
Everything was very nice-especially the staff. Beds were a bit soft......
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. Our team was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for appreciating our customer service. It is our honor and privilege to serve you. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for choosing our establishment. We are looking forward to your next visit. Cheers and have a great day.