Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Air conditioner in room doesn't always keep room clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Sorry to hear about the AC not keeping the room cool enough for you. thank you for letting us know so we may tend to these issues. thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Not a lot of good things to say.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location only.
Cons: Restrooms cleaner & overall appearance of the hotel could be much improved. Hard to get into & out of the parking lot.
Location: Was only at this place one night.
We chose this hotel for the location which is close to the Amtrak station. We had a view of the automotive place next door, which had a car revving his engine late at night. Bathroom could have been cleaner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Ray, We are also very happy that you found our location to be convenient. Though I do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced due to our parking lot. We appreciate your feedback and it will help us to improve with our housekeeping, maintenance areas, and over all every aspect of the Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown but not honest staff

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: suffice parking and light breakfast
Cons: honest staff, bedding was setup a little different from other hotels i have stayed.
I found this hotel on expedia mobile app but i didn't book it on the phone because i couldn't locate the hotel entirely on on the phone's map due to gps/internet issue. I went to howard johnson "inn" and was told i got the wrong place and the price was higher. i finally found the hotel and requested a room just for the night. i told the indian staff about the price i saw on expedia and i haven't reserve it yet. he checked the room availability and told me one available for higher price. i asked him for the same price and he wouldn't and he asked me to continue with my mobile reservation and i should see a different price. so, i did. and when i did, he said he didn't receive any order and told me to cancel it and blamed me for reserving it and he didn't have any more room for me. i suggested to him to pay the price different separately but he won't take it. i called expedia to see if i can cancel it but was told i cannot cancel it. while i was on the phone, he asked me to lie to the expedia staff that there was some problem with my car so i need to cancel the reservation. of course i didn't follow what he told me and told the expedia staff that the reservation didn't come through to the front desk and then have both staff spoke on the phone. expedia staff faxed the reservation over and the hotel staff got the reservation then told the expedia staff they over sold the room. in the end, i got a room and paid a separate charges (more than original differences).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced with check in, we have shared this review with our staff and are working to improve in the areas so that no future issues like this will happen. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, it has been very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice basic hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Rooms are very clean, staff is dependable, Manager is great. A basic hotel, but it is very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
It's good to hear from you and we greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to share your five star experience at our hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I've stayed here many times and the people that run the hotel are nice and accommodating. It's clean, close to everything you'd need and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel charges fees at least I never heard of.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Location: Location was ok.
Front-desk staff was not cooperative. I was expecting better service from the hotel based on my past stay in other Howard Johnson hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service and hospitality. The standard procedure in such cases is to confer with management regarding what can be done to resolve the issue, as our staff is not authorized to make these decisions. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can better handle these type of issues in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monrovia, CA

Good Stop for the Night

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable refurbished rooms.
Cons: Wish the neighborhood could be improved, but the operators can't help that.
Location: Near Northern Arizona University; Lowell Observatory is nearby and a must see for anyone who is passing through.
The hotel was located in a rather shady neighborhood, which put a damper on the overall experience--a lot of interesting characters hung out in the parking lot, though they did keep to themselves and minded their own business. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the newly refurbished rooms were clean and comfortable. A good place for a stop for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Allen, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services and amenities. We understand the area isn't very welcoming but we work hard to provide a good experience for the guest inside. Please come see us again if your in the neighborhood.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel before trip to Grand Canyon.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We stayed here before heading to the Grand Canyon. It was just what we needed. Nothing fancy, but clean and nice beds. There were places to eat in walking distance and a good car shop (which was needed) right next door. The staff was also helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate your rating of our hotel, And were happy to hear it was just want you needed. Come see us again if your in the area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west virginia

Great view (jk)

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Nice hotel for weary travelers late at night and need to crash out. Nice comfy bed. Clean room and bathroom. Easily accessible and the price was right. I want to praise the staff for going above and beyond being nice and courteous. The check in check out was great. Only problems we saw was the view from our room was of a back of a building with 20 old tires and trash behind it for us to look at. Oh well. Not the hotels fault really. Other problem was house keeping came banging on our door two hours before us to check out. Not cool. No vent in bathroom, you have to open bathroom window which allows anyone to see inside the bathroom from outside. Not good y'all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Jerm,Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We take every review to heart and work to improve upon our guest experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Good for an overnight stay

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This was a pretty good overnight experience. The room was clean and spacious and the amenities were all there. There's a TV, a fridge, and a microwave, and free WiFi. The breakfast is pretty good. There are multiple options, and a nice little seating area. My only complaints are that the hotel could stand to put in more lighting. The rooms are a little too dark at night, but that's just my preference. The staff is also a little standoffish, if I must say. The greeter at breakfast just stared without smiling and hardly said anything to the guests. Overall, a good place to be. Very few complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Hsee, We are all pleased to learn we made you feel at home and that our services and accommodations were also a plus. Thank you for your suggestion about lighting situation. We will definitely address this with our maintenance. Thank you again for a thorough review. Please come see us again when your in the area.