Ratings based on 1,769 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

First time in Flagstaff

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Bed spread had spots, it was either old or dirty. Ice maker did not work. Selection for breakfast was poor. The staff was friendly. Breakfast area did seem clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Bait and switch, STAY AWAY

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Perhaps a legitmate manager that honors the reservations people have made.
I had 2 rooms prepaid with guaranteed late arrival. Then I reconfirmed 1 to 2 weeks before. When I arrived manager said it was overbooked and attempted to put me in even a lower class motel. I suspect he purposely overbooks to fill in his 2nd hotel. STAY AWAY!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Not interested in the customer

Posted Jun 6, 2017
I made a reservation. My credit card declined. When I arrived and they told me this, I offered them another card. They told me they had given the room away, were full, and weren't going to charge me for the night. They made a backup reservation for me at a Knights Inn. If I wanted to stay at the bottom of the food chain of chain hotels (Knights Inn), I would have made that reservation myself. HoJo is low enough. I asked if they had my phone number. Yes. Why did you not call me to get another card? We didn't. Reserve at your own risk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Careful with billing,

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Cons: DONT CHARGE DOUBLE!
Hotel was good but got charged double by hotel, then called in and front desk said had no idea how this could of happened, card was charged both by expedia and hotel.. CAREFUL WITH BILLING THEY WILL CHARGE YOU MAKE SURE YOU GET RECEIPT OR SOME TYPE OF CONFIRMATION AS AT CHECK OUT WAS TOLD NO NEED TO PROVIDE CHECKOUT SHOULD OF KNOWN BETTER!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The swimming pool was closed on July 1, and the br

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The swimming pool was closed on july1, and the breakfasts was terrible only cereal and bread for toast. Not eggs, not panques, nothing hot. Ice maquine out of order, I went to the next hotel to asked ice. Coke machine out of order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Reasonable Hotel near Grand Canyon

Posted Jun 2, 2017
If you are looking for a decent hotel to layover before going to the Grand Canyon National Park, then Howard Johnson is a good pick. The hotel is not to far from a major highway. It is about an hour and a half away from the Grand Canyon National Park. There is plenty of parking on the property also on the street. Units go up to two floors and are non smoking. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and cozy. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The property offers free breakfast consisting of coffee, tea, toast, oatmeal, donuts, cereal, and fruit. The staff members were friendly, and made checking in and out easy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never come.back to this dump.

Posted May 27, 2017
Dump. Rather sleep in my car. Noisy and crowded area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton Ontario

Try a different hotel, not this one!

Posted May 27, 2017
We are not fussy people by no means but we do like a clean room and decent bed. The front desk staff were medicore. The room had crumbs behind door. I mean like a crushed muffin. The bed was very lumpy and has the pre formed butt space in the mattress. Glad it was just a stop over. We would have been even more upset if this was our "base" for days. The breakfast is a joke. Oatmeal or white bread. Orange or apple. The coffee cream was powder. Come on...splurge and at least have real milk and cream for breakfast. Just an overall bust at this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford , BC

Great bed

Posted May 27, 2017
Room was comfortable newly decorated. The bed was a very comfortable pillow top bed. The exterior of the hotel looked shabby but the owners are planning to upgrade this year. The location allowed us to access both the Grand Canyon and Sedona easily.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Location was the only good thing about this hotel.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: clean the rooms, fix the hair dryer (probably needs new wiring - everything is very dated), new mattresses and pillows and water and ice would be nice
Location: Location was great - close to interstate for traveling purposes. Didn't do anything in Flagstaff - not our destination.
We only stayed here because we waited too long to make a reservation and couldn't find anything else. The room was dated, dingy looking, sheets wrinkled and looked like they hadn't been washed. The mattresses and pillows were not comfortable. The hair dryer didn't work, kept kicking off and one of the mirrors fell off the wall in the middle of the night. Overall, very disappointing! Breakfast was lacking because they kids had invaded and nothing was left. Overpriced and under-delivered! Will not stay here again!