Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Just not for us

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We stayed in another Howard Johnson and the experience was different. The room as clean and ready for us but too small and old. The worst part was the interaction with the staff on breakfast time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Old Route 66
Cons: It's an older Hotel but right on Old Route 66
Location: Plenty of places to eat and a Country bar next door:)
Nostalgic...stayed in Howard Johnsons when we were kids!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: Some of the patrons of the hotel did not know how to behave in close quarters with others. There was a lot of shouting, slamming doors, jumping.
The room was huge, clean, and very route 66 in decor. The adjacent restaurant was very good and reasonably priced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

I had to leave the hotel due to roaches in my room

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing. First the hotel clerk was nice when she told me no vending machines or ice machine as advertised. But became very short at the roach scene.
Cons: Alot. Not to advertise what they do not have. Keep a menu from the restaurant in the room....CLEANINESS...FUMIGATION...NO ROACHES
I cannot believe how bad my experience was. The restaurant was only open until 9pm not very accommodating for late arrivals. Although, vending machines were advertised as well as an ice machine. The hotel had neither. The room was very dirty...the sheets were grey...however, I was very tired and was going to overlook and just get some sleep. That is until I noticed a roach on the floor. I killed the roach and called the front desk to tell them and see if a cleaning person could clean up the mess. The hotel clerk up until this time had been friendly, but was quite rude when she agreed to come and pick it up to throw in the garbage. Her words were "you want me to come and pick this up just to throw in the garbage?" I said yes...she came and picked it up and threw in the garbage. She did not bring any cleaning supplies. I mean how was I to walk on the tile floor without shoes...I was upset and asked if she could move me to another room...she said none were available...when she was there another roach came out of the corner of the wall in a different location...I showed her and she picked it up and threw it out the door. I said I cannot sleep in this room and she said nothing and left. I immediately booked another room at a different hotel and although this hotel was dirty there were no roaches!!!! Expedia should not pay them and I should receive a refund. As a hotel guest, I should not have to sleep with roached coming out of the walls/crawling who knows where.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to the West entrance to the Petrified Forest and the Grand Canyon.
Total staff melt down! Did not have room ready (4hr after check-in time). Took more than an hour to find us a room & that room was not acceptable. While we were not looking for the 4 star hotel, the low price range choice was one of the worst experiences we have had in all our years of traveling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice - good location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Great stay. I'd stay here again. Location was walking distance to pretty much everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Wasn't too bad. It was very affordable and plenty quiet.... AC was running so cut down on the noise. Railroad Cafe, attached to the hotel, is a must eat. Great breakfast and really friendly staff!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cava de' tirreni

Buonissima struttura

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Uno dei migliori Motel dove ho soggiornato durante un tour degli Stati Uniti.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pocatello, ID

hotel close to Grand Canyon

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: friendly staff. comfortable bed.
Cons: low water pressure. improve internet speed. offer more for breakfast. The bed spread was stained with blood and dirt. The staff quickly replaced it
Location: nice town close to Grand Canyon
overall was not a bad motel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The internet is slooooow. The bed spread was stained with blood and dirt. The staff quickly replaced it. Not much for breakfast so ate elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

A run down motel with minimal service.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Property is old and run down. Room did not feel clean. Not what the name Howard Johnson's means.