Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a beautiful view and little else

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful view, mot easy going up and down the mountain, amenities like the bar and the pool should be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Apr 1, 2017
It was my first visit to the Caribbean from the States. Me and my partner Chris was extremely pleased with the staff and the hotel accommodations. Hats off to the staff and and the management at the Marquis Boutique Hotel. We look forward to the next trip to the Islands. Miss you all John Fischer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel at Anse Marcel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Perched on a hill with views over the harbor, this hotel is delightful. Some limitations, no restaurant other than for breakfast but room service provided promptly from nearby restaurant. The staff will ferry guests to beachclub, where one can rent daybeds dine and swim, in their Porsche Cayenne. Nearby roads are a bit daunting at night or after rain due to steep gradients. They have a nice library of old fashioned paperbacks in English, French and German. Internet is a little variable. Service wonderful, friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Quiet and comfortable. It doesn't look like the online photos but still a nice place if you don't want traffic right out your door. Would recommend it for couples but not for families
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location, but time for an update

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Peaceful location, friendly staff
Cons: Facilities
Location: Nice quiet area. Definitely visit Anse Marcel Beach (beach, restaurant and boutique), and Friars Bay beach. Highly recommend Ti Bouchon (Cul de sac).
On a positive note, the Marquis is in a nice, quiet location on the island, overlooking a beautiful bay and far from throngs of tourists. It was divine to fall asleep to the sound of the wind every night and wake up to the rooster every morning. The hotel was very clean and staff were courteous and helpful when asked. On a less positive note, the hotel is in need of a fairly major update, judging by our room. The bed was squeaky, hard and lumpy. Pillows were flat and uncomfortable (and when we asked, they had no others to offer, so stiff necks were a problem for us all week). Sheets were scratchy. No shower curtain on the shower meant that the bathroom floor got all wet. Poor lighting in the room made it hard to read in the evenings. Hard wooden furniture on the balcony was uncomfortable for sitting longer than a few minutes. Also regarding the location, you must be an intrepid driver to book this hotel. The drive from the airport on narrow chaotic roads is a challenge, and the steep winding road in from the main road challenged our little rental car, even in first gear. Apart from breakfast, meals must be had elsewhere and Anse Marcel offers few choices, so driving for dinner is a nightly necessity. Highly recommend Anse Marcel Beach, both for the beach and also the restaurant, which has a perfect location on the beach, a fabulous menu, and excellent service. Best beach we visited. Also highly recommend dinner at Ti Bouchon - don't leave St. Martin without eating there!
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is very welcoming and guided us throughout our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful small hotel overlooking the sea.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Small, quiet, clean, upscale. Definitely not a big box experience.
Cons: Everything was pefect!
Location: Truly at the top of the hill - 600 feet above the water I would guess. Beach, restaurants, sailing, butterfly farm, hikes are all a short drive away.
We stayed for 7 nights and loved the hotel. Comfortable rooms, great staff, amazing view, and close enough to the beach to get there quickly by car or shuttle provided by the hotel. Very good continental breakfast at hotel and many dining options close by as is a nice French market. A car is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Quaint hotel, real nice team, good value, safe

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Great location in the middle of the best beaches and food. Good view but yes, an interesting drive.Friendly people but mainly staffed by interns.
Cons: We were charged for two breakfasts and we never ate there. They did adjust but they lack some basic hotel management principals. Basic room.
Location: Perfect. Best beaches, easy access, safe, great food at Grand Case and Orient Bay. Go to local markets for beer, snacks, food, whatever you need.
Arrived on the island just before dark. Got our rental car and headed to the hotel which is an experience for the first time. Twisty turns, steep hills, interesting traffic and quite the memory. The drive becomes much easier over time and actually kind of fun. The location is one of the best on the island and in the middle of the good beaches, of which we did 15 of them in 6 days. Best beaches are Grand Case, Mullet Bay, Happy Bay, Friar Bay, Orient. We have traveled the world and St. Martin/St. Marteen is our best island vacation to date. Easy to get around, safe, fun, great water and warm too, fantastic food and the best value of any vacation ever. The prices are incredibly reasonable and the dollar goes far there. All of the beaches are public and you can bring your own beer, alcohol, food, whatever and there is free parking everywhere. Our hotel was basically our place to sleep and get ready for our night out and was accommodating. Would recommend it with some slight adjustments. Stay away from the port. Definitely rent a car and explore. Go hiking at Lottery Farms. You must eat at the LO LO's (lobster, chicken, potato salad, macaroni and cheese and so much more)at Grand Case with unbelievable food at great prices. Get a cooler and ice and bring your own beer/drinks everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Gorgeous mountain-top retreat with great seascape

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Great location, great views, easy access to some of the finest beaches and restaurants in the world, accommodating staff, and clean, comfortable rooms
Location: Anse Marcel Beach, restaurants and night life are all just a few minutes away at the base of the mountain.
From the moment we drove onto the grounds, we knew it was a magical place. The beautifully manicured tropical gardens gently swaying in the warm ocean breeze, with the sound and sight of the turquoise sea below lapping onto the pristine white sand, gave us the complete sense of paradise. The staff were immediately warm and welcoming. They were very accommodating with tons of great suggestions of things to see and do, and even offered us a lift to one of the several world-class restaurants by the beach at the base of the mountain, to save us from driving ourselves after our long journey there. For subsequent meals on other parts of the island, they not only made excellent recommendations, they made the reservations as well. Our ocean-view suite was magnificent! Bright, spacious, and beautifully decorated with local artwork. The view was absolutely breath-taking, and invigorating to wake up to each morning. Breakfast service was available in the suite, but we opted to make the short hop across the lot to the breakfast terrace, where we were greeted each day by very pleasant staff who prepared whatever we desired, along with a customary basket of fresh croissants and baguettes, and an assortment of local fruit. If you wanted a place to simply relax, and enjoy the pool and other on-site facilities, you can't go wrong here. We're more the "explorer" type, and found that we could see and do everything we wanted from this location within just minutes' drive. We love this place!