Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

RIU in St Martin

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: location, location, location. It sits in a beautiful location.
Cons: Hotel overall is a bit rundown. Isn't up to the usual RIU standards that I am used to.
Location: St Barts for shopping is a wasted trip. Casino is good, butterfly farm was great and open air market in Marigot was great.
Hotel is a bit rundown. My understanding is that RIU just got it recently. Hopefully they work their magic on it. IT is a BEAUTIFUL location. Great beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location Staff
Cons: Clean up cigarette butts
Location: On the beach with watersports on the premises Not close to town, about 20 minute drive to town
The RIU is a wonderful hotel right in the beach. The staff is excellent and always so welcoming and accommodating. Mimi the staff supervisor is exceptional and greeted us by name every time we saw her. This is by far the best hotel on the island,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Dirty and Smelly Hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The food was good
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Nothing to do near by. The beach was not that great either
One of the dirtiest hotel/resorts ever. I am not one to give bad reviews neither do I let reviews determine my decision, but in this case, I should have listened to all others who talked about what I am about to say. On July 16th 2017, I walked down the hallway towards my room on the second fl. at the Riu Palace in St. Maarten when I was greeted with a strong odor of dirty carpet, or more like wet, dirty smelly shoes. I rushed to my room because I thought it was a hall-way odor. I was wrong, it didn’t go away, the room was just as bad or even worst. The carpet was filthy dirty with stains all over (photos attached) . I looked around; there were mold in the ceiling, mold around the lamp shades, mold and dirt on the bathroom floors, stains on the bed sheets and a bright yellow stain on one of the white towels.Please few the photos, this not an exaggeration or an angry customer, this was my reality during my 6 days stay with my family of five. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I couldn’t believe that any hotel could get away with this. When I tried calling the front desk, it took 6-8 tries before getting through. As I was explaining my disappointment, the hotel staff pretend that there was a bad connection and kept on saying, “hello, hello, I can’t hear you.” and simply hanged up and never called or answered the phone after that. There is only so much we can say here but please review the photos and judge for yourself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from union city CA

Not like a typical RIU

Posted Aug 6, 2017
A lot smaller than the other RIU's including the meal selections. Horrible attention to customer service waited about 30 min each time at lunch buffet and still no service to had to go and get our own silverware and drinks. Beaches were dirty with buried dirty under clothes and cigarette butts all over. Also left our room one morning at 11:30 and breakfast buffet was closing down they didn't let me get pastries for my kids and sent me to the snack buffet which was closed and had nothing out or ready but hot dog and hamburger buns. Overall rooms are ok but don't except anything more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice quiet hotel! Very friendly staff.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
It may be outdated (No, it's not the 1990's outdated more like 2010) but it is clean. The food was good. Not a large selection as previous Riu's we stayed but then again it was one of the smallest we stayed at. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. If you're looking to party hard and have a club scene this is not the place. It was exactly what WE wanted quite, clean, friendly with good food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Horrible Customer Service

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Upon arrival with my party of 10, I was not greeted by any of the staff or offered a welcome drink. When I was finally approached by the front desk rep, the rep said my room is not ready and to wait in the front lobby. Her tone showed no empathy for the situation. The front desk said they could not give me another room, "you get what you paid for". The worst part of my all inclusive vacation was the attitudes and service of the staff during meals. The servers clearly did not want to be there and were not happy with their jobs. The first day I gave a $20 tip to the bartender by the pool. When I approached The same bar later, he didn't look my way or say hello. I asked for a washer and dryer at the front desk so I can clean my clothes before my flight. The front desk person did not look me in the eye and said "no". That was the extent of our conversation. Another night out for dinner at the steak house, we waited a hour and forty five minutes for our main entree. We ended up skipping the dessert because we could not wait any longer. I was very unsatisfied with my stay here and definitely do not recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel with Lots to do!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly, and went out of their way to talk to you. The food was absolutely amazing, with themed buffets every night for dinner. I love how neat they keep the beach and the pool- both of which are so close to the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort was decent, service wasn't

Posted Jul 25, 2017
I arrived to check-in with a decent sized group however 2 rooms weren't ready by the 3pm check-in time. When asked if there was anything they could do, they simply said they could downgrade us if we wanted. Eventually when we got our rooms, we weren't offered a single lick of a make good- no complementary bottle of wine, nothing for the spa, no money back on anything, not even a true appology. To add to this, my room was bad. The door slammed everytime it closed (only my room door). The only way we had our mini bar refilled is if we went to the front desk to ask. The tv went out everynight to only show 2 working English channels. We tried ordered the 24/7 room service late night but the call to the front desk never got picked up for over 2 hours (we just gave up). The only way the soap/shampoo/towels got replaced is if we tracked a worker down. Oh yeah we did have a blackout too. The wait staff at the restaurants were not at all trained properly as seen in the many many sarcastic responses that were made. I know I won't be staying here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff are very friendly.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Like the food and activities. Beach is very private.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Nice hotel, awesome staff, beautiful beach

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We loved our stay at riu palace. The food was good and plentiful, drinks were flowing and we loved the cove where our beach was.