Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by 3506

Thanksgiving trip

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Orbitz
This is located in the same resort as the Wyndham Reef Resort. You can use all the pools, etc of the resort as well. Much better value for the money. We had the studio suite which had a great big balcony and a mini-kitchen. This location is off the beaten path so if the winds pick up, like part of our trip, you will find yourself driving 45 minutes to other parts of the island to snorkel/swim. Very relaxing place. Would definitely recommend a car!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Didn't want to leave!!

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness first, Inside was spotless, and the resort property was also very well maintained.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Great location, especially if you want privacy and seclusion. had rented a car, so when the mood struck, we drive to the various eating locations .
Amazing location, right on the beach, with many amenities( food and alcohol and gifts just across the street). not to mention the outdoor bar with food even closer. Really liked the property being on the East End, very secluded and quiet. The condo apartment had everything we needed, and an ocean front view. Would definitely stay there again, already planning the next visit, not soon enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Peace and beach!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
We were there during peak winter break and it was still quiet. We loved the location. Great for snorkeling. Lyle is very available and accommodating . Excellent stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

The perfect quiet beach getaway with postcard view

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The spacious, quality accommodations and the quiet beach. Paradise views!
Cons: The only thing we wished we had was room service, with meals delivered from the nearby restaurants and more frequent maid service.
Location: Not many dining options, but do take advantage of the grocery store across the street. It will save you a lot of money!
We feel we chose the ideal place on all of Grand Cayman. It was quiet, right on the beach ( we literally walked out of our rooms onto the beach), the room was spacious, comfortable and clean and it was almost as if we were the only ones there, although we had neighbors on either side. We never heard or saw them! We rented a car and explored the entire island and found no place as perfect as ours. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend this place to everybody, young and older, families as well as couples. The only note we would make is don't plan on swimming too much at this beach, as the bottom of the sea is very rocky here and beach shoes are definitely needed!
4 out of 5
by Louise W.

Be prepared

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Orbitz
We had to wait for 2 hours before we were let into our room. The agent was no there when we arrived at 3:30 Saturday afternoon. We did not have access to a telephone and could not make any outside calls. We did not have access to the Wifi either. Our cell phones did not work there and we had to use someone's cell phone to make a call to the states. Otherwise the hotel was very nice, we just did not have access to the booking agent.
4 out of 5
by Daniel M.

Cayman Trip

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on CheapTickets
Overall our experience at Castaways Cayman Beach Resort was very good but there are few things to be aware of: Castaways Cayman Beach Resort is an independently managed set of 22 units that are part of The Reef Resort but that are not integrated with The Reef administration and therefore there are some limitations: - you cannot checkin at the registration desk. We had to wait for 40 minutes before someone came from the other side of the island to give us the keys. Knowing that, make sure to call the resort manager as soon as you land so someone is there to greet you - you don't have access to the resort's internet. The manager will provide you with a hot spot, which is adequate for web browsing, but again, make sure to call him ahead of time to make sure that it will be activated when you get there. We had to wait until Monday to get ours. - you can't charge to your room. This was not an issue for us, but don't forget your cash or credit card if you go to the bar or restaurant. Besides that, you have full access to all the amenities The Reef Resort has to offer and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The condo itself was well furnished. I strongly recommend renting a one bedroom condo instead of a studio, even if you are a couple. It is more expensive, but it is well worth it: - There is a well equipped kitchen with stove, oven, and dishwasher instead of a kitchenette - There is a washer and dryer, which, in itself, is worth the upgrade because there is a limited number of beach towels and it is great to be able to dry them at the end of the day. - There is a table and chairs on the balcony instead of just a small coffee table in the studio. Since the balcony is facing East, it is a delightful place to warm up in the sun for breakfast in the morning, and eat lunch and dinner in the shade. In terms of location, the resort is isolated on the Northeastern part of the island. If you like remote and quiet, this is the place for you. If you prefer tourist attractions and vibrant night life, then go on the West end of the island. There are good restaurants in the area though and some of them will come pick you up if you don't have a car. There is a small grocery store across the street, but if you like to cook in your condo, you will need to go to the West end to find well provisioned grocery stores. Be aware that everything is closed on Sundays though. The beach is great if you like snorkeling. There are many shallow spots with small corals where you will see plenty of marine life. The area is well protected by a reef barrier but be aware of the current that can be quite strong. I would generally start snorkeling against the current and leisurely let it bring me back to where I started. The wind usually comes from the East - Northeast in the winter and can be quite strong. As a result the waves come crashing into the reef and the water can be choppy at the beach. So, if you prefer white sand bottom and quiet swimming pool-like water, then you would be happier on Seven Miles Beach on the West end. In conclusion, we had a wonderful time and the place was what we were looking for. If you decide to stay there, just make sure to communicate directly and frequently with the manager before you get there so everything is ready for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Beachfront condo!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
I rented a one-bedroom condo (1st floor, beachfront) for my 11-year-old son and me. It was so nice to have a living room area (with sliding glass door right out to the beach), large dining table and kitchen as well as a bedroom (and 2 murphy beds in living room area) and table outside on the small patio. Condo was spotless and very comfortable and could easily accommodate four. With the beach outside, a pool next door with a hot tub, and dining and drinks just a few steps away, this was everything we needed for a relaxing week's vacation. Bring your own snorkel gear (or rent it at The Reef) because there is great snorkeling right between The Reef's two piers. Dining at The Reef on the beach, though, was pricey for food that was not great-- I'd recommend spending your restaurant money on groceries and a rental car instead. With a rental car, you can find much better values on food elsewhere-- or just cook. There is a lot to do on Grand Cayman, so I would recommend a rental car for the week. We could easily get to Starfish Point (snorkeling) and Rum Point (for trips to Stingray City and also good restaurants) within 20-30 minutes, Georgetown and 7-mile beach within about 45 minutes, and West Bay's Turtle Farm and Hell within a little over an hour. Everything is within easy reach, but we also always had our secluded, relaxing Castaways condo to come back to. Bring your own snorkel gear, stay here, stock the fridge, and rent a car-- you're all set for a great vacation!
4 out of 5
by Go herd

Relaxing

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on CheapTickets
Stay was relaxing with good weather. Room was good and very clean. Beach was private and not crowded this time of year. Store and resturants were close by and very nice. The water was great and the snorkeling was excellent. Would reccomend to anyone. Had a great week checking out the sights and attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice place on the beach

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: I really liked that I would open the doors and be steps away from the beach. It was quiet there.
Cons: The seaweed was horrible there, maybe the time of the year we were there. They picked it up every day, but never got to our building, and it smelled.
Location: Rum Point is close by as well as taking the trip to Stingray City.
This place is associated with The Reef, but did not know it. We passed up the place a couple times, but fortunately remembered what the pictures looked like from the website. The guests from Castaways were allowed to use all the amenities of the Reef. When we arrived, the property manager met us and brought us to our room. The room was clean, and comfortable. We opted for the smaller room since it was just the 2 of us, but the next time we will get the room with the kitchen to be able to cook some of our meals. We were there during the "slow" season, but still had plenty to do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great, Quiet Location - Beautiful beach!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The layout and view were amazing. Also the location is very quiet.
Cons: Cleaning of bathroom really should be done.
Location: We rented a car and were able to go to all the attractions pretty easily once we got used to driving on the opposite side of the street.
I was very pleased with this hotel in general. The space is great for a big family - we stayed at the 2 bedroom. The rooms are in good condition and the view, all oceanfront was breathtaking. There were, however, a couple of minor problems - one of the lamps was missing a lamp shade, the dishwasher leaked water on the first day of our stay even though we never used it. This room is equipped with a washer and dryer, which is wonderful BUT there are no instructions. Lastly, and the most disappointing, the room is cleaned midweek during your stay but the bathrooms are not cleaned at all, not touched which is pretty gross. With all the sand and hairwashing the bathroom becomes pretty dirty and the staff does not clean it.