Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Great location. Nice reef . Friendly staff

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: The staff were very personable. Even the manager was on site and very approachable. He even helped bus tables when the restaurant got very busy.
Cons: They need to replace the mattresses, and according to the staff, this his already in the works. The room was otherwise very roomy and comfortable.
Location: There is an easy bike ride to other North Shore locations. We went to Hell and back, including a visit to the post office in about 30 minutes.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had already committed to an off site dive operation, but the on site Reef Divers were very accommodating and helpful when we wanted to dive the offshore reef (an easy swim from the beach) The weather did not always allow diving or snorkeling on site, so don't expect to shore dive from the hotel every day(in January). The restaurant was great for breakfast,and the lunch and dinners were good, but we were there for 9 days,so we ventured out for several evening meals by bicycle. Be sure to be back before dark, because the route is not well lit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Pleasantly surprised-comfortable and friendly

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: The view, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable room, good food, friendly staff.
Cons: When we first arrived, we were not sure where to go to check in.
Location: North west part of island, not far from Turtle Farm, Dolphin Discovery, great restaurants.
We arrived in Grand Cayman and stayed here Friday night because we could not get into our condo on 7 Mile Beach until Saturday. We loved seeing a different part of the island. You could not just walk out into the water and swim because of the iron shore and roughnes, but it was beautiful. If we went back, we would definitely stay there probably two-three nights. If you scuba dove, it would be great. Relaxing, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
We had a great experience at Cobalt with the whole staff, dive shop, facilities, and town. It's tucked away from the busy city and a great location for shore diving. The dive shop was wonderful and took us to the South, North, and Westerner reefs. Would recommend to anyone planning a diving vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

I Loved My Stay!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Pool, staff, and views were amazing!
Location: So very close to this hotel is a beach near 7 mile called Cemetery Beach, conch Resturant, turtle farm, and interactive swim with dolphins.
Loved this hotel! Very comfy, very roomy, great bar and food, wonderful view, and loved the pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and secluded

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Staff, views, tranquility
Cons: Access. (Navigating West Bay to find Hotel can be a bit tricky)
Location: North coast is great for divers. Hotel is close to Turtle farm and dolphin swim.
If you want an nice stay in the Caymans, but away from the crowds of 7 mile beach, this is the place to stay. Nice, relaxing atmosphere with a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean facilities, easy free parking, quiet,
Cons: Maybe a back up generator when the power goes out.
I had a great stay at Cobalt. Checking was very friendly and courteous. Staff at the hotel is very helpful and caring. The facilities are clean and well maintained. Free parking, steps away from the room. Our suite was very spacious, clean and had a relatively large fridge, with plenty of storage in the cabinets. The cleaning ladies did a great job. The room even had a surge protected multi plug with 110 and USB plugs. Ideal for charging various electronic devices and underwater camera equipment. Dive shop is on the premises. The hotel is only 10 minutes away by car from the restaurants and bars along 7 Mile Beach. I have no complaints. The hotel is so well built, I never heard any of my neighbors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

I'll go back

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Cons: Signs to the hotel.
Lovely rooms for divers and guests, food was great and the service was exemplary. Had a hard time finding in the dark. I suggest using the hotel's shuttle or a cab. Love diving the house reef with Dive Tech. Good shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great Dive Resort

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location. Friendliness
Cons: More attention to cleaning up the things people leave lying around (like their shorts hanging on the rope between the beach & pool).
Location: Dive! Stingray City. Georgetown is not very interesting unless you like to shop
This is a super hotel if you're a dive buff. The location is perfect for most dive sites on the west and north of the island. The staff is super well-trained in making the guests comfortable and happy -- very friendly and responsive. Arie, the owner, went out of his way to make sure that everything was just right -- food, room, amenities. The location is quiet, not on the tourist path at all. If you're looking for a big white beach and fancy hotel, go to 7 Mile Beach, but if you're looking for a quiet location, great diving (shore and boat) and a welcome feeling, this is the place. I read a number of complaints about the AC in other reviews -- to me the temperature was just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Oceanview, comfortable bed, friendly staff, adjoining dive shop for renting snorkel gear and taking SCUBA lessons
Cons: WiFi was only okay. Worked best in the restaurant, bar and lobby area.
Location: The DiveTech DiveShop attached to the resort is excellent, too.
We had the best time. Beautiful ocean view & access. Off the (tourist) beaten path. Breakfast was excellent. Friendly staff. The bed was very comfortable. Location was great for a dive vacation with DiveTech. We did a lot of snorkeling all around the island so a car was necessary to travel to different spots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul

Nice ocean view; spacious, comfortable, welcoming

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Oceanside view with dining, friendly helpful staff, dive operation and pool on site. I lost my key & they forgave me without an additional charge
Cons: Arie could do much for the environment by placing a recycle bin in each room - the only one I found was hidden near the bar.
Location: Hard to find; watch for small signs along the North shore. GPS might be helpful - Makabuca is great Oceanside bar/restaurant but food, service average
This is s great place if you are looking for wonderful accommodations without the upscale prices! We stayed 8 nights and the service was reliable & pleasant. Arie, the owner, is a friendly, cheerful guy who is on-site from early morning until evening, and he goes out of his way to make guests happy! This is true of most of the staff as well. The resort is a challenge to find initially & you will not be able to see the sunset from the resort, but it's a short drive to the West shore & the view is phenomenal! We did not have a GPS & not sure one would work on the island, but once you get to know your way around and become accustomed to driving on the left side (I entered a one way going the wrong way only once!) it gets easier. The island is small, so not much chance of getting lost. We appreciated being within a short drive to seven mile beach and Georgetown. We also drove around to the East side which had its own gems to offer such as the Lighthouse restaurant, blowholes, and gorgeous beaches. Rum Point was beautiful but extremely tourist-laden and expensive. You can just hang out on the beach and snorkel at no charge. Overall, great place to stay! There is no kitchen in the room but there is a small coffee pot, refrigerator, freezer, and spotty internet reception - mostly worked well.