Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Ideal for diving!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: diving; cleanliness
Cons: the finishing in the units is moderate level and some minor repairs and nuisances need to be corrected, but it is a great place for the money.
Location: Tukkas. White House (interesting place for a meal with an odd history). Diving. Diving. Diving.
my family - wife, 12 year old son, and me - went to Caymans for one purpose. Diving. My son and my first open water dives as it was gift for christmas from my wife who has dived the world. We had unit 112 which was a ground floor condo ocean front. It was spacious with 2 BRs, 2 BAs, full kitchen fully equipped with micro, stove, fridge, etc. Dining table. Living room. Washer/dryer - small capacity but was handy. Also two murphy beds in living room that expands capacity as well as a sleeper sofa. And walked out onto sand by water. This is not a swimming beach as most of this side of the island is a bit rocky and corally. It is really all about diving. The dive boats, dive masters, dive sites, options were all fantastic and very efficient. It was great to walk out your door onto the dock onto the boat and off to a dive site. There are 55 dive sites on East End and we got to 7 of them, all excellent. There is a pool at resort, but it is small and really is more geared towards diver training. Restaurant on site is decent. Nearby is an outstanding restaurant called Tukka - we went twice it was so good. Also, two other resorts are 15 minutes away and we went there for a few meals. Those are more beach type resorts. So, if you want to dive, this is an awesome place. If you are looking for beach vacation, this is not the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee Florida

East End Location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Clean modern rooms and some of the best diving in world.
Cons: The Island access road to the East End is a challenge, but keeps the crowds away.
Location: Location on the ocean and its dive, dive, dive.
If your a diver or want peace and quite the Compass Inn is for you. Excellent facility for training new divers and ocean fronts the property with great diving reefs. The east end of Grand Cayman is far less developed and access is via one curvy, two lane road from airport or Seven Mile Beach. It all depends on what you expect out of a vacation. The big hotels, condos, most time shares as well usual busy beach bars are at Seven 7 Mile Beach versus quite east end. As a diver I would stay again without question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ajax, ON, Canada

Amazing hotel, location, and exceptional staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, big room with everything you could need. Really comfy bed. The resort cat, Compass, was also lovely.
Cons: Better communication between expedia and the hotel. They said they didn't even get our information and weren't aware of the ocean view booking.
Location: Perfect dive and snorkel destination. Rum point, starfish point, stingray city, Botanical gardens, crystal caves, lots of public beaches and quiet.
If you are looking to stay away from the chaos of George Town and Seven Mile while still enjoying all that Grand cayman has to offer, this is the place to stay. There was a slight mixup with the room type, as we booked an "ocean view" room on expedia, yet were given a room in the building across the street. This actually turned out to be an upgrade as the building was newer, the room was beautiful and clean, and we could walk right out to the pool area where there was also a BBQ that we used nearly every night. All the staff were incredibly accommodating, booking and confirming excersions for us, letting us know when one was canceled because of boat issues, and then giving us alternatives with other companies. This is a dive resort, but for us snorkelers, they offered a ton to do. It was our first time snorkeling and were very helpful and friendly. They were also very knowledgeable and gave us great recommendations for snorkel sites. Cleaning staff was exceptionally friendly, always greeting you as they passed by. There was a washer and dryer for our dirty beach towels, which they gave many of. There is also an outdoor restaurant on site overlooking the ocean that offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Really great food and drinks at fair prices with friendly servers. There's also small grocery and liquor stores up the road about 5-10 minutes with the basics. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to take in Grand Cayman at their own pace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Get place to stay if you are a diver!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The rooms are clean, well kept with plenty of amenities! Also the new beach areas are great!!!
Cons: More food options at Eagle Rays and maybe a fitness facility.
Location: This is a diver resort. If you're not a diver, it is very quiet with not much around.
Scuba diving simplified! Dive in dive out. Once you arrive you don't have to lift a finger. Just walk down to the boat! The staff at Ocean Frontiers in first class. They go out of they're way for you. You won't find a better, safer experience! This is my second time there. I have made some great friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Enjoy the east side charm

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, lovely pool
Location: Located on the quite and beautiful East Side, easy drive to Town or Rum Point
Staying at the East Side away from the city and the cruise ship crowd allowed us to enjoy the local culture. Renting a car is a must to enjoy the entire island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Quiet Hotel with Great views

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not one thing
Location: East end of island. Quiet, close beaches, snorkeling and diving.
We had the best time. The condo was perfect with an unbelievable view. The staff was so friendly and the on site restaurant had great food and drinks. Great place to stay if you want to dive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Great place for scuba diving and relaxation. Everyone is very attentive and kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moderate complex, beautiful location, out if town.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The location is beautiful but remote from island shopping and dining. Be prepared to drive 30 minutes to get to anything. Hotel was moderate, clean and quite. The complex is perfect for families but is not a good option for families that have children that want to play in the beach at the hotel. Perfect option for scuba divers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

vacation and Scuba

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Staff were brilliant all around, food was great, rooms were excellent, beach front with spectacular views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, Virginia

Excellent Family Vacation.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Beachfront room. Diving on site. Excellent staff.
We enjoyed our vacation at this hotel. We are booking a second visit.