Ratings based on 1,555 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maplewood, NJ

World's smallest beach, tough to see the water

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: the lobby decor was nice
Cons: Value: You can't charge your rates if you can't guarantee beach front access
Location: We left the hotel as much as possible for food (due to the outrageous cost of food and drinks) and excursions. Rent a car!
We wanted a beach front hotel and weren't able to see the beach without effort 1) Over priced. Including the resort fee we paid double what we think the room was worth for a partial-ocean view. Room had a King and small pull-out sofa. Don't bother spending extra for the partial view as our balcony faced the side of the Comfort Inn hotel next door. If we looked way off to the right we could see the ocean. Not worth the $. The rooms facing the courtyard were much better off. The rooms were just okay. Very humid despite adjusting temperature. Nothing ever dried. 2) Beach is tiny and rocky. The size of the beach is minuscule because the outdoor restaurants take up the majority of the beach area. With the remaining beach space, the hotel packs hundreds of lounge chairs into 4 or 5 rows. The chairs are made of hard plastic. There are not "trampolines" in the ocean but rather round platforms with a plastic mesh bottom that people lay on all day. There's no way to bounce on them. Finally, the beach has rocks throughout. I think is due to the creation of the man-made reef. My kids would trip on rocks in the sand between the lounge chairs. In the water the platforms were all anchored to massive concrete structures that are not marked and every day someone got hurt kicking them. 3) Could not get a front row lounge chair: We woke up at 6am every day of our 6 night stay and never secured a lounge chair in the front row. Unless you're in the front row, you cannot see the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

Great island. Great staff. Great hotel.Too crowded

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Loved the hotel. Clean. Nice staff. Good food. Way too many guest. Pool is too small for the amount of people. Also, beach is wall to wall chairs and you need to be down to beach at 6am to get a seat.Would stay there again at a slower time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Staff was amazing, room cleanliness, little surprises here and there (watermelon, s'mores on the beach)
Cons: Maybe more loaner Go-Pros
Location: A few restaurants across the street. Georgetown and Camana Bay are also within walking distance for more restaurants and shopping.
To start, our flight was delayed and Expedia worked with the hotel to modify our reservation. This was incredible and saved us from paying for a night we weren't able to use. It made a huge difference to begin our vacation. The staff were always willing to help. The hotel is beautiful, inside and out, with a wonderfully landscaped courtyard area. Our family of four was always able to find a group a chairs on the beach and someone was always there to help set up our umbrellas. We tried the onsite paddle boards for the first time and had a great time. The reef just off shore was a treat for our teenager to explore. Our youngest had fun looking for seashells. The room was large and clean. We had a deluxe room with balcony, but still had a view of the ocean. We were sad to leave and would love to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experience!!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
From the time we walked into the hotel to the moment we left we could not have been happier! The staff is amazing and friendly and the food is heavenly! We will be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Great hotel, right on the beach and very easy to get to everything....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Grand Cayman Marriott

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Staff was outstanding across the board, friendly, professional and aim to please. Rooms were nice, roomy, great bed and linens. Like the robes too!!
Cons: Beach, need 2 ply toilet paper. Need more than 1 set of elevators.
Location: excellent location on 7 Mile Beach close to restaurants, other beaches, shops (Camana Bay across the street). Close to Georgetown too.
Stayed at GC Marriott mid March 2017 and it is a lovely and lively hotel. Nice room s/balcony, clean bathroom (but 1 ply toilet paper.. needs to be 2 ply⁄) and great bed, linens. Multiple meal options are all very good. Staff is extremely friendly, very competent, and was very impressed with how hard they all work to please the guests. Not so sure the guests were as appreciative as they could've been, however!! The reason I did not give it a 5 is because of the size of the beach which has been seriously eroded, leaving very limited space for many chairs.. it's like sardines packed on the spit of beach. But great location on 7 Mile Beach and wider beaches everywhere else. Close to lots of restaurants, shops, etc. and away from downtown Georgetown which is completely overwhelmed with cruise boat travelers. Don't go to town when they are there.. usually 4-5 at a time. Included in resort fee is free usage of paddle boards, kayaks, etc. and there are water trampolines and a couple of platforms in the water to use. Snorkeling off beach but limited fish. Oyster reef just off beach so there are some fish to see. Try other parts of the beach to see more. All in all, a very nice stay and great for families (of which there were quite a few), couples, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff/Clean hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the room.
Cons: Install a directional louver on the AC vent to shoot the airflow toward the ceiling. Install more closet space/hand towel bar by the bathroom sink.
Location: We traveled the Island. Kirk grocery store is good and has excellent oatmeal raisin cookies. Alfresco Restaurant has excellent local food.
Hotel staff bent over backwards for you - very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean. Beach was extremely crowded due to small size w/chairs right next to each other - felt like sardines in a can. Pool was smaller than it appeared & crowded. Hotel processes all in Cayman dollars which makes you incur a transaction fee on US credit cards which is different than the rest of the island. AC in room is located low on wall & blows across the room in such a way that makes it hard to get away from the cold draft except at the top of the bed. As result we spent most time on the patio. Not much closet space. Safe and refrigerator located extremely low so had to get on knees to use both. Water had 2 schools of fish swimming by each day. Kids seemed to enjoy the water and floating rings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice clean hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Marriott Beach resort was a nice clean hotel with great customer service. Their staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the beach and both restaurants at the resort offered great menus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfection!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Perfect vacation spot! Beautiful hotel, spectacular beach! Friendly, attentive staff. Wonderful place for our 25th anniversary trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis,MN

Perfect location and great service

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great family trip, loved this hotel! There are so many things we enjoyed including the pool/beach area. The hotel staff are phenomenal, you can tell their number one goal is to make sure you are having a great time. Enjoyed the kids activities they had planned. Great restaurants, loved dining outside every evening.