Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vista california

Amazing staff!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Awesome little hotel! I had to leave 2 days early because I broke one of my ribs, and the hotel refunded me for the 2 days! The Sunshine grill is wonderful, and Louise and Corey know how to mix a drink! Karla is a doll also! The use of the Westin facilities is a plus, and the people that work there are great as well! The rooms are perfect, and the beds are so comfortable! I would definitely recommend staying there at I will be booking it again next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re sorry to hear you had to leave early especially under the circumstances, but we're delighted you enjoyed the time you did have with us. Your kind sentiments for our staff is sure to make their day, and we couldn't be happier to know they made your stay a special one! We look forward to your next visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Locked out of room

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Mid-week on Wednesday, cleaning skipped our room. No do-not-disturb sign was out. On the same night, I found that I was having problems with my key to the room not working consistently. My wife stepped out to show me how she was using the card key, only to find that hers no longer worked either. This was pretty disturbing since our 4-year-old daughter was sleeping inside the room, and we were locked out. I immediately got new keys from the desk. Didn't work. No lights (red or green) were coming on. The manager sent a security staff member to assist. His key did not work. The manager came, and learned his key did not work either. At this point, we have been locked away from our daughter for about 15 minutes. Since no staff maintenance personnel are on-hand over-night, the maintenance guy had to be called in to drive over to assist. Between the call and the drive, another 20 minutes passed. He confirmed the lock was not working, and that the batteries had died. He had to dismantle the lock to replace the batteries. Another 15 minutes. Finally, we were able to get back into our room to our daughter after being locked outside our room for an hour. Plenty of sincere apologies were offered, but nothing else. I insisted the night be comp'ed due to the issues. They explained the best that could be done was to waive some $30/day resort fees. Good luck with your stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused as this matter was unintentional and beyond our control, however our dedicated staff got that fixed as soon as it could be possibly done. We appreciate your comments and feedback and we hope we can make it up to if you choose to stay with us in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallington, Surrey UK

Large comfortable suite, excellent in every way.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on, the suite was large and well furnished. The standards were impeccable throughout.
Cons: There is nothing I didn't love about this hotel. There is nothing negative to say.
Location: Perfect as a base to visit Grand Cayman. Beach, trips, eating and shopping with good parking and bus service or just relax at the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Our goal is to ensure our guests are comfortable and well taken care of throughout their time with us and we couldn't be happier to learn this was the case for you! Thank you, we would love to welcome you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort for another wonderful getaway!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel near the beach.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: I loved the location, the service, and the value of the rooms.
Cons: The room AC units are pretty loud. The showers could use longer curtains, the ones there just reach the tub making it hard to keep the water in.
Location: It's a couple minutes walk from Seven Mile Beach and near shopping, diving, snorkeling, sailing opportunities.
Just returned from a stay at Sunshine Suites and am already looking forward to returning. The hotel grounds were clean and well-kept and the staff were all friendly and helpful. My room was a simple efficiency, perfect for fixing yourself snacks or light meals to save on dining out all the time. The room could use a little updating, but was still neat, clean and comfortable. It's a few minutes walk to the beach or the staff will drive you over by electric cart if you prefer. Either way, access to the beach at the Westin and its beach chairs/towels is easy. The restaurant on the property serves some fantastic food, and there are many great nearby restaurants to try out too, several within walking distance. Overall, the resort was really quiet, even being in a room facing the main road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We're pleased that our friendly staff, comfortable accommodations and central location just minutes from the Seven Mile Beach made your stay a special one! Thank you for choosing the Sunshine Suites Resort for your Grand Cayman vacation, we hope you'll visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Remarkable hotel!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Words cannot describe how lucky we were to have been able to stay at this fantastic hotel. I bet if you ask anyone who booked at the Westin...... lol. Trust me, don't book at the Westin right now. It's under going major renovations. We saw numerous people yelling at the employees of the Westin because they didn't seem to have been told what was going on. It will be gorgeous when it is completed. Upon arriving i was upgraded to a suite. As an expedia gold member I also had a bottle of 5 year old malbec waiting for me as well as a hand written card from management saying "how excited they were to have me". I loved the full kitchen, which my gf and i made use of. We are both 30 and were just thrilled to have all of these amenities. Not to mention the Free Breakfast ;) The location is the best on the island, 12 min walk to Fosters Market, being able to walk 2 mins to the best beach on the island. Truly remarkable. We were able to use all the amenties at the Westin with our 30 dollar resort fee per day. (Well worth it) The BBQ on Friday Night at the Westin might be the best dinner setting I have ever had. I have attached photos. So many people who booked at the Westin were devastated about their vacation. We were told by numerous people that we met that if they had to do it over again, they would have booked sunshine...hands down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are truly touched by your kind comments for our resort, and we're thrilled you had an exceptional experience. We are so thankful you took the time to share about your time here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Key West

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful grounds With spacious well equipped suites. Free wifi, parking, and continental breakfast add to the value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you, Sandra, for sharing your appreciation for our resort. We're pleased you found everything to your liking and enjoyed the amenities we offer. We hope that you'll think of us again the next time you vacation in beautiful Grand Cayman!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrie, Ontario

Nice hotel, close to the beach!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
We had an excellent week in Grand Cayman! The hotel, although a little dated, has immaculate grounds and great staff. The complimentary breakfast was great!! The only 'con' is that you must cross a fairly busy street to get to the most beautiful beach we've ever visited! A wonderful hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Hotel Mgmt, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear you had an excellent vacation with us in Grand Cayman. For our guest's convenience, we now provide a courtesy shuttle to and from Seven Mile Beach. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback, we hope to welcome you back again someday!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Home Base

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Sunshine Suites offers incredible value for incredible proximity to 7 mile beach. A 2 minute walk puts you directly on the beach with access to all of the Westin's amenities. We spent two days there and two days exploring the various other beaches around the island. Clean, comfortable and accommodating; it's not necessary, don't pay the prices for being directly on the beach! The money we saved payed for amazing food and amazing experiences. We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Hotel Mgmt, Hotel Management
It made us so happy to read you were able to enjoy a comfortable getaway with us at an excellent value! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Check for construction first!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The grounds are very neat and clean and the staff is very nice. Breakfast, while nothing spectacular, is better than a danish in plastic wrap.
Location: A short drive to Smith Cove, a great little beach spot!
The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean, a nice place to stay. What we were not told about was the construction going on at the Westin across the street. Yes, we still had to pay the $30 per day resort fee, PER ROOM, we had 2 rooms to accommodate 4 people. But, there was no resort to use for the $60 per day we paid. The Westin is under renovation and all of the pools are closed as is the entire center section of the hotel, For the resort fee, you still get beach access, which you can get for free just walking up or down the street and use of the beach towels. Seems that the resort fee should be waived while this construction is going on. Otherwise, the Sunshine is a nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Our resort charge covers more than pool access at our sister property such as complimentary breakfast, unlimited WiFi, access to fitness center, steam and sauna at the Hibiscus Spa, beach chairs, towels, and ambassadors. Thank you for the feedback, and we appreciate that this did not detract from enjoying your overall visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

happly stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Love the location. Easy walk to the beach and always beach towels, chairs, and beach rafts. The hotel restaurant was amazing. Staff very friendly. Weather beautiful with very clean beaches. My only negative is the hotel rooms are slightly outdated. This was okay with us for the price and all of the other amenities. Great, relaxing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We're happy to hear you had a relaxing Grand Cayman beach getaway! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our friendly staff. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort!