Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

One of the original hotels built in Cayman

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: where it is located in the best alround area close to everything shops food city
Cons: no
Location: check on google earth
I have stayed there 3 times it is central close to the main attractions and the city great place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Not a clean place to stay

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff
Even though the hotel staff was very courteous, the mattress I had slept on had bugs living in it. I was bitten by bugs more than 20 places all over my body. It was very painful experience. The plastic patio chairs were very dirty. Some parts of the furniture were broken. Their elevator stinks with strong chemical odor. Their door does not get locked unless you really close it hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake VA

Good location. Good Price. Poor facility.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Location. Location. Location.
Cons: Water system. Equipping of kitchenette.
Location: Try snorkling from the deck at the Cracked Conch. Have lunch and go for a swim.
Treasure Island Resort seems to be in some sort of ownership crisis or finance problems and it shows. It is in a very good location on Seven Mile Beach, it is clean and safe and it is usually one of the least expensive places on the beach. But, its facilities are creaking. In our room the water flow was literally intermittent. The shower would fizzle, stop, fizzle, start again. Every day. The kitchenette was poorly supplied and we had to insist on being provided a working toaster and a working coffee maker. Cutlery was shoddy. We had to ask for glasses as there had been only one in the cupboard. WiFi was only available in the lobby. There was a cable modem with an ethernet connection in the room but we did not have a portable router or laptop that could have used it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

It's closing down and feels like it

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: It's cheap and convenient and you can use the private pool nearer the beach.
Cons: Everything. It will be closed by June as it's been sold, so they're not bothering to repair or replace anything.
Location: walking distance to George Town and grocery store. Coconut Joe's restaurant across the road is cheap and the food plentiful and beautifully cooked.
The site has been bought out and will be a Margaritaville by the summer. 2 blocks have been gutted already and the bar is closed. Wifi is in the front reception only, and non-existent most of the time. Buy a drink at Billy Bones bar and use theirs. When it rains the whole place floods. Take non slip shoes to negotiate the slippery floor tiles. Corridors and steps are disgusting, and the pool is surrounded by iguana droppings. The reception staff can't be bothered to try to help because they know they're out of a job soon. That said, the housekeeping is good, there's another bar and pool on the site, it's convenient and quiet, but treasure island is sad and tired and broken things are not being fixed. If cheap is important it's practical and has a fridge and hob and microwave in every room. But take a sharp knife, cutlery, tea towels, can opener, and ear plugs to drown out the noisy fridge at night. The big bonus is that you don't have to fight for beach space like the people in the expensive hotels, and the beachside pool and bar are open to treasure island guests.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Budget hotel close to beach

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Room was nice until I saw bugs in it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Can only get rich in the lobby
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

lletWon't stay there again - no treasure island!

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything - see comments above.
I arrived at 10:50pm to find that the receptionist had left for the day. Came straight from the airport, no checked bags, so was surprised that the security guard had to call someone to make sure they left a key for me. There was no wireless internet access in the hotel room. There was no telephone in the hotel room when I first checked in. I had to ask to have one put in the room - never thought I would be asking for a telephone! The hallways and staircases are filthy! No hot water in the shower - would barely call it warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bc

Not on beach, rented out to locals,

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Cancelled, moved to Marriott. Don't do it unless you are on an extreme budgwt
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

DISGUSTINGLY FILTHY UNSAFE SLUM HOTEL

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Hang out for local drug dealers. Filthy. Items stolen from room, staff didn't even apologise. Fire hazard electrical wiring. House phone didn't work, staff did nothing. Lights on bedroom wall did not work due to sparks from sockets, took 4 days to get an extension cord to make lights work. Unsecured Wifi ONLY from outdoor Lobby to share with Local drug dealers and hackers. Staff did the absolute minimal with a stinking attitude. A fight occurred at 3AM outside my door between permanent residents, for 20 minutes, fighting, yelling, door slamming, 24 hour security didn't show up, which desk was 2 minutes away from fight. I feared for my safety! No amneminities, not even a do not disturb sign. Maid cleaned drinking glass with the same towel used on toilet seat. Broken old furniture. DISGUSTING! I want a refund, I was so scared I was stressed out my entire vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debra A

Perfect trip

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Orbitz
Don't let reviews of Treasure Island scare you away. We have been coming here for 20 years. Room clean, front staff wonderful. People living at hotel are very kind and don't bother anyone. It is a budget hotel and if you want to spend money on food and entertainment than you will enjoy this place. No ice machine was a problem but freeze is mini fridge worked well with making our own ice. Ladies bring hair dryer if you need. We will definitely go back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015
This is not a hotel. They rent long term to the local people.