Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Great hotel!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
We just returned from our honeymoon. We stayed at the resort for 8 wonderful days. The Beach was beautiful, White Sands Sports was super fun, and all of the staff was very friendly. What made our stay so memorable, though, was the above and beyond service we received from Archie Whittaker. He was friendly, helpful, and a great resource for things to do around the island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous Hotel !!!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: ALL ROOMS HAVE OCEAN VIEW .... Staying at beach, this is a must ! Syubways restraunt attached to the Hotel!
Cons: The ISLAND in general is short on staff. This is not a Wyndham problem . Beach Restaurant in the back is understaffed. Needs more personal.
Location: Scuba divers goto Babylon !!! Rum Point,
This Hotel should really be a 5 star category. It definitely deserves VIP status that Expedia claims on there Web Page. Its welcoming right from the moment that you pull up on the drive way, Dinner on the beach is a must do, multiple times. One of the ladies who attended to us named " Elizabeth", was supper dedicated to her work. She arranged car rental for us at a great discount. Scuba diving at White Sands was excellent. Fantastic equipment, top staff, and very good boats, Very well organized crew. They care about your safety. Out room was a "studio upgrade". It was excellent, we were able to use the equipment throughout the vacation. The Hotel and the Island are very clean, I went into Georgetown 4 times, each restaurant we went to was spotless, Really fantastic !!! We will be back to this Hotel and to Grand Cayman in General. I would say that this Hotel beat our expectations on every level.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Not close to town center which I knew in advance. Very comfortable bed/pillows!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great rooms with gorgeous view right on the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: We liked that it was right on the beach and that it was on the quiet side of the island. Did not have to deal with crowds. And the staff was great.
Cons: Having a fitness center would be a great addition.
Location: Many water sports and day trips where available through the hotel. Plus, many family friendly activities, shuttles to town, and car rental available.
The room was clean with a full kitchen. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The beach was well maintained and the food was very good. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Sandra , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but sorry to hear that you were unable to locate the gym. We are currently working on a resort map to give to our guests for better orientation. Our fitness center is located in the building farthest west on the property. We hope to being able to welcoming you back at the Wyndham Reef Resort in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great staff!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Great staff, rooms were spacious and clean.
Cons: Update the appliances a bit and change the mattress. Mattress was way too soft for me. I am used to sleeping on a harder mattress.
Location: Rum point, Stingray city, and all along the east coast are great places to explore.
This was our 2nd time going to the Reef. The first time was 10 years ago and while many things have changed about the Cayman's and the Reef, we still had a fantastic vacation. We spent 7 nights there and one of the things we love about the resort and the East side is that it is still away from the busy side and Georgetown. When we go on vacation, we love to relax and enjoy ourselves and this afforded us the opportunity to relax and do things at our own pace. Some of the things we did while we were there: Snorkeling - fantastic snorkeling right outside the hotel. Get your underwater camera ready. Stingray City - Awesome! Fed the birds - the Frigates come down and take it right out of your hand. Rode Jet skis to a sunken ship - thanks Remy! Did paddle boarding. Went to Rum Point. Splashed in the hotels pools with the kids. Daily activities provided by the hotel (tie dye, painted conch shells, painted driftwood, trivia for prizes, scavenger hunt for prizes) - kids loved these! Shopping trip to Georgetown - go on the weekend when it isn't so busy. All in all, a great vacation and one my kids won't forget. My daughter cried 4 times on the way back to the states because she didn't want to leave!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tucson, az

Comfortable beachfront hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
A very relaxed part of the island, removed from the madding crowds. Everything was easy here. Open the sliding glass doors and you're on a quiet Caribbean beach. How great is that? Staff is friendly and efficient and wifi was free. Beach bar was pleasant and the onsite White Sands Sports company provides water adventure opportunities (we enjoyed the jet skis). There is a full kitchen in the room to make meals, which helps keep costs down, if you are so inclined (there is even a dishwasher). We took advantage of that. Across the street is a small food market, a liquor store and a good Italian restaurant, with pizza for take out. A coupla more good restaurants are just a few miles away. Our favorite is Over the Edge (about 6 miles west, less than 10 minutes by car with no stop lights or traffic to speak of), while Bombay Chopstix (maybe 3 miles east) is also top notch. Is the place the four seasons? No. But it does provide simple, comfortable island living. We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Quiet, and literally steps to the beach

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The views!
Location: Good Italian restaurant across the street. Along with large beach at the hotel, many smaller, deserted, beaches within 10 minute drive.
Excellent stay! All rooms face the sea, and it was literally 30 steps from our 1st-floor patio to the pool, another 20 steps to the palm tree-lined beach, and another 30 steps to the water’s edge. This is a place where the pictures really don’t lie. We rarely had a desire to leave our patio because the view was so spectacular. The hotel is on the very quiet East End of the island, about an hour from the airport, Georgetown, and 7 Mile Beach. There’s not nearly as much to do on this end of the island, though there are enough restaurants within a 10-20 minute drive. Rum Point is a 20 minute drive, and don’t miss that – day or night. There’s only one road on this end of island, and it’s wide, well-lit, and uncrowded. That’s important because driving on the left side with a right-side steering wheel is tricky, especially in the crowded areas around the airport and Georgetown. Food at hotel restaurant was ok, though it’s hard to beat sitting at a table with your feet in the sand. Check-in was a bit slow, but otherwise front desk staff was very helpful when my car battery died and when we lost hot water. This is partially a time-share place, so two calls asking us to take tour were mildly annoying. Our room was a bit smaller than I had expected, so make sure you know what kind of room you book. Beach was windy and water was rough 1st three days we were there. Be careful – the fish, used to being fed, sometimes nibble at you. Overall, you can’t beat the views, and we
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Courteous Staff, clean rooms, few nice amenities.

Posted May 6, 2016
A very pleasant stay. A Courteous Staff, clean rooms, few nice amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rock Hill, SC

Long Weekend Away

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: This hotel has a beautiful setting on the Eastern shore...groomed beaches, great pools and a fun bar/restaurant on the beach. Staff were very nice.
Location: We drove to Rum Point and had the best time there. Highly recommend a visit there. Seven Mile Beach is nice for shopping & touring.
This was our first time in the Cayman's and loved it. The island is beautiful and we explored all of it. We rented a car for $9 a day...Payless staff were fantastic. I highly recommend renting a car...it gives you the freedom to explore. We lounged at the hotel pool in the evenings and enjoyed the beachside bar. Great staff members...lots of fun. We found Rum Point on our last day there...it is amazing. Great for relaxing on the beach, swimming and enjoying some Rum. A MUST SEE location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quiet hotel on the beach

Posted May 1, 2016
The best part was that all the rooms are water front and had a beautiful view. Awesome to have a grocery store and liquor store across the street to compliment your mini fridge and microwave. Everything is expensive in the Caymans so this is a nice option. Negatives- shower head and window sill had black mold, and hair on the wall. I asked the front desk to focus on this, but only the shower head was cleaned. Also, wall switches were very dirty and grimy.