Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Cons: The cleaning people could have done a better job
Location: It was very quiet and if we wanted to go somewhere else on the island they had busses that took us wherever we wanted to go
We loved the whole Cayman experience and would do the Wyndham all over again!! It was the best😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Away from the crowds

Posted Jan 31, 2016
If you're looking for somewhere away from the crowds, this is perfect. It's located on the East side of the island, away from the popular Seven Mile beach. In our opinion though, it's more beautiful here. All rooms have an ocean view, and waking up to the sounds of the lapping waves and seeing the sunrise right from our bed was magical. The weather was mixed with some cloud and rain, but it was fine for us as we did lots of activities, and we weren't there just to lie on the beach all day. It's a bit windier on the East side and wasn't always calm enough to snorkel from the beach, but when that was the case we just took a short drive to either Spotts beach or Rum Point, and it was perfect. The hotel staff seemed nice, although we didn't have a lot of interaction with them. We were happy to keep to ourselves most of the time, and they didn't bother us. The only annoying thing was on arrival, we were tired from the journey, and the concierge trying to persuade us to attend a timeshare session (she must have asked us like 10 times) It was pretty quiet when we were there, and a lot of the time we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. Even the beach rarely had more than 10 people on it- no fighting over sun lounges! Essentials when visiting: - Eat at Tukka. It's a 5 min drive away and the food is outstanding - Snorkel at Spotts beach. It's our favourite beach on the island and chances are you'll be swimming with turtles - Do the Stingray City tour at 7am before the crowds hit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville, ky

Secluded, wonderful Resort!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We stayed at the Wyndham Reef Resort for 5nights and they were wonderful! All the rooms back up to a gorgeous White sand beach! The food and drinks were terrific, the staff was super nice and made you feel like the Caymans were your home. The nightly activities at the Bar were so much fun! We had an absolute blast and would recommend this place to anyone wanting to relax and just Be!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Beautiful beach, white sand

Posted Jan 24, 2016
It's the most beautiful beach, cleaned every morning. You don't have to look for better place to swim or snorkel. Hotel also have variety of other water sports. People, that work in hotel are very helpful, talented and kind! Rum point is 15 minutes away and Kaiko 30 minutes away and easy to set up "Stingray City" boat trip. Rooms need upgrades: bathrooms, mattresses, pillows, but we have no complaints, because every room comes with a view of Caribbean Sea!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

nice stay better then seven mile

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: the location and peace
Cons: housekeeping and the nets were outrageous
Location: great location on the beach
if you are looking to relax and enjoy walking out of your room and standing on the beach this is definitely the hotel for you. seven mile is very congested and overrated. RENT A CAR don't worry about them driving on the other side of the road the locals are very nice and they drive very well do you will be fine you can not get lost on this island its one road that takes you everywhere the hotel was nice and the staff members were pretty good as well. my only con was housekeeping them ladies were horrible very rudeeee we had to call over four times and they came to the room dropped off towels and left didn't clean up anything. that's my only complaint. oh and the nets omg they were horrible to if they could spray the nets and the housekeepers they would be good to go. over all great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great Place to relax!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: more options for dining
Location: East End of the island. There is not much nearby so you will need a car to drive to Rum Point, Pedro St James, Gardens, restaurants, etc...
The hotel was great. All rooms had a nice balcony or patio that is full ocean view. Also, this hotel is on East End which is away from all the crowds. There is a large reef around this area which makes for great snorkeling but bring your water shoes because walking into the water will be hard on your feet (with the rocky coral, rocks). The staff is excellent! Archie was our concierge and he made sure we had a great time! He provided us great information on sites and many tips, made reservations for dinner and car rental. Also, Kenroy was great for the nightly entertainment of karaoke and dancing. Great place to get away and unwind!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful hotel with very nice beach

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: My room was clean and spacious. Snorkel right from the beach. Well kept grounds, pool and beach.
Cons: My only thought for improvement was the quality of the food on premise.
Location: Must go across street to the Italian Kitchen - absolutely wonderful food. Save money and buy drinks at the liquor store across street as well.
We stayed from Dec 30 thru Jan 5. Absolutely wonderful trip and place to stay. If you like to snorkel you can do it right from the hotel beach but be sure to take a trip to the reef and Stingray City. I would, and will come back, it was a beautiful place to stay with very clean rooms. It is on the East end so either rent a car or be prepared to pay almost $90 US to get to the hotel. The nice thing about the East End though is the quiet, no crowds and a spacious beach with very few people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel - Disappointed in Customer Service

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: beach
When I arrived at Reef hotel I had left several messages with front desk explaining my numerous flight delays and that would not be arriving the first night and to please waive my fee. According to the person I spoke to this would be happening but when I finally ARRIVED at Reef the story had changed, I had lost my phone in transit and was exhausted but got nothing but grief when I finally arrived at the front desk, This experience is what I think of when I think of Cayman Islands is the horrible service I was shown at the Reef, I can't even believe I'm writing this because I have wanted the experience if the Cayman Islands erased from my mind but was cleaning out email and thought I would ask one more time to please waive my first night stay so I can have a morsel of light out of this horrifying experience. Thank you for any help - I'm not a rich person and am still paying for this trip because I wanted to make it special for my best friend's 50th birthday. Again thanks for listening and I hope to get some good news back,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely on the right track...

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Staff, view, beach bar area especially.
Cons: Selection of location of rooms. Housekeeping's attitude.
Location: Great quiet location, and with a car you can get anywhere. Easy driving around and felt safe. Grocery and liquor stores made in-room chilling easy!
We had a good week at the Wyndham Reef. The room was smaller than the price indicated, and we were placed in a busy spot which made relaxing difficult but overall, the people made up for it. Overall we would have liked to be in a far quieter spot with less foot traffic and noise, but it's difficult to find in a resort like this. Not sure how you can book a room with those qualifications, but if they allowed it, I'd not hesitate to return annually. After reading the dozens of reviews over the past few years, we were not sure what to expect from the staff, but as many have indicated, perhaps the Wyndham branding has created a higher standard because we were never (except for housekeeping, who came in even though we put a "do not disturb" sign up and were cranky that we were still there when they arrived) treated anything but politely, and friendly, by lobby, concierge, or bar / wait staff. Always a smile. The plaza / grocery / liquor store across the street and the many close-by restaurants made eating and drinking a snap--whether in the room or out--so I don't know that the all-inclusive cost is worth it. The food was good consistently, and of course you pay a lot more in Cayman Dollars so watch the pricing and the fact that they add tip automatically. The beach chairs near the main buildings were kind of bunched up which we would have liked to have more spread out and secluded instead of being on top of other people. A quiet room would guarantee our return. WINDY!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in middle of nowhere

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Leaving ...
Cons: Staff training. They sit/stand around all day doing nothing ...
Location: nothing to do nearby
Lazy and poorly-trained staff who just don't care about the welfare of the hotel guests. Pubes found on bathroom floor on arrival, behind bathroom door. One towel and one soap each (mean). Lots of plastic found floating in the sea and on the beach. Swimming in the sea is very dangerous as there are strong winds and currents. You need a hire car or a taxi to get anywhere. I would stay in a hotel on seven mile beach and then you can walk to all the restaurants, bars, etc.