Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Good hotel. Kids loved it!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
This hotel is great for convenience and kids up to probably age 10. Bunk beds were a hit. Service was good and restaurants in hotel was convenient. Didn't like how the fitness center is right by the entrance. Water pressure was poor for shower and temperature of water was hard to regulate. For price of room watermark passes should be included. Would stay again for kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Kids had fun.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: I really liked that the rooms over looked the pool area and I liked how you have so many different eateries to choose from.
Cons: Hotel cleanliness.
Location: Our destination was to see the hotel.
Our stay at any hotel is always about the kids but my comfort is important to. I was disappointed that the bathroom floor was grungy and the sink drained very slowly. Both of which are gross to me. The only other gripe about the Canad bathroom is cosmetic...there is plaster missing around the shower head as if there was previous leakage. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. The kids absolutely loved the themed room. They insisted that we turn their room into the same thing. Way to set the standard Canad Inn!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Room was very warm even though the heater was set on low and temp was set at 68. Heater was very noisy while running. No hot water in bath/shower so very difficult to bathe children all weekend. It was New Year's week-end, so it was very noisy until the wee hours of the morning with kids running through the hallways -- not sure where their parents were. Water park is great for the kids, but guests at the hotel even have to pay to use it. They had great entertainment for kids of all ages on New Year's Eve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Facilities
Cons: Front desk, could be a little more welcoming...
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and will continue to do so when we return to Grandforks. The facilities are excellent. Everything you need when traveling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Todd from Bismarck, ND

Business folowed by pleasure

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We planned on going to Grand Forks to spend some time with our granddaughter & her mom. We ended up running up a day early as I had some business to take care of. The Canad was a very nice hotel with a better than average water park. We enjoyed it a lot; it is a nice hotel,but defiantly not a five star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, manitoba

great location close to all shopping

Posted Nov 4, 2015
We were given a free upgrade to a suite which was amazing. Very clean and great pool area. We were happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Winnipeg

Not bad, but not great

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Just stayed the one night. Overall not a bad night, although a little more costly than similar quality hotels. The pool complex is large although complimentary access is only for a small portion. In itself not a problem, but the water and space were cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

Good for families

Posted Oct 24, 2015
My husband and I stayed there with our three young kids. The waterpark is an extra (discounted) price per person over 1 year old. There's a baby pool, swim pool and hot tub included in the hotel stay price. All in one room/area, so it's a little confusing to know where you "can go" or what you "can use" without a band. The family rooms with bunks are themed. We were in the Galaxy room. It's not overly spacious, but there was plenty of room to set up the pack and play. The older girls loved their enclosed galaxy bunk room. There were four beds (bunked) and a TV, game system in the room. Speakers and individual lights by each bed. The bathroom tub was rather dingy looking, but everything else seemed pretty clean. There was chipping on the galaxy walls, but that's to be expected with use and would be hard to upkeep. However, the blow dryer didn't work and that was a bummer. The breakfast buffet (extra cost) downstairs in the restaurant near the check in desk was TERRIBLE. The eggs were cold, the pancakes were like rocks, the pastries tasted old, and even the coffee tasted nasty and watered down. Don't eat there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wendy from Fargo

Convenient for Alerus, but needs updating

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for a nursing conference that was next door at the Alerus Center. Room was nice sized & beds were comfortable, but the shower had very poor water pressure. Wifi was slow at best & there were very few poorly placed outlets to plug in electronics. The hot tub (which is part of a waterpark) was only lukewarm. Food at the Tavern United was really good though. However, the entire hotel just felt like it needs an update.