Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay, some slight missteps

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: Pay closer attention to special requests on rooms.
Overall, good experience. However, the rooms are starting to show their age a bit. I had to call the hotel directly for a contextual question before my stay, and it was like pulling teeth to get through the call. The check in was a good experience though. Finally, overall 4 stars because a special request on my room went unfulfilled.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Nice water park but hotel room was disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The conference area and bar and places to eat are all never nice. The pool area was great for the kids. The splash pad and water slide area are definitely showing their age. We had a king bed with a pull out sofa for our two kids. The bed was very uncomfortable. They are wearing out and both my wife and I woke up with sore backs and body. The same for the sofa couch. Luckily our boys are 2 and 4 so they didnt sink in on that bed unlike my 180 lb self that could feel every spring and bar and would never be able to sleep on it. I would use this hotel again just because of water park but I wouldn't if I didn't have kids along because of the poor room comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Slow internet wifi connection and long time of waiting to be serve at the front desk....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba Canada

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Our stay was very good, the complimentary aaltos breakfasts was a great surprise!! The service at Garbonzos was not the greatest, waited over 10 minutes for someone to come to the till so we could place our order and then it took over 45 minutes for us to get our pizza..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grad Forks

Not amused. Overworked staff!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: neat clean
Location: shopping
We have not been able to book this hotel due to its high cost in the past. This time they seemed to drop into our price range and so we took it. Wifi Password would not work, despite very explicit printed instructions and codes, So what was wrong, I don't know! The free breakfast was very poor and the wait was long. The breakfast staff of one or two were overworked, I feel sorry for them looking after over one hundred guests. Ordered pizza from their take out on the first night. In Winnipeg this is excellent pizza, but here they had an extremely limited menu and even managed to get my order wrong. There are better breakfasts at well priced hotels in Grand Forks. Well we wanted to get the Canad Inns experience, and now we have it!. Not likely to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel was decent. The fact that there is a discount for the water park because we were hotel guests was a pleasant surprise. I really liked that our wristbands for the water park were still good the following morning. The only thing that was frustrating was how long you had to wait for the elevators.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

Great weekend getaway!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
My boys and I had a great time! The water park gave them an awesome experience. Great last minute back to school get away. We will return!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room oversold

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Got to the hotel and they had sold our room and offer a king with a roll away for 4 people. Very disappointed. Switched us to a different hotel with less to offer. If I wanted to stay somewhere else I would have made reservations there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Good Waterpark, Disappointing staff

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The Pool, Room was nice enough
Cons: The Staff. Other than the front desk, all of the staff was very underwhelming. The restaurant situation was abysmal.
Location: Location is good, next to the Alerus Center, so any concerts events are close by. Quick drive to the shopping district, and the pool is right there.
Accomidations were wrong, reserved a King Bed w/pullout couch, was assigned a queen. Changed rooms to a king, then there was no pullout couch. Didn't want to move again, ordered a cot to the room. Took the front desk so long to answer the phone that I gave up and just went down to the desk instead. Staff at the water park were rude, and couldn't keep towels on hand. Whole hotel seemed short staffed. The arcade attached to the waterpark is half broken games... They gave us coupons for a complimentary breakfast when we checked in (everyone gets them), but then when we wanted to have breakfast the lineup was huge (even though there were plenty of empty tables that just needed to be cleaned off, again seemed under staffed...) So instead we opted to order room service, and skip the lineup by being paying customers for breakfast. They told us it would be 15-20 min. We called down to check on our order 45 min later... I'm certain they had not even started it. We were told that we were not a priority and that they were so busy that the staff member probably should have not even answered the phone. The hotel was fully booked, it was the labour day weekend, and the general manager was no where to be found. The restaurant staff told us that they haven't had a manager for a while and instead we were passed along to the chef to address our issues. He told us our meals would be at least another 20 min if not longer, realistically maybe 30+. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Our rooms weren't cleaned and we've called about an item we may have left in the room and no one has returned our calls.