Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Great price, nice rooms
We found this hotel to be clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments re our rooms and prices. We agree...given all the amenities the hotel has to offer - deep-end pool, sauna, hot tub, casino games, , 3-D interactive games for kids, indoor golf, restaurant, bar - we offer the best value for budget travelers in Grand Forks. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Run down facility

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Roof leaking, garbage in hallways, vending machines out of order or not giving you the item, continental breakfast was a complete joke, ice machines not working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Hello Ken, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry we could not meet your expectations this time. Allow me to address each point you've raised. We did have a roof leak in the north-eastern corner of atrium. The roofers are working on the problem and it will be fixed in the next few days. We have already called a company that provides vending machines for our hotel. Machines will be re-filled and repaired as needed. re: garbage in hallways. Obviously this should have never happened. We're hiring a new housekeeping supervisor who will help us keep both rooms and hallways cleaned and free of garbage. I apologize for inconvenience and hope you will give us another chance next time you visit Grand Forks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hotel is nice. Like the rooms, they were clean and had comfortable beds. Nice pool area. For the price it was better then some in Grand forks. It's off the beaten path would be the only thing but we didn't mind for 1 night. Breakfast needs work, nothing hot which were used to in other hotels for the same price probably wouldn't stay again due to that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for a four star review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we will definitely take into account your comments regarding free continental breakfast. We do offer a $3 discount that you can apply to any hot breakfast item on our regular menu. re: location. We're located in downtown area within walking distance to all government offices, entertainment, shopping & dining districts. It's only 2.7 miles away from Hwy i-29, exit 140. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Nice hotel with a lot of amenities to offer

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This was our first time staying at this hotel and based on other reviews we really weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. This hotel has a pool which was warm, a hot tub, a sauna, mini golf and arcade games. We stayed in a two double bed poolside room which was amazing as it was so convenient to using the pool. The entire pool area is covered with trees and plants so even though you are inside you feel like you are outside. The staff were so nice and accommodating to any request you had. Also, the hotel bar was large and nice. The food there was amazing! we had every intention of trying other restaurants in Grand Forks but the food, prices and convenience were too good to pass up so we ate there 4 times in 3 days. I would say this hotel is perfect to bring your kids as there is a lot for them to do. Just keep in mind it isn't a Hilton (but also isn't the price of a Hilton) so it is a little old looking and worn down but if you can get past that this hotel was amazing. We will definitely stay there every time we go back to Grand Forks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Hello, Thones. Thank you very much for your compliments. I agree... Our hotel has facilities that make us different from other budget hotels in the area. Namely, large deep-end pool, sauna, indoor golf course, casino games, pool table, gaming arcade for kids (3D Interactive floor games and virtual reality games are coming soon). I also agree with you when you say we are not Hilton. Even though we have already spent close $1.2m in renovations, there's still a lot to be done. I'd like to thank you for giving us an opportunity to meet your accommodation needs in Grand Forks, North Dakota.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is old and run down. The pool area had t

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient for us.
Cons: A full refund!
Location: Good
The breakfast was poor to ok. No hot food and I was told when making the reservation they offer a hot breakfast. The air conditioning in the rooms didn't work and the hotel was hot/humid and stuffing all weekend. We were a family getting together for the labor day weekend and booked three rooms for three nights and all us had to change rooms after we were all settled in because it got unbearably hot with no air conditioning. As well as all this I was over charged by Expedia. When I complained to them they had a person on the phone who was in Egypt who I couldn't understand! Got frustrated and gave up! Totally a bad experience! I left a complaint at the front desk with Evan to get a call from Jessica the manager who I have not heard from! The hotel is old and run down, they were short off staff nothing was cleaned over the weekend. We asked for fresh towels and never got them. The pool area had trash laying around for three days!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We're sorry you had a negative experience at our hotel. Labor day weekend was very busy for us and obviously we fail to meet your expectations. Just to clarify... We offer free continental breakfast or discounted hot breakfast. Guests get a discount coupon that they can apply to any hot breakfast item on the menu. re: air conditioning We have already replaced most units. Currently there are 15 rooms that need new air conditioning units. They are on order now and will be replaced by the end of September. Our hotel is older, but we're upgrading and improving every day. So far, we have spent close to $1.2 m in renovations. There's still work to be done...but we feel we offer great value for the amenities we offer at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to main roads

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Swimming pool must cover somewhere.when you get in to the hotel smells chlorine.when you get in to the room not but clean and tidy. Is just outside room not recommended. Inside the room is recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have installed a new ventilation system. Most of the days chlorine is not a problem for both "by the pool" rooms and for the rooms that are far away from the pool. On occasion, when it is a hot humid day, the chlorine smell can be noticeable. Fortunately it does not happen very often. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolerable

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Plenty of parking
Cons: Do a better job of washing the bedding & invest in dehumidifiers. Segregate the young, drunken party-ers from the families with children.
This was a last minute road trip, and we needed a room for just a couple hours to sleep. Apparently it was a busy weekend because all hotels were booked up and only Red Roof Inn and another shabby hotel had openings. We arrived around 11:30 p.m. and stood in line for 20+ min before getting checked in, because the people ahead of us reservation had gotten messed up. The smell of chlorine about knocked us over when entering the lobby. Lots of people walking around inside & out with beer bottles, and were noisy all night! The room was clean but outdated and felt really damp, as did the bedding. My daughter's pillow case had what looked like dry boogers on it, gross! And there was a large hairy spider the size of a nickle in the shower. We slept as best we could, avoided the shower and were back on the road by 7 a.m. Not the worst place we've ever stayed in, but I wouldn't recommend it...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Sorry, we couldn't meet your expectations. We're hiring a new housekeeper supervisor to address the issues you have mentioned in your review. On that particular weekend we're very busy and short of stuff. Of course, it's no excuse. Sorry, again... you had a negative experience at our hotel. We hope you will give us another chance next time you visit Grand Forks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand forks nd

Rooms where still dirty

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Moved me to a new room once and tried again when that one was also not the cleanest..owner didn't even try to compensate me or anything..I stayed for 5 nights..the maintenance guy was telling me he was gonna break into cars in the parking lot when there is a big event like a wedding or something and rob people..also talked about getting a master key to go into customers rooms while they were gone..there for I had to Carry half of my things with every time we left cause of fear he would go in our room and steal things.. the place is very run down and smells musty and moldy. The front desk guy Evan made things vettet and was very good and inviting..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
KC, Could you please contact our manager and ask for General Manager. We'd like to know the name of the maintenance guy who acted unprofessionally. Sory, you had a bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown, reasonable for the price

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel is really close to downtown, and if your simply looking for just a hotel to stay at, it isn't bad. Few cracks on the ceilings, mediocre breakfeast, and no safe vault, but besides that, it's pretty good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes, we enjoy a historic downtown location within walking distance to governments offices and entertainment district (theaters, bars, restaurants, boutique shopping, etc.) re: breakfast We offer two options: 1. Free continental breakfast or 2. Discounted hot breakfast (pick up discount coupon at the front desk) Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Nice Pub

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It needs some tender love and care.
Even though this hotel is a bit dated and is slowly going through renovations. I would stay here again because of the location and the great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Yes, we have a great location within walkable distance to business district, boutique shopping and entertainment area. You're right, we're bringing this place to former glory. So far, we have spent $1.2 m for "tender love and care". Still, like any hotel, we have things to do. Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to see you again.