Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice little place

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean & comfortable. Easy trips to cruise port & airport.
Location: Some really interesting walks around the area, especially the walled city Biruga.
Good views, nice clean rooms. The smaller rooms lacked chairs (no space for them). Very pleasant, helpful staff & owner (Aldo).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney Australia

Nice lication with good view frpm one room.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
A short stay bit very helpful & pleasant staff. The guest house is being renovated gradually & has a lift which is necessary because there are 4 floors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
It's not a hotel, it's a guest house, Expedia should specify this, so people don't expecting services like normal hotel! They have really fragile beds....we also had unexpected incect coming to visit which was scary......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Perfect Little Guesthouse

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Away from the main tourist areas but with everything you would need. A small shop, bus links, water taxi, restaurants, small town, harbour, museum. The room was slightly smaller than expected but we were out all day and it didn't bother us too much. Just had to keep things tidy. Hotel were very very helpful. Responded to all our queries and polite when we saw them. We didn't bother with breakfast. There is a small shop down the road with cheese, breads (family loafs for 35c), yoghurts etc and we just picked up food as we went out for the day. I loved the balcony and view into the harbour and the traditional tile floor. So quaint and characterful. Bathroom modern and clean, if a little small. Towels as you would need. Hairdryer not great but I didn't need to use it anyway. Aircon fab and there's a mini fridge too.
5 out of 5
by CE

A Comfortable Stay

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good experience. The staff was warm and courteous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

super

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
AMAZE! favorite port view, all the colorful balls on the water put a smile on my face. the staff very friendly helpful too and super clean. 10 min walk to vittoriosa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Local gem.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
This is a lovely hotel based in a quiet local area. Close enough to get into Valletta by bus (no3 stops about a 100m down from the hotel) or walk (all along the waters edge-glorious) to neighbouring Birgu marina where you can get the water taxi to Valletta, from where you can get a bus to just about anywhere (traffic or impromptu religious festivals permitting). The hotel was clean and well serviced. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a great little bar and eatery on the same road as well as a bakery which sold lovely traditional fresh baked goods. I will definately be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convenient waterfront guesthouse, Kalkara / Birgu

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Convenient, small, quiet, very friendly guesthouse.Phenomenal rooftop view across Kalkara creek and marina to ancient Vittoriosa (Birgu)
Cons: Flooring may be the original stone tiles from the great siege era (1565), but I am sure replacement is planned soon.
Location: Walking distance to Birgu, Hertitage Malta, Esplora centre. Short drive to Film/movie centre and Fort Ricasoli / Rinela.
The operators and all staff are extremely friendly and helpful, to an extent not commonly seen in hotels. In fact, the experience was closer to staying in a bed&breakfast establishment than a hotel. Staying here was a delight. The Villa is simple, quiet, basic, comfortable, very close to Kalkara and the ancient "three cities" of Malta, close to airport and right on main bus route into Valletta. The rooftop/outdoor view during breakfast is priceless.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Great views onto the harbour

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The room was basic and a bit run down in places but it provided a bed and breakfast while we visited the rest of the island. The staff were very friendly and helpful and amused at the Scottish ladies requesting sun loungers in the Maltese winter! We had a great stay and enjoyed being out of the way as Kalkara is very quiet compared to Sliema or Qawra