Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Lakeside rooms provide beautiful view of Lake Superior, can hear the waves coming in
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Very nice view of the lake

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Very nice hotel room, was well put together and clean when we arrived. Bathroom shower was a bit tight for taller people but otherwise very well worth the stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leonard, ND

Room with a view

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Location, view, modern rooms, and breakfast.
Cons: Can't think of anything. We went a little late in the season and a lot of stores were closed. If you go try to hit late Sept. early Oct.
Location: We went out to the Artists point. I would recommend that. Ate smoked fish and chowder at the Fish Market and that was very good.
We had a very nice stay at this Best Western. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous! Our view of the lake was the best. It is also very close to shops, eating etc. I would stay here again and recommend it to one and all. thank you Best Western for a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st. paul

Back yard was right on Lake Superior.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Location on Lake Superior and walking distance to good restaurants
Cons: Beds were double not queen
Location: Again, right on Lake Superior and downtown Grand Marais
One adult and three children for two nights at the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Location only.
Cons: Needs an upgrade!
To say the least, we were very disappointed. We drove up from Duluth, MN and because of the Hotel condition we did not stay at this hotel. Needs to be up graded!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, MN

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Location and friendliness.
Location: Was cold and windy so we didn't see much. The few shops we visited were good
Only there overnight but staff was good and room was clean. We enjoyed a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right next to Lake Superior

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and hours were good-served until 10. The front desk clerk was very helpful when we checked in. Our room was clean & the bed was comfortable.
Cons: The elevator made a lot of noise and jerky movements so I think it should probably be serviced.
Location: The location couldn't be better. Right on Lake Superior and very close to downtown.
This hotel is nice and clean and updated. We loved having our balcony door open to hear the waves crashing up on the shore. Every room in this hotel faces the lake so you can't get a bad view. You are literally just steps from the beach and can hear the waves from your room if you open your balcony door. When you close it, it's nice and quiet in your room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodbury MN

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Great time! Very clean! Great beach! Good food! Good location! Had fun!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria

Pet policy needs to be enforced/

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: View of beach and lake. Fantastic!
Cons: More ice machines. Better enforcement of pet policy.
Location: Endless amount of sights to see and do.
During our stay, the party right above us allowed their DOGS (plural) to run around and prance constantly as well as barking. Starting at 5AM it sounded like being inside a snare drum with the constant running of dogs above us. Along with the barking, it made it impossible to get anymore sleep. That and their AC running despite the 51 degree outside temp. It was miserable. When we mentioned it to the desk clerk, we were simply ignored.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Florida

My daughter's wedding!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The rooms were fantastic - after several days of activities, it was a pleasure to sink into the wonderful beds for a great sleep.
Cons: A bit pricey!
Location: Loved exploring Grand Marais. The downtown area is charming and we found the best restaurants within walking distance.
A trip to the North Shore in July can be an 'iffy' experience, but...we had perfect weather for my daughter's destination wedding and the hotel rooms were PERFECT! Comfortable beds, great breakfast and incredible views of Lake Superior. Thank you!