Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The room was small but the setting along Lake Superior made up for it. We would've loved to have a lake side room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Andover mn

1885 Hotel does not disappoint.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We were so pleasantly surprised by this wonderful resort on the lake. Old and established you could see the families that came back often to vacation here. It was very warm but a window fan brought the cool lake air into the room and we slept great. Excellent dinner in the restaurant and some good brews in the pub.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark from Prescott

Nice place on the Lake.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is quite old but kept up. The rooms are small by today's standards. We took advantage of the 'Sea Kayak' tour on Lake Superior which was great. The tour guide was informative and friendly. The lake was amazingly glass smooth, not a ripple anywhere. I am sure that this was unusual, but appreciated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cottage Grove, MN

We love that the hotel is right on the lake.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Location on the lake.
Cons: The bathroom facilities could use some work. It took a long time to get hot water and the toilet didn't always flush.
Location: This is one of the best locations on the North Shore. It is close to hiking, biking, fishing, skiing and shopping.
We spent three days at the hotel. There is always something to do, sitting on the lake, hiking the trails, eating at the fine restaurants or attending the interesting speakers on the beach in the evening.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from St. Paul

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
My only complaint is the lack of air conditioning. The room was a little smaller than most hotel rooms, but the description on the website indicated that. And they did provide a fan, which was nice, and would have been perfect had it not rained. But the resort is amazing. Right on Lake Superior with a beautiful view and hiking trails right from the beach. There are three fire rings and several Adirondack chairs, so it's easy to spend an evening listening to the waves crashing onto the shore. Very relaxing and romantic, but also family friendly. We only spent an overnight here, but I wish we had spent more time and I would love to go back. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edina, MN

The hotel staff went above and beyond.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Welcoming and beautiful,
Cons: There is no elevator for guests in the main lodge. This was not a problems for us, but may be for some guests.
Location: The staff sets up a bonfire on the beach. This was a highlight for us.
I was impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. The dining room was like steeping back in time and the food was delicious. I will be back for the old world charm of the lodge and the beautiful scenery.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
The staff and location are fantastic. The rooms are a bit pricey, small, and have some plumbing problems, but for one night it was great to look out at the lake and surrounding forests to relax.
2 out of 5
by Mia from St. Croix Falls WI

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location - but very small room - not very clean - no air conditioning. Tiny desk & VERY tiny bathroom.