Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Clean, quiet, comfortable (10/16/16)

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, spacious king-bed room, with very comfortable bed and linens. Large, spacious bathroom, plenty of soft towels, with hair-dryer.
Cons: Mountain Inn is managed by the Lutzen Resort 1 mile away, so there is rarely any staff on the premises. Check in first at Lutzen Resort.
Location: Very excellent restaurant up road 100 feet on left, and wonderful, new winery down road 300 feet on left. Beautiful fall colors, good skiing near-by.
Stayed at Mountain Inn one night in Fall to see tree colors. This Inn is very reasonably priced. Facility is remodeled and well-kept. Does not have fancy amenities, but all necessary toiletries are provided. No breakfast provided on premises, but coupon provided for continental breakfast at a resort facility 1 mile away right on beach of Lake Superior. Nice coffee machine provided in lobby. Room has micro, fridge, and quiet heat/a-c unit. No pool, but excellent sauna and whirlpool. We were not informed about lack of staff on premises most of the time, for anything, check-in or assistance. Check-in is done at Lutzen Resort on Hwy. 61, and key, with breakfast voucher, is given there. Inn is just up the mountain one mile. I would recommend staying at the Mountain Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Continental Plus

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: While the Inn itself is up the hill, you have use of the beach and dining down at the lodge.
Location: Located on the north shore of Lake Superior, there is fly fishing, swimming in the lake (very seasonal), hiking, skiing, and biking on the Gitchi-Gami
The Inn is in a beautiful location about 1 mile up the hill from Lake Superior. Rooms were clean, staff friendly. The whole building is non-smoking. Included as part of the room is a continental breakfast at the main Lutsen Resort Lodge at the bottom of the hill. For a very nominal fee, you can upgrade to the nice hot breakfast buffet. The wait staff is college students from around the world. They are all very polite, helpful and a pleasure to talk to.
5 out of 5
by Ronald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Ski Hill - Clean

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice and close to the ski hill, very clean, and enjoyed complementary instant coffee machine (also hot water for tea).
Cons: Housekeeping could come in the morning, rather than in the afternoon -- just as we were back to the room after skiing.
Nice and close to the ski hill, very clean, and enjoyed complementary instant coffee machine more than I thought I would (also hot water for tea). Driving down the hill for complementary continental breakfast at the main lodge worked out fine -- went back to the room after breakfast to get ready to ski. (BTW, recommend taking new gondola to Moose Mountain and skiing around the new 6-person express lift -- great tip from the bartender at the ski hill.) Only suggestion would be for housekeeping to come in the morning rather than in the afternoon -- just as we were back to the room after skiing -- no big deal. Would stay at The Mountain Inn at Lutsen again.
3 out of 5
by John from Minneapolis

Good place to crash after an active day

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived there was no desk personnel due to low occupancy for that night. This hotel is connected to the Lutsen Resort Main Lodge about a mile away so we were told to check-in there. Overall the property was fine and we have a good night's rest. Included breakfast served at the Main Lodge was pretty decent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

North Shore weekend

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: Doors that slam. Beds too soft.
Location: Great location
Room was clean, bed too soft. Walls pretty thin, you could hear the neighbors TV. They allow dogs in the rooms and I love dogs but a couple left their dog alone in the room both nights for a few hours in the evening. We could hear the dog barking and barking and then scratching at the door. We felt bad for the poor thing. The doors to the hallways were very heavy and closed automatically with a loud slam each time that shook the walls. The free breakfast down the road at the Lutsen Lodge was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel for the price.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Improved WiFI.
Wifi did not work in room..had to go to lobby. Lots of slamming doors.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
The entry door to the motel was very difficult to open. No instructions.
3 out of 5
by Jeff from Jackson , Minnesota

Jackson travelers.

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was comfortable and very clean and well kept.I would definitely recommend it to friends. It would have been nice to have a in house continental breakfast. Overall thoughts are we would definitely stay there again. The price was right and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. The area was quiet and peaceful. Thank you for a pleasant stay.