Ratings based on 973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to venue

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Went for Zac Brown concert and Vanandel arena was very easily accessible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

I was really very disappointed

Posted Dec 11, 2015
So uncomfortable/.... Very disappointed . I will never stay this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amway vacation stay

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: Pool, room service breakfast, & interior design
Cons: not to have to pay for parking.
Location: Its just across the bridge from the pubic museum. there is an art museum near it too!
It was a very nice hotel! the staff were all helpful and very nice! the pool room was awesome it had purple and blue lights lighting it up!!!! wicked cool!!! they also had a turn down service where they get the bed ready for you and had a lil chocolate mint waiting for us!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Loved it, the staff was awesome, the hotel was gorgeous but the bathroom was too small!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MI

convenient for downtown

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: convenience of being downtown
Cons: Price, at least a continental breakfast for the price.
Location: bars and convention areas
Experience was fine. Nothing was special about the hotel. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is beautiful but not worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Ann Arbor

watch out for surprise parking fee

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
They seem to have charged me for parking but never explained that. They simply gave me a parking pass to allow me to come and go, as if it was part of the room, and again, never explained anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by April G.

Business Conference

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on CheapTickets
The hotel is easy to get to, staff is always pleasant & helpful. Check-in was extremely fast and had free wi-fi. Room was very spacious with walk- in closet, good sized bathroom and sitting area. (We stayed in the original part of the hotel). Gave a 4 for comfort because the bed was too hard for me. They also have a great gym. There are lots of restaurants in the hotel, including Ruth's Chris Steak House, Wolfgang Puck restaurant and a sports bar (among others). Lots of restaurants within walking distance. If you want to save on parking, there are several parking garages with walkways that connect to Amway Grand and JW Marriott. We have stayed at the Amway Grand several times and always enjoy our stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marian

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
We were put in a room with non-working wifi and when we called they said they were "resetting" it and it would be fixed in a couple hours. It was not fixed, had to switch rooms the next day and was inconvenienced. The morning we switched we ordered room service and when we left for the day and came back 6 hours later, our room was "cleaned" but they left the cart with our remaining uneaten food in the room. So it just sat there all day. Not a good experience especially when you're paying 200$ a night. Pay the extra 50$ a night and stay at the JW Marriot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Pleasant, MI

Fancy hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: The decor of the hotel and rooms is a bit dated and it took a few minutes to get the hot water running
Location: Grand Rapids Art Museum and Public Museum within walking distance. Great restaurants (e.g., San Chez, Hop Cat) within walking distance.
Fancy hotel with a very comfortable bed, knowledgeable and friendly staff, and large, spacious room within walking distance to museums and restaurants of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice but noisy

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I just stayed one night for a retreat from home. The hotel is beautiful (and quite large), and in a great location in GR. The only negatives were that parking is an extra $20/night for self-park (this seems ridiculous although I know in other 'big cities' it's even higher), and that the walls are thin enough that our neighbors kept us up for hours with their loud banter. The hotel itself is quite lovely.