Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hinckley,mn

highway 38 fall color tour

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: breakfast
Cons: temp in pool area and pool
Location: fall colors
We stayed one night and did fall color ride next day. Breakfast was excellent and room very adequate for a one night stay. Was a little disappointed that temperture in hot tub was too cool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but could use updating

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly and the price was good.
Cons: The breakfast hours should go until at least 10:00. The entire hotel could benefit from a remodel/update.
Location: Great location for us. We came up to see the fall leaves.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was sufficient but it looked like it could use a really good deep cleaning. The toilet and tub were clean. The bedding seemed clean. The tv and remote didn't work very well. The guy from the front desk was very polite and tried to fix it by jiggling some wires which helped for a while but the next morning it didn't work very well again. The mattress was extremely firm and for me that was very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great staff. Genuine desire to help.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Super friendly staff. Appreciated the small separate coffee area when the dining room was over run with families. Amazed at how quiet it was!
Cons: Mattresses are overly firm, so much so can be painful by morning, and I am used to sleeping on a firm mattress at home.
Staying for a wedding on Sugar Lake. There were many families, with lots of children. in the hotel at the same time. We did not hear them in the halls or above us at any time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Cloud MN

Overall a good place to stay...

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Lots of pillow on the bed...
Cons: The door locks are a bit outdated so I think new keys and locking mechanisms should be upgraded...
The overnight staff on duty was pleasant and knowledgeable so thumbs up to the management team for that... The room had plenty of pillows but the bed was just a bit on the hard side so not a bad thing for those who like a firm bed to sleep on... The morning breakfast had plenty of choices to choose from to include Denver eggs and breakfast potatoes... Overall this is a good property and would stay there again if i'm ever in the area...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on south end of town

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The hotel was very clean, with nice amenities and very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MN

No Power

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: It was very clean
My stay was fine but in the morning when I woke up my room had no power. I slept through my alarm and I wasn't able to get ready for my program. I understand these things happen, but I paid a lot of money and not only was I charged full price, the staff didn't apologize. I was in Grand Rapids to host their annual KAXE Mississippi River Festival and I talked to several other people Saturday that were equally disappointed in the staffs inability to offer compensation or apologies. The room was clean and everything else seemed fine, but next year when I (and my colleagues) return, we will find a different place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly, wonderful continental breakfast and it was great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Very welcoming. Felt like home.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
From the front desk to the room to the great breakfast and even the friendly house keeping all was top quality!! Very friendly and warm. Felt like home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: good location
Cons: very satisfied
Location: theatre,restaurants close by
nice hotel. Breakfast was ok - eggs were very bland. It was ok otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast Minnesota

Pleasant and next to excellent restaurant.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Cons: We set the address into our GPS. It led us to the opposite side of town. The "Hwy 169" should instead be "Pokegama Ave." We called for directions
Location: It is on a main thoroughfare for other hotels and shopping and restaurants.
Very pleasant and helpful phone interaction with staff. We asked to change our nights' stay and they made the transition extremely easy and without hassle. Good recommendations were offered for dining. We felt safe and well cared for. In spite of a busy girls' hockey weekend and a hotel full of families, it was a very quiet experience. Plus generous supplies of coffee and home baked cookies and rolls offered around the clock.