Ratings based on 1,014 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ann arbor mi

room had bugs, not clean.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast was acceptable , soda in vending only 1$/can
Cons: room had bugs, not clean. housekeeping never came to clean after the first night stay and then staff at desk rudely denied that when we checked out. y
room had bugs, not clean. housekeeping never came to clean after the first night stay and then staff at desk rudely denied that when we checked out. you could hear every step of people above. very disappointing for 200$/night (inclusive of taxes). Free breakfast was acceptable , soda in vending only 1$/can
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. It is good to hear that you were pleased with the "Be Our Guest" breakfast. On the other hand, we apologize that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff during your stay. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Nice hotel. Walking distance to a supermarket, a lot of nearby restaurants. About an 8-10 minute drive to the Grand Rapids Airport. The hotel staff was friendly and I enjoyed my stay at this nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South Haven

We checked in before 3 because the room was clean.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: We got to check in early because the room was ready. The cookies were always fresh and ready. It was close to shopping.
Cons: Something needs to be done about those sharp edges. The hotel could clearly post a warning about it.
Location: The shopping and freeway was close by.
We enjoyed the pool and the free dinner on Thursday. The worst part was the sharp edge in the pool. Three out of five of us cut our toes on the sharp ledge that runs around the deep end of the pool. It ruined the experience for one of my kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, in particular the pool. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and I can assure you we are working diligently to get it taken care of for you and our other guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future to show you our improvements. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from muskegon mi

grandkids weekend

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: it was clean and warm
Cons: not a thing
Location: close to shopping, gas stations,and places to eat
took my grandkids for a get a way from mom and dad had a great time they loved the pool also took them to the pet expol in grand rapids mi will stay there again thank you for a GREAT WEEKEND GRANDMA
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Pat, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. It brings joy to our staff to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with your grand kids so much. We look forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

So so hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
The pictures make the hotel look better than it is. Clean enough for comfort. Missed breakfast so can't speak to that. Walking distance to Meijers which is open 24/7
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Michigan

Very nice

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: The only thing that could improve would be cleaning the mirrors more.
Location: Location was good. Shopping was close by. Malls, restaurants. The highway was close by to get on and off easy.
Our hotel was very nice.. Comfortable, roomy, staff was very nice. Very good breakfast and also a free lite dinner, which is unheard of in most hotels. First night they had stir fry, second night we had grilled chicken breast with chips and soda. I would book a room here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Jody, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our complimentary dinner that is offered Monday though Thursday. We look forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

great airport location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great location and great staff. Free breakfast daily and free dinner weeknights. Nice pool. We left headphones behind and they were great about mailing them back
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and dinner. I am so happy to hear that we were able to get your headphones back to you as well. We look forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate, but not as good as other Country Inns

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Upkeep
Location: GR is awesome. Tons to do.
Have had much better experiences in other hotels on this chain. Maintenance appears to be lacking - carpets are worn, needs repainting, random supply boxes stacked on baggage carts in the halls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
4 out of 5
by Sean

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel but the "free" breakfast was low quality and the pillows were small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Rachael, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. We work hard to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel beds not comfortable

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The hotel is clean and staff very friendly. However beds are not comfortable. Our TV reception was terrible. Not able to get half the channels the second night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Best Regards, Kristan Z. General Manager