Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My favorite place to stay in Grand Rapids

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Clean quiet comfortable & full Kitchen. The best value for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Extended Stay America - Grand Rapids – Kentwood. We are delighted to know you were overwhelmed not only with your well-appointed suite but also with the value we offer. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel near airport

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: smell of room and room amendities. There was no coffee maker and when we arrived the front desk clerk did not offer any additional amendities.
Location: lots of restaurants nearby and close to airport.
Room smelled like smoke and was a non-smoking hotel. Tried to change rooms, but new room smelled like glue. Stayed in original room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. Your comments in regards to the location of the hotel are much appreciated; yet, I was disheartened to read that we had failed to mention that the dishes including the coffee pot is per request. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am speaking with my front desk staff to ensure they are communicating better. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Nice but...

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was great. Breakfast sucked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you had a pleasant stay. but disappointed that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Beth

Smokey!

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were not well kept. Although our room/floor was considered "non-smoking", the rooms/hallway smelled of smoke. Fumes were so bad that it woke myself/my family up in the middle of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that the hallways smelled like smoke during your stay. In response to your feedback, I am going to follow up with the front desk staff so make sure all guest know the smoking policy at check in. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Wasn't very clean, had to wait in lobby about 5 min duties before someone came down to check me in. Rooms had hair in beds and in shower drain
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was disheartened to read that there were cleanliness issues in your room. Please accept our apologies. I met with the staff, and we will inspect rooms to ensure that the cleanliness issue is not repeated. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Long wait before someone showed up at the front desk. Hair found in bed and shower
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am reviewing with our housekeeping staff to ensure they are using correct procedures. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City MI

Very pleased.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Very pleased. I had never stayed here before. Nice place in good condition. I have no complaints but if I had to point to potential areas of improvement I would say the front desk girl did not have the right personality or was not in the mood to be doing her job. Seemed to be just going through the motions like a zombie. Perhaps overly tired. The toilet appeared to be clean but there was a hair in the bowl. To me these are nitpicky things and would not change my recommendation or my willingness to stay there again. Very pleased compared to many places I've stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read you first time staying with us was a great one. Also thank sharing your comments on areas where we can improve. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent room, nice staff, FIRE ALARMS NOT OK

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The room smelled like cigarette smoke. The smoke detector was dangling - Looks like somebody disabled it just so they could smoke there. Anyway the staff was very accommodating in getting us to a different room. Second room was just fine. But.... The fire alarm for the entire building went off mistakenly TWICE during our three night stay. The second time was at 7AM. False alarms, both. Ear-splitting. If they were having issues with their alarm system they should have it fixed with minimal disturbance to guests. From what I heard this was a common occurrence that happened every three days or so. Not acceptable. No refunds or discounts were offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the fire alarm went off multiple times during your stay. The third party vendor has fixed the fire panel so the fire alarm will not sound unless necessary. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.