Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale CA

false advertisement

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: This hotel is in Grandville near Grand Rapids
This place is advertised as newly renovated- it should have made me suspicious why I could only find pictures from the outside of the hotel! Our room had holes in the carpet up to about 3 inches diameter. I did not want to put my feet on the floor without shoes on! All metal parts in bathroom and bedroom were kind of rusty. The walls have not seen paint or new wallpaper for at least 20 yrs. The smell in our room as well as in lobby and hallways was this old, musty smell. The breakfast place is right next to the pool, only divided by a 3-4 feet high gate. If you sit close to the pool and children splash, you can enjoy your breakfast with a dash of chlorine. Luckily we sat not that close, but other people did. We were laughing when we saw this really OLD radio clock on the nightstand where you had to turn the knob for a radio station :-D Nothing we saw seemed renovated or newer than 20-25 yrs. As for the experience: There was a huge party from Friday evening to Saturday night with lots of kids. Pizza on the air hockey table, on the foosball table and at least 80 adults plus children occupied every single space there was. Kids running back and forth in the hallway, yelling for mom, bouncing a basketball back and forth in the hallway, slamming doors constantly etc. and LOUD adults!!! Management did nothing! Their explanation was: that's what kids do! PLEASE do yourself a favour and stay away from this place. Not worth the money you safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and homey

Posted Jan 25, 2016
I was treated with kindness and helpfulness by the entire staff. Excellent bed and food. What more could one need?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

decent price, close shopping and restaurants.

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Cons: This hotel could use a little updating. It looks a bit dated in it's decor.
Decent price. Quiet location. Polite, professional staff. Pool area very clean. Rooms comfortable, although even with adjusting room thermostat, we still could not get a consistent cool temperature. All things considered, this Hotel is a decent place to stay for getaway trips to Michigan at an affordable rate. Will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: the outside very clean and nice looking
Cons: add a top sheet to the bed and update the interior
the outside is very nice but the inside is very dated and needs updates. The bed did not have a topsheet only a fitted sheet and a blanket for a top sheet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cornelius E

Review by Cornelius Dutmer

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was very comfortable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Raman from Shelby township

Worst hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible!! Worst hotel ever! Rooms were dirty, sheets were stained! Room next to us had a dog that kept us up all night! Originally booked room for two nights, after about an hour I cancelled the second night and went to a different hotel (would of left the same night but no rooms were available in the area). Would rather of slept in my car!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jackie from canton

definately not this decade!

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Outdated rooms, furniture and bedding. Holes in walls with shotty patches. Disappointed that continental breakfast ran out of alot of foods at 8:00 a.m. ie Only 2 hard boiled eggs at 8 am!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
First of all, this is an older hotel. We really just booked so we would have a place to sleep while visiting our son during GVSU family weekend. We didn't sleep too well. I heard a drip, drip, drip all night from a pipe that must have been housed in the wall right by the bed. The coffee maker in the bathroom (yuck) was missing its pot and I got a rude awakening to a spraying sink faucet when I got up to wash my face. The breakfast waffle batter was gone by 8 a.m. and there were coffee grounds in our cups. The people that worked at the hotel were kind but I just felt that for the price we paid, we would have been more comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Renovations need to be done with Housekeeping

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping could actually clean the rooms. I am pretty sure my bedding and towels were used.
Location: Close to GR with museums and zoo, and business activities.
Dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. The walls had stuff spattered, and the floor had food on it, not near the door, as it appeared a vacuum only reached about 5 feet into the room. The bed and pillows had stains, and there was hair on the blankets when turned down. One bed was clean the other obviously had been used and just "made" the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sherry from Lansing area

Will give another try...

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Went for overnight with grandkids, looking forward to time in the pool. Worked out great first couple of hours. Left to go across street for late lunch, came back and the pool was closed because the pool had been compromised (I'm hoping it was just a baby in a diaper!!) Anyway, the pool was closed the rest of our stay. No fault of the hotel, but still a disappointment.