Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

always a pleasure

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: close to airport and freeway. Great beds.
Location: Very close to many restaurants and shopping.
easy access to freeway and airport. Very pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am so glad we were able to provide a great option for your visit to the area. We hope we will have the opportunity to have you with us again soon. Best wishes, Rob T General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to our destination.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Easier to find
Location: Good location
Hotel was hard to find from the street. Need more signs to show where it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We appreciate your business and I know the secluded nature of our location can be challenging. Now that you know where we are located I trust that it will make your next visit go that much smoother. I hope you will still be able to count on us as an option for your lodging needs when ever your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids and we hope to be of service to you again soon. Best Wishes, Rob T General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facility

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The elevator was very noisy each time it stopped.
Location: It was away from the city noise but within 1 mile of all the restaurants and the event we were there for.
The staff was excellent as was the facility. Close to shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Please accept my thanks for your recent stay at our hotel and for the feedback you have provided us. It is always helpful to hear about what we did well and areas we can work to improve. I will be sharing your comments with our staff and we hope that anytime you are back in our area you can count on us to provide the clean comfortable stay you have come to expect. With appreciation, Rob T General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast, free wi-fi
Cons: Signs at the street. Bathrooms cleaned, the floor was dirty and the overall feel of the bathroom was that it hadn't even been cleaned. Wasn't sure
Location: Gas station, restaurants, ice rink
We could not find this hotel initially. There were no signs on the main drag for the hotel, not that we saw anyway, and since this hotel sits way far back from the main drag they could use some signs and arrows. I called the desk to ask directions and the male clerk was not too helpful and not too friendly (he stayed not too friendly when we checked it also). The bathroom floor was dirty and I wasn't 100% sure it had been cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept my thanks for your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate that you took the time to offer your feedback and place a review for your visit. I know our location is off the beaten path and can be a challenge to find. I hope that once you arrived you were able to enjoy the peaceful surroundings afforded by not being in the midst of all the traffic and shopping. I am very sorry that you found the service to be less than you have come to expect from a Hampton Inn and I will certainly address this with all of our staff. We strive to make sure that every guest is 100% satisfied with their stay and I apologize that we did not deliver on this commitment for you. I hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your business in the future and if there is anything we can do for you please feel free to reach out to us. Sincere thanks, Rob T General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sterling Hgts mi

Good location.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of restaurants and stores.
Very impressed with hotel staff. Very friendly and helpful. Very clean and neat. Also very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review, your feedback is very important to us. We are very pleased that you had such a nice stay. Please come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes Rob T General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Clean efficient business hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: 100% convenient: Malls, shops, Airport nearby.
Everything about this hotel is efficient and geared towards business travellers. Although they dont have a guest laundry (they should), I had my laundry dropped at reception and by 5 pm it was ready and pressed. They have good meeting rooms, wifi, business centre, gym etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Alfred, Please accept my thanks for your recent stay and for providing us with your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. We are always looking for ways we can make improvements and we will take our guest input into account when making future changes. We look forward to being of service to you again soon. Best Wishes, Rob T General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Pleasant and Quiet

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Went there to visit family and see Art Prize 2016
Although I expected rooms to be a bit larger, this was comfortable and quiet at the time of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for selecting our hotel for your visit to Art Prize. We hope you enjoyed the city during this very fun time of year. Please come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Nice Stay

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Nice Staff
Staff was very courteous. Room was not like the picture but was functional. Bed did not get made the first morning, but was made the second morning. Breakfast had a nice array of options, The Coffee Bar was open 24 hrs. There is a large pond/small lake just outside our window that was very lovely to look at. We watched an Eagle catch a fish on the lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Rob T, Hotel Management
Dear Cindie, Thank you for your recent visit to the Hampton Inn and Suites Grand Rapids Airport and for taking the time to offer a review. I am so glad you had a nice stay and that your family had an opportunity to enjoy many of the hotel’s amenities. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon! Kindest Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be going back

Posted May 4, 2016
Been coming here for several years and was pleased but this visit was a bad experience! Wanted too charge for early check-in, computer printer broken, no light dinner Monday thru Thursday even though their website advertises it, and breakfast was horrible. We won't be returning here anymore!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Robert T, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that your most recent visit to the Hampton Inn and Suites Grand Rapids Airport was not what you had come to expect from us. We will make every effort to check guests in early at no additional charge and our location has never offered an evening dinner so I will certainly correct that if it says otherwise online for our hotel. We hope the Hampton Inn and Suites will have the opportunity to earn your business on a future trip to Grand Rapids. Until then, we wish you safe travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stay but very pleasant

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: features of room were spot on
Cons: replace sink in bathroom. Entry to hotel was flooded but not impassable with a truck - maybe an issue for a low clearance vehicle at times.
Location: Lots of food and shopping nearby.
Room was nicer than I expected - King/Study. Clean, convenient, and contemporary with microwave, fridge, and large bathroom - I liked the layout. Bed and pillows comfortable with updated crisp white bedding. Sink in bathroom worked fine but had a rather ding in it with cracks extending from it - hopefully on their list to replace but not a deal breaker. Would stay here again. Oh, finding it was a little challenging as it's way back off the road specified on address.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!