Ratings based on 1,213 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will look for another one in future!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Great hotel. Good location, immaculate rooms. The pool and hot tub were really clean, plenty of parking, friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

This place could use improvement

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: location close to airport
Cons: listen to the consumer better, be a little more accommodating
I booked this hotel due to a flight cancelation, Expedia agent made me the booking over the phone. hotel was advertised as 3 star, Room Size was ok, but very strong smell of smoke in the room. the smell went in to the furniture. I spent a total of 30 min in the room and the smell of smoke permeated my clothing. I tried to change rooms which were available, management would not change my room because we paid for it on Expedia. I immediately checked out and headed for better accommodations. Expedia would not issue a refund, very upset. rule of thumb for me from now on, if expedia tells you a star rating discount it one level. joe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great location, 10 minutes from Downtown Grand Rapids with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Taking price into consideration, it's a great hotel. The room was a bit dated, but it was clean. The sheets showed some wear, but again, they were clean. Very nice kitchenette, but some chairs at the counter would have been nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: everything
place is run down and need a complete redo!!! paint flaking on windows , no daily room service and furniture is old and worn.Place is smoke free yet guest below us were smoking every night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ghetto

Posted Jun 30, 2017
This is a poor attempt at trying to retrofit an out dated apartment complex? Two instances of people smoking dope in the parking lot and court yard. Yelling and loud noises late into the night. Deadbolt on the door didn't work. Wet spot on the carpet. I would not take my family there. Did not feel safe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very bad experience, the hotel needs maintenance, there were people smoking marijuana in the parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great time

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I was there for 3 days and it was great the location was just right shopping dining everything was right there. The stuff was friendly and helpful I'm here from Boston MA and I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Emma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review for our hotel, Hawthorn Suites in Grand Rapids. It is always nice and very motivating to see that our guests recognize Hawthorn Team's hard work :) It will be our honor to have you here again. Happy 4th of July Emma
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Townhouse feel and very clean, comfortable with a great staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Never again!

Posted Jun 13, 2017
This hotel has the worst customer service on earth!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good place for a family stay

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff were quick to respond to any requests. The suite was comfortable and clean. The free breakfast buffet was excellent.
Cons: The WiFi was poor in the rooms. Better in the lobby and some places outside.
Location: Very good location, right next to a large mall and near to many restaurants.
Traveling with young children, we appreciated the full kitchen, comfortable beds, and helpful staff.