Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Check in only had three workers available and the line coninued to build. The workers were very friendly but with only 3 of them, they were set up to fall behind
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Disappointed.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
I was no pleased with this hotel at all. The room I was put in didn't meet my expectations at all. I was very disappointed. I was put in a tiny room with a wall shared by the pool area. I asked for a king sized bed and got two queens or fulls. The front desk wasn't helpful. I felt that my requests weren't taken seriously because I used expedia to get a cheaper rate. I will not be going back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linden, MI

Perfect Location & Fancy

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Had a concert at the DeVos and this hotel location was perfect for walking there. Expensive, but then, you expect that. It was a little fancy for us at the hotel, considering we were going to a Weird Al concert, but that was fine. Burgers at the hotel restaurant were AMAZING, highly recommend. A couple negatives: Parking was extra, which was a surprise, but maybe I didn't read my reservation details too closely. Also, the elevators weren't working when we checked in; supposed to read your hotel key and then press your floor number and it was malfunctioning. It was a hike up the stairs to the 17th floor, for this 6 month pregnant mama. The hotel got it fixed by the time we had to use it next, so that was good. Overall, beautiful room, beautiful view, wonderful staff, fantastic location. I would recommend this place to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding Week-end

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Cons: The kitchen closed at 11pm so we couldn't eat (late night)....but that's understandable!
Location: It was right in the heart of Grand Rapids - walking distance to so many sites, stores, restaurants!
We couldn't of been happier with our stay at JW Marriott! Everything was EXCELLENT!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel - bad business center

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Cons: the business center
I stay at this hotel regularly and the rooms are great - staff is great - but the business center is a mess - printers never work and it is awkward - set out in the middle of an open area. This is a problem for some business travelers who need access to a business center
5 out of 5
by Katie from Philadelphia

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Wonderful room size and view. Very clean. Updated and clean bathroom. Hotel staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Amy from Grand Blanc

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
I always enjoy staying at the JW. It's by far my favorite hotel in Grand Rapids. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. My only complaint would be the $29 for valet parking (or $26 to park it yourself). My $249 room ended up costing $315.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Elaine from Barrington, IL

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel in the past. I was disappointed this time. It was a busy weekend, graduations and proms, but, it was the same last time. This time our room did not get cleaned despite requesting it 3 times. We ultimately had to request clean towels and coffee and water, and then go and get more cups from the front desk. While all of the employees were polite, we still had a room that did not get cleaned.