Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Starbucks near to the lobby. Had enclosed walkways to parking lot and promenade. There could have been more restaurants in the promenade.
Cons: More restaurants
Nice hotel in a safe area. There was a loud party going on at midnight. Front desk and security very responsive! Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cons: More restaurants in walking distance. Keep Starbucks open longer than 1pm
Location: Downtown Grand Rapids. Did not explore surrounding activities
The hotel has a Starbucks very near to the lobby but is only open until 1pm. The hotel also has a walkway to the parking garage and to a promenade that connects to a Panera Bread. We have to travel for my son's swim meets and these conveniences are very important to us when choosing hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Uncomforable

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: It looked nice
Cons: Better pillows and quilt and mattress. Usually, Marriott does a great job with these things.
The pillows were lumpy and the quilt was really heavy. Something in the room made me very allergic. We did not sleep most of the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The JW is amazing. I've never stayed in a nicer hotel, or had better service. They were great on the phone, and very helpful at the desk. Everything went very smoothly. The single bed rooms have the nicest showers I've ever been in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spring lake, mi

Beautiful hotel with very nice, helpful staff.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: View was beautiful and staff was friendly. Room was nicely decorated and very clean.
Location: Downtown location with Art Prize.
Hotel valets lost keys to my car so I was late to appointment. Room safe didn't lock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Nice stay. Clean, comfortable. WiFi service was spotty on upper floors, ran into some very slow service at the downstairs bar. But overall, I'd be happy to stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Justin

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel in walking distance to the fun part of downtown and the river.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Glad we stayed but some disappointments

Posted Jul 25, 2017
My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. The room was comfortable, clean, and larger than I expected. Unfortunately the hot breakfast items were cold and when we asked our server she retorted with the temperature they are held at. My husband and I are both chefs and know what cold food tastes like. The made to order omelettes were fantastic though! After breakfast we wanted to relax in the hot tub to soothe our sore muscles from a long wedding day. The hot tub was as cold as the pool! We had to settle for the steam room instead. Since my sister has raved about the JW Marriott for the last ten years, we will give the place the benefit of the doubt.
5 out of 5
by Christine

GREAT STAY!

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
You get what you pay for....so very worth the extra cost....kind, comfortable, clean, and in the perfect location!