Ratings based on 1,180 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Ok

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Free shuttle service dropped us off for dinner and told us the last pick up was 1030pm we called at 940pm and the girl said "sorry our shuttle person went home" so we're not from around here and we were relying a service they guaranteed, the girl at the front desk just kinda laughed it off and said she was sorry and we just sat there in silence and she said she could call her surpervisor, ok yeah try that? So we sat there and obviously weren't going to wait for a call back to say sorry again, so we took a cab back to the hotel. The girl at the front acted like she didn't know it was us (even though she's the one that suggested the shuttle to us) very annoying . Don't offer a service to people and not follow thru.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
It would have been nice to have some bottled water. And there were no glasses
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Not from Grand Rapids

Execution it was not

Posted Jan 31, 2017
I made a reservation through Expedia for a river view room. When I got there at 10 pm, they did not have my reservation that was made four days in advance. I was checked in and went to my room which was not a river view. Went back to the front desk and was put into another room. at 10:45 pm I went back to my new room which was also not a river view. By the time I made it back down to the desk, the staff had disappeared. With a room still under construction, I spent the night with no power by the bed for phone and other electronics. Woke up in the am to no bath towels, Went to breakfast where the food was right the waitress was nice but the cook took a half hour to cook eggs, but I did get a river view. Went back to the room for a webinar and the internet was down for the day due to maintenance. Had to resort to my phone for a hotspot. Upon my check out, no receipt, a half-hearted apology and the promise of points on my choice rewards account which of course have not been applied as of today.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Remodel hotel in progress - should shut down during remodel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from q

Nice hotel remodeling

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Nice hotel comfortable bed looks like it will be even nicer after the remodel.. not nice being woken up at 8am by someone using a power drill drilling something into the wall in another room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Hotel under construction!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything.
First room thought they had turned down bed..never been cleaned. Second room the heat was blowing when entered around 100 degeees. Couldn't open window or turn down/off. Third room was okay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Check-In & No Notice on Hotel Name Change

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The room supplied four sets of towels even though there were just two of us.
Cons: Train your agent to apologize to a customer first when the room reserved isn't available after the check in time, and immediately try to find a room.
I made a reservation for 1/20 for a room with two beds. I arrived at 3 PM asking whether I could check in early, the agent said no, which is fine because I knew I was early. Shortly AFTER 4 PM (the official check in time), when other people checked in successfully BEFORE me, this happened: "There is no room for you yet," said the same agent while shaking her head. Astonished, I said with irritation: "I want a discount." "I cannot give you a discount, but I can try to find you a room", said the unfriendly agent. "What's the point of making a reservation when there is no room for me?!!" I was upset. "Mam, it's 4 PM and everyone is checking in," as if that should explain why I cannot get a room. "It's after 4!" I raised my voice. The woman next to my agent was helping another customer. She then said: "Just give me a minute and I'll try to find you a room." My agent then asked me to step aside so that she could help the customer behind me. The new agent helped me when she finished with her customer. She was able to find me a room eventually. Another unpleasant experience--the hotel's name on Expedia was "Riverfront." My GPS led me to a hotel with the sign "The Grand River Hotel". The hotel staff never told me earlier there is a name change when I called earlier that day. I had to back track the route, went inside to confirm whether it's the same hotel. Finally, the wi-fi doesn't work with my chromebook, but it did on my phone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A Renovation Surprise

Posted Jan 22, 2017
As I was driving on the highway I saw a nice looking gray and purple hotel. I thought to myself, "wow, that's new!" Actually, it turned out to be the Riverfront that has gone under new management and is still in the process of being renovated. I walked in and saw that the lobby looked fresher than my previous trips there. However there were signs and plastic tarp if around various parts, indicating the hotel was going through renovations. It wasn't a big deal to me because I knew I'd be gone early and returning late every night. The room I was given was on the 5th floor and I'm still trying to determine if the room was renovated or not. The doors had yet to receive room numbers so they were taped on with paper. That's fine, I still found my room. The room was clean, but weird. For instance there was a nice floor lamp that had no shade, missing a bulb, and apparently non functioning. There were phones that didn't work and an inability to log onto the wifi. The room (or at least the bathroom) seemed freshly painted because you had to shove the bathroom door shut. Speaking of the bathroom, here's the big reason why I docked this hotel. The shower took forever to drain. Literally my 5 minute shower resulted in water levels over my ankles. The second night I had no hot water PLUS the slow draining system. In conclusion, I probably won't be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown and comfortable

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The room was just reno'd and the rest of the place not far beihind .... staff was good the breakfast was too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus,oh

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: Maybe down the road after renovations are completed
Location: Location is fine
Construction materials all over. Tv remote not working. Couldn't stand the paint smell. Mirror only in the bathroom. In a nutshell, the hotel should not have been ready for service. I ask for partial refund