Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the facilities, get a better lounge the one in the hotel is dirty, it looks like the hotel is lowering its standards to that of the lounge.
Location: Location is great, if I was to recommend this hotel that would be the only reason to do so.
I was looking for a hotel that was in Downtown and the Sandman was that hotel, the room was ok the bed was comfortable but the overall state of the facility was subpar, the pool and workout room was dirty and needed updating. The noise from the street was loud throughout the night and into the early morning but I guess that is the chance you take getting a hotel in the heart of downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms were nice, very convienenient location.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
If you are travelling as a family, rooms are tight for square footage. Staff very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gp

Not bad, slightly over priced

Posted Nov 26, 2016
It was hard to find parking, train tracks right next to it. However beds were super comfy and the view of the sunset was great. It's an older building so you hear all the chunks and ticks during the winter. The hotel room must not have been used in a while as there was quite alot of dust on the desk and night stands.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable.
Cons: It would be nice to have a sink with a mirror outside of the bathroom. Also, the pillows are too thick. Next time I would bring my pillow from home.
I enjoyed my stay with my sister. The only downside is that there was not a sink with a mirror outside of the bathroom. This is so important for two women getting ready.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grande prairie

Alright

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Room was clean. However those are not queen beds. Beds were super tiny and pillows were very uncomfortable. Pool and hot tub was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

Old and dated and a long wait to check in

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Good parking and nice central location
Cons: The cleanliness and overall level of service could be better
Location: Across the street from Revolution Place and Earls.
The hotel room was small and the service was worse on this visit than in previous visits
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older facility close to downtown

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cons: Room lighting. More charging outlets.
Location: Convenient dining. In downtown.
Overall acceptable. Only stayed one night. Would not consider as a destination for multi night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The air conditioner fan bearing went in the middle of the night. Scared the crap out of me. Outdated room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort McMurray

Good central location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Hotel has been around a while and is close to amenities. It has decent rooms and the beds are comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Central location, nice rooms, good facilities (pool, hot tub, work out room, pub, restaurant). Competitive pricing.