Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Cleanest hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and cleanliness.
Cons: Wifi signals!
Hotel rooms are dated but this was the cleanest hotel I have stayed in for along time! The staff were welcoming and eager to make everything right. Unfortunately I was unable to get wifi in my room despite the IT trying to get it through. I had to go to lobby to get wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Quick check-in, nice stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Appreciated the clean room and quick check-in after a long day and a long drive. Quiet, too, so no problems with getting a good sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us and are pleased to hear your stay was more than comfortable. We look forward to having you stay again! Kindest Regards. Paulette Butler General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Pleasant Surprize

Posted Jun 8, 2017
I have never stayed in a Sandman hotel before. I was encouraged to try by the reasonable room rates the weekend I was going to be in Grande Prairie. The hotel staff were fast and efficient. For example, when I mentioned a leaky toilet valve as I was leaving the desk person affirmed my concern and note something down, unlike many hotels where the staff just nod and move on. My room was at the far end of the hotel which bugged me until I realized there was access to outside parking way down the hallway. The best part of the stay was the firm pillows which allowed me to comfortably prop myself up and watch TV and the very comfortable beds which contributed to a very restful sleep. Only disappointment was the hotel restaurant was a Denny's. While it was only a few feet from the front door, the quality of the food was very disappointing. Hasn't been updated since the '60s. All in all, I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us and are pleased to hear your stay was more than comfortable. Kindest Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager Sandman Hotel Grande Prairie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

not impressed

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: too many things to list here
booked this hotel due to the proximity to the Revolution Place check in was okay, & at 1st glance the room seemed nice, upon further inspection tough the lack of cleanliness was apparent. They must NOT have a head housekeeper? or perhaps she needs her eyesight tested? as there were many areas of the room that were just plain grungy! There was only one PUBIC hair on the toilet seat, so yay, not too disgusting LOL! The entire hotel needs updating, but if the rooms were cleaned properly it might help? There were many times in the 3 nights there, that either there was nobody at the front desk OR they didn't even bother to look up or acknowledge you? Not a good morning, have a nice day nothing. I have been both a housekeeper AND front desk clerk, and the guests are the reason you have a job, so your attitude towards them is of the utmost importance. Our room keys were an issue several times, causing us to have to go back down to the desk to have them reprogrammed. We had breakfast at the attached Denny's the 1st morning and that was THE only time we ate there. We were seated quickly, and told the waitress we were in dire need of coffee...and about 10 minutes went by with no sign of her so we asked another waitress(who was actually waiting on her own tables) for some coffee and was about to give HER our order, then our waitress "magically" appeared? Coffee wasn't refilled without asking...LOUSY service! The experience at this hotel was a "one time thing" We will NOT go back
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Dear C & D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Without your valuable feedback we can not improve our service to you our valued guest. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was not what you expected it to be. Did you contact our Guest Services team regarding your room? If given the opportunity we would have moved you immediately. I will address each one of your concerns directly with the department head responsible and must apologize for the lack of service you received during your stay. We are please to announce that we have confirmed out renovation schedule for this year and will be doing a complete renovation program throughout the property including our guest rooms and the public areas. Kindest Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort St John

Pool and hot tub were great.

Posted May 8, 2017
Stayed for the weekend to get some shopping done in the big city.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the pool and hot tub while shopping in our city. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

All that I needed

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Pleasant and close to amenities.
Location: Downtown GP. Close to several restaurants.
Just stayed one night but this hotel had all that I needed. It was quiet and comfortable, and located close to restaurants. Hotel check in was good and they paid for the taxi from the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Dear Ormsby, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important to us. We do have a great location in the heart of Grande Prairie with many restaurants and amenities nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Paulette Butler General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grande cache

Great Hotel, weird location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Saw a bunch of crackheads roaming close to parking lot and this morning in hotel parking lot, guy on bicycle drank out of a mickey he had in his pocket!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Dear Felix, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have an ideal location downtown near many restaurants and amenities, however being a downtown hotel there are transients in the area and therefore we provide security to monitor the property. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again. Best Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager Sandman Hotel Grande Prairie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Would stay again. Dated, but clean. Staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us and are pleased to hear your stay was more than comfortable. We are excited to announce that we have confirmed our complete renovation program that will see full renovations to our guest rooms and public areas. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Check-in was very quick and easy. Vending machine didn't work though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our services to you, our valued guest. I apologize for the vending machine being out of order. I have placed a call to the vending company and it should be repaired quickly. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay again. Kindest Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

😞

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The hotel itself is alright, clean with friendly staff and good amenities. The Beds are not the most comfortable, Air conditioner sounds like a jet engine thankfully it wasn't required for my stay and with finding items belonging to a prior guest makes one wonder how well they really do clean everything in the room. The downfall of this is its location as it is situated beside railway tracks. The train does come through at night and sometimes the evening, also being in more of a downtown setting a few street people are out at all hours making it slightly unnerving keeping a vehicle on site. The restaurants is well lets just say thankfully there was an Earls with in walking distance for convince. Denny's is Denny's but although advertised as 24hrs closes at midnight and Bar ones staff is friendly my steak resemble something foreign although it whatever it was, was good . The hotel does at least form my interactions have great and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by GM Grande Prairie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us, as it helps us improve our service to you our valued guest. In regards to the cleanliness of your room; we take great pride in ensuring guests have a clean room while they are away from home. I hope you brought your concerns to our attention during your stay so we had an opportunity to rectify them immediately. Due to the hotel being a downtown, it does have its challenges with transients, as with any downtown hotel. As a precaution, we have added security patrol and have increased the security and safety for our guests and staff by making areas accessible by room key only. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, I will be sure to pass them on! We look forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards, Paulette Butler General Manager