Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Canella Beach Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My friends and I arrived in Guadeloupe 2.5 hrs late due to the ferry issues. Our initial hotel had a burst water pipe, so I quickly found theCanella Beach Hotel on Expedia. The hotel staff were very friendly, and the fact that the hotel was right on the beach was very convenient. My only complaint was with the air conditioning unit in our room. It didn't work very well, so our room never cooled down to the point where we were comfortable. The breakfast buffet wasn't bad either. Overall, for what we paid for the hotel, it was worth the price.
4 out of 5
by Judith

Good Base for an enjoyable holiday

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Some Con fusion about rooms booked on arrival but once this was resolved a very enjoyable stay. Happy helpful staff. Lovely well maintained pool. Room cleaning etc very good.
4 out of 5
by Emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disappointed

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Central location on the island. Having a breakfast and plenty of space in a 2-room unit were pluses. But the kitchen and bathroom supplies were lacking, and the wi fi for Internet was terrible. It didn't work in the room at all. The only hot spot we found was at the restaurant by the beach. Internet is essential for modern travel. If you don't have it, please don't claim that you do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The beach is phenomenal

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The beach and number of beds
Cons: upkeep
Location: It was convenient to restaurants and the casino
We arrived later in the day, a little after 11pm. Thankfully, there was a front desk person. He didn't speak much English though. We got a duplex room which has two separate doors to access it; they only give you one key per door despite there being 3 of us. We got the keys and went all the way upstairs to the room only to find neither of the keys worked. We go back down and he says the room number he gave is incorrect. Back up and they still don't work. Finally back down to reactivate the keys for the first room. It was a bit much at almost midnight, just coming in. As far as the room, it was a lot more spacious than I imagined. The bathrooms were the only thing that was actually updated though. There was a rooftop with a mini fridge and stovetop but it hadn't been cleaned/maintained for a while and there were ants everywhere. The view was nice however. Breakfast was pretty standard, some pastries, coffee, juice, eggs, fruit. The only issue was there were ants all around the table where they had the coffee and juice. There are some local restaurants in the area, within walking distance and a casino. So that was nice. But the best part of the hotel, as I'm sure many have already mentioned, was the beach. The view is absolutely breathtaking. Aside from that, don't expect much else. We were only there 2days. It was okay for the price but if it had been longer I'd probably pay a little bit extra to stay somewhere nicer. The hotel design is nice, it just needs updating.
2 out of 5
by Samuel

Worse Hotel stay of my life

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The service was horrible, we booked a junior suite, their Junior suite was equivalent to a regular hotel room. There wasn't any parking, slow internet acces, no business center, no iron on ironing table in the room, no safe to leave our passport. They advertise 2 restaurant, one was never opened, the one opened was rented for a private while Hotel guest were eating, There was a bootcamp for local teenagers that began with pounding music at 6:00 am. Very bad experience with this Time share turned hotel, they should have stayed in the time share businesses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

complimentary breakfast a plus

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: the help of staff when asked
Cons: more variety with breakfast.
Location: nearby casino, beaches, restaurants and bus on the main road to St. Anne and PAP.
Staff spoke halting english, but it was appreciated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, fl

ok

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: beach because not belongs to hotel
Cons: complete renew the apartments, internet, water in the apartments,
Location: good
never in my life stay in this hotel, no water to take a shower, internet very, very, very bad!!! no support for guest
3 out of 5
by Carlyn

Convenient but not so comfortable

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
The staff in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. We came on a holiday weekend, forgot our adaptors, and everything was closed. They let us charge our phones throughout the weekend and called cabs because we did not have French numbers. The room, however left much to be desired. The room was old and the grout was extremely dirty to the point that keeping shoes on in the room and shower was an absolute necessity. The pillows were okay but the bed was hard. The sofa bed was NOT a sofa bed; there was no mattress on it and did not allow for restful sleep. I was surprised that the hotel was so expensive but the room was so run down. Also, the cab service (although not affiliated directly with the hotel) was unreliable. You need to rent a car. The private beach was very nice and had many activities so we did not book any outside tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Italy

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Thank you Valerie for your kidness, we got a such a great service.