Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Karibea Beach Resort Gosier, Residence Prao

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Many restaurants nearby.
Cons: Room comfort (beds), parking.
Excellent location - hotel has a private beach. Safe neighborhood. Lots of restaurants and a Casino within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Karibea, Hotel Management
Dear Ravi, we would like first to thank you for sharing your experience at the residence Prao with us. We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could take advantage of the perfect location of the hotel in Gosier, of the lovely beach of the hotel, and all the commodities around. Netherless we are sorry to read that the beds and the parking didn't meet your expectations. Thanks again for staying with us and we would be delighted to welcome you again in one of our Karibea hotel. Kind regards, the Karibea team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maplewood, NJ

Great area for good food and nice beaches.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
My stay was for one week..they have very good places to eat some local dishes..food at the hotel was just ok..bit expensive compare to a 2min walk to the local restaurant that you can have a nice meal for about 12euro..the area is in a great location you have the stile of nice beaches right by the hotel..you will love the staff..but the rooms do need to be updated but not too bad..love the fact that there was two full baths in the studio.. I recommend..plus you can rent cars and book tours right next to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Karibea, Hotel Management
Dear Frantz, We would like first to thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Prao residence. We are really glad to see that you spend a nice stay with us and that you could take advantage of the nice restaurant to try some local food. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the great location next to some amazing beaches. Also, we particularly appreciate compliments about our staff. We will transfer them your message. They will be really happy to take part of your nice stay. Thanks for recommend us and for staying with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you again in one of our Karibea resort. Kind regards, The karibea team.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The food in the restorant was not great, but there are some other opportunities near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Karibea, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, We would like first to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could take advantage of some nice restaurants around and that hotel and the location meet with your expectations. Netherless we are sorry to read that the restaurant didn't meet with your expectations, we will transfer them the message so they will improve it. Thanks for staying with us and we would be delighted to welcome you again in one of our Karibea hotel. Kind regards, The karibea team.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

It will do if you're staying close to the airport

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This Residence Prao in the Karibea Beach Resort was an okay place to stay. After staying for several nights in Basse-Terre, this area was a disappointment. I highly recommend getting to another area to experience how beautiful Guadaloupe is. The hotel itself didn't allow check-in until 3pm. We arrived at 1pm and none of the staff offered for us to use the beach, which is why we came. If you get there early and you can't get into your room, say that you'd like to use the beach or the pool and ask for a towel card. The room was stuffy but clean. The front desk ordered us a cab to get to the airport in the early morning, which was there on time and cost about 35 euros.
1 out of 5
by Angelique

Avoid this place!!

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
So disappointing ! The check in was done by a staff member that was obviously animated by the end of her shift. I was wasked a credit card deposit in oreer to use beach towels!? Our room was frequently visited while we were outside and it was not discrete because they would leave the light on and doors opened!!! The sofa is really old and need to be replaced as soon as yesterday !! Bathroom need serious refreshments... When we checked out we were asked to pay almost $2000 for 3 nights ... which was a total mistake from their part since we already paid our room though hotels.com Last but not least, as we left at 4:00 am because we had a plane to catch we were asked if we wanted to do a late check out! :-o Yeah... Me neither!! Tourist trap, avoid this place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not happy with the rate for the quality of room.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: hotel location was ok (near the beach)
Cons: Quality of bed and furniture. Larger TV screen.
Location: Location was in the heart of busy hotels and small retail stores, pizza joints etc. No good high quality restaurant nearby. Most stores closed in pm.
we were not happy with the location of our room for the price paid. Facility is wearing out and does not have comfortable bed or furniture. TV in the LR did not work (very tiny screen!!). For the price of $180/night, we got a room with the view of trash cans, and no breakfast!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still "under construction" ...but will be great.

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is still under construction and a few places are currently being renovated. Oddly enough, there isnt a spa at this beach "resort". Im sure once everything is fixed up, this place will be great. Oh, and the beds are super firm & uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by Richard from Cotati, CA USA

Not a Vacation Destination Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was our least favorite in a month's trip. However, it served our purpose of being located in a safe area within a reasonable distance of the ferry port (15-minute taxi ride). The hotel has more of an apartment building vibe to it than a hotel. Nonetheless, it was clean and comfortable. Not recommended as a place to vacation, but works for a quick overnight to be in proximity to the ferry port or airport (25-minutes by car).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great experience

Posted May 23, 2013
We stayed for just one evening after completing a 10 day sailing trip and the rooms were great and very clean. The pool was great. Overall we would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel!

Posted Jan 4, 2013
The hotel is very old! Probably it was a modern place 20 years ago...