Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Tremendous service and friendly

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Extremely friendly and helpful. Great beach Kept restaurant open as we arrived late to get us some food Will return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

It was ok

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The rooms and breakfast was not that great. The only thing I can say is their pool/pool view is nice and the private beach is beautiful. If it's to stay for the day just to enjoy the beach and pool I say it's a Yes but to sleep I say it's a No go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful hotel, great amenities, friendly staff

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We stayed at La Toubana in July 2017. The staff was very welcoming and the restaurant even provided dinner for us on our first night even though we arrived past closing due to a 7 hour flight delay. The amenities are beautiful with comfortable loungers at both the pool and beach. Food is excellent. Our room was a stunning two story condo type room up on the hill. Easy free parking and we felt very safe. The staff was also very accommodating to our lack of French speaking skills which I had heard could be an issue on the island. Definitely not a problem here. We will be back again and highly recommend this facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Spectacular. They upgraded us to a panoramic view which was unreal. Great breakfast. Lunch and dinner just ok. Great service. Pool and beach are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Our upgraded rooms were fabulous, lovely grounds, good location if you want to stay on Grand Terre. Nice helpful friendly staff. Clean hotel
Cons: Access from the pool to the bar, having to walk over wobbly stepping-stones is not very clever.
Location: Quite a touristy side of the island but lots of places to explore. Beaches with waves, good for surfing.
Lovely clean hotel, friendly, helpful staff, good location, nice pool, nice food, good rooms. I would totally recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A quiet retreat nestled in a hillside

Posted Apr 1, 2016
This hotel was exactly what I needed, a place to relax and unwind. The accommodations are all separate and secluded and each has its own kitchen and private outdoor deck. The French-Creole hotel restaurant Is above average. The hotel staff are responsive, happy and eager to please. Spa services are exceptional and the gym is well-equipped. If you're looking for nightlife and a clubby atmosphere, you'll need to go away from La Toubana. I like that the hotel doesn't in any way cater to English speaking tourists. Most guests seem to come from France or other francophone countries. There is no gift shop. If you're not in good shape physically, one drawback could be the need to walk up and down very steep inclines in order to get around the property. Also, aside from the beach and the pool, there are no real activities for children - so leave them at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean views

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a wonderful hotel with terrific ocean views. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the morning's breakfast presented a nice variety of foods. A delightful stay!
4 out of 5
by Elide from Rio de Janeiro

La Toubana

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was great. Restaurant was quite delicious. Hotel was under some repair since it was at the end of the low season, otherwise well maintained. Recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

It has the potential but did not deliver

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Lack of management and coordination. The lady at the reception was awful, unhelpful and could not be bordered. I would not recommend... Killed about 20 Mosquitos on the first night and had over 100 cars park on the lawn opposition the room due to a beach party. No previous warning of the party and it meant we could not use the beach on that day. Beach is really nice, but beach lounges are reserved for hotel members not guests!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great hotel, out of the way place.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Fantastic stay, great service friendly staff. Our reservation was a little mixed up and our room wasn't ready for us so we had to move after the first night, then we had a double instead of a twin. But when we told them, they did sort it out. For me the beds were not very comfy - but that may be just me! You will need a car as this hotel is high on a hill and a good distance from anything. But this island is worth exploring so that shouldn't be a problem! La Toubana has great views, a fab restaurant and as I have said the staff are fantastic! So generally a great Hotel.