Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Third World in Guadeloupe

Posted Jan 4, 2018
The town of Gosier where this residence hotel is suffers from chronic water shortages and restrictions, ongoing for several years. During our stay we were totally without water for four 12 hour periods over 6 days. Apparently, this is not unusual - read the online reports of the local municipality's meetings about this issue - you will see the locals complaining bitterly about this problem for years. Even during "normal" water supply periods, there was barely enough water to have a shower, maybe because out unit was on the top floor of a 4 story building. The two level unit we had has no air-con on the upper sleeping level, no windows at all (!) and no roof vent to let out the heat, so even in late December, it is impossible to sleep up there. It was 34-38 degrees C in the mornings - and over 40 C by late afternoon. The street outside is a main road, with lots of traffic and noise. The unit itself has a nice view of the harbour, but the tiny balcony (which is 50% occupied by a heavy granite table) is pretty much unusable. You can do much better elsewhere for about the same price. Look into Deshais (on western side of the island), or Saint-Anne, or Saint Francois. Avoid this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, United States

No one told us about the water shut off

Posted Dec 23, 2017
The biggest negative about this hotel is that the water gets turned off in the entire neighborhood for 18 hours at a time every few days. No one told us about this. Imagine our surprise! This would’ve been nice to know. Also, the batteries in the remote for the air-conditioner did not work. And once the water was turned back on, the toilet leaked. Little things really do make a difference on vacation. One more thing: the staff informed us just before we got there they would be on vacation for the week we were there. We therefore had no one to whom to voice our concerns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

walking distance to beach, room comfort was good.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: roomy spacious-hotel personal allow you the experience of feeling like it's your home with no intrusions at all. But available if you call upon them.
Cons: town could use help in rebuilding - few areas require a nice pain job and debri removal from natural disasters.
Location: Ferry to the inlet was a great experience - active volcano and black and red beaches to visit.
MY arrival was late in the evening after sunset - a little difficult to take in the beauty, Next day, went around the town - super friendly locals. Beach was breathtaking - day and night. Neighborhood quite - but felt very safe town people take care of the tourist. Shopping a bit difficult as sunset - shops close. Hotel had all the comforts of home - Wifi on the island very difficult - only wifi available at hotel. Overall had a great time - would recommend to all family and friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Modest, older apartment close to the water.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The host was kind and helpful.
Cons: The description and the overall cleanliness.
Location: There is a nice beach "Datcha" nearby with a few nice cafes and restaurants.
The staff was very kind and helpful, but the facilities were certainly dated and borderline in disrepair. Although not "dirty" per se, the place had a sort of patina that made it feel unclean. The A/C did work well, which was important as the doors needed to remain closed to keep out street noise and mosquitos, some of which were already inside to welcome me. For a budget minded traveler who needs a small apartment's amenities, this place would be just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice hotel, lot of space, AMAZING views!

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Price, and space for a family. Free WiFi.
Cons: some kitchen basics like salt and pepper.
Location: The beach is 4-6 blocks away, and it was our favorite beach out of the 5 beaches we visited. Dining and groceries very close.
It's nice to get so much space (2 bedrooms, kitchen, etc) for such a low price! The view from the balcony overlooking le Gozier island/bay is breathtaking! This is like an apartment building with maybe 6-10 apartments. There was a very nice, shady patio out the back of the apartment too (in addition to the south-facing balcony). Parking is not good though if you rent a car--there is only street parking. However, despite the street appearing crowded, I never had to park more than a block away. The air conditioning works very well. No elevator. No onsite food, but there are several options within a few blocks. Thank you Residence Tourquoise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Convenient family locations

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: location, apartment setting
Cons: building cosmetics (paint etc), bathroom renovations
Location: beach, restaurants, markets
This is a well priced, family friendly, accommodation, with a beautiful view overlooking the ocean. We were looking for a location convenient to the airport and the beach and this met our needs perfectly. Beatrice was very responsive to emails, met us on arrival, and provided suggestions for activities in the area. The building itself is a bit dated, but the apartment had all the conveniences we needed and at a very reasonable price. Will definitely use this location again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Yves Brossard - Résidence Turquoise Guadeloupe, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central NY

Live like a local!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Live like a local,Very helpful and warm staff.
Cons: Nothing, just what we were looking for. I really don't know what an "all-inclusive person" is like but they're probably better off at Disney.
Location: Jump right in! Middle of town that has everything you need! Great beach few short blocks. Outdoor market/food friday nite. Drive around.
The "un-all inclusive", the real way to visit. Few blocks to beach. Fresh bakery one block (fresh croissants and baguettes every morning). Mostly French (you are in France after all) but anyone can still get by (don't be afraid). Enjoy the French/Caribbean culture! Parking on streets always available (might have to walk a block or 2-but rarely).Lots to do! The people are great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Yves Brossard - Résidence Turquoise Guadeloupe, Hotel Management
"Live like a local!" That's so true! We are very happy you appreciated our helpful and warm staff. I mean Beatrice who is in charge! "Fresh croissants and baguettes every morning" are so french and so good!. "The people are great!" Thanks Anthony for you much appreciated review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for area.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: View from balcony.
Cons: Bedspread was rather ratty. There is someone at front reception only part time. Shower stall is quite small.
Location: Walking distance to great beach. There are some small cafes nearby but not much in way of shopping. Large open air market on Friday nights.
Room is clean with well equipped kitchenette. Also balcony with lovely view of the ocean. However there is busy street in front of hotel. Double bed is really two twins pushed together. Not cleaning services during stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Yves Brossard - Résidence Turquoise Guadeloupe, Hotel Management
Thanks for your accurate review and thanks for staying with us. The great view and walking distance to great beach are two reasons why staying at Résidence Turquoise Guadeloupe. A cleaning services during stay is possible upon request, but is charged for. Kind regards, Yves Brossard - Residence Turquoise Guadeloupe
5 out of 5
by Rhoda

A nice place to stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
The Turquoise is furnished apartments. Clean sheets and towels are provided every week. The manager, Beatrice, was very helpful. She booked our taxi to and from the airport (it's recommended visitors rent a car, but we didn't). You can get by on high school French. We shopped at the local market everyday. The unit had a bar fridge, new dishwasher and cook top. Aside from walking the beach, we ate almost all our meals on the balcony. We would go back, no question about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay in our establishment and for your very positive opinion on the Residence Turquoise in Guadeloupe, overlooking the sea and the lagoon in the village of origin of Gosier. The beach is indeed close, and especially it is a natural beach and white sand. I hope you also appreciated the quality of our W-Fi connection! And thank you for indicating the quality of welcome of Beatrice. You are right, it is best to rent a car at the airport! We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Generally pleasant stay. Given the location, the parking could become an issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you again for your positive opinion on the Résidence Turquoise in Guadeloupe, close to everything and especially in the heart of the real village of GOSIER (LE GOSIER), because it is the true center of the village, which allows to live at the rhythm of the true life of the inhabitants of Guadeloupe. We usually park in the street Amédée Clara, which faces the Résidence Turquoise, and therefore face to the island of Gosier and its lagoon, but one can also park in the parallel street, in the back part, which is the street General de Gaulle. We hope to see you again as soon as possible!