Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great child-friendly features.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The location is nice, and facilities are generally good. We liked the outdoor kitchen.
Cons: Our beds were very worn and not comfortable. The food in the restaurants is not great and it is fairly expensive.
This is a great place to stay if you are travelling with children. There are several pools, two of which are perfect for small children. In addition, there are two very nice, small protected beaches. Evening activities can be a bit loud if your room is close to the main building, but the noise never lasts very late- everything generally shuts down by 10. There are three restaurants, but be warned- they are only open during very brief periods and are oriented more toward French meal times (which can be late for American kids).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

mixed bag

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: service at reception, condition of rooms, bedding and linens
Location: closer to st. francois than st anne. Plage de Bois Jolan was lovely and Plage des Raisins Clairs was a lively beach with great food trucks for lunch.
The hotel is dated, the rooms are sparse, but clean. The kitchenette is a nice feature, but the hotel doesn't provide sponges or soap, presumably because there is a store on-site. The prices at the store were competitive, and pretty well stocked. The beds are hard, and pillows are lumpy and our room only had two small pillows in it. The comforters were pretty used, not that gently. Very little English spoken by anyone at the hotel. Our first room was above the main pool area. It was so incredibly loud until 11 PM that our room was vibrating. The noise started right back up at 7 AM the next morning. When I went to the registration desk to ask for another room, I was dismissively told that there wasn't one, and that there was no way to know when the music would end, or if we could expect it to happen on other nights. Unfortunately, the rude woman who provided this "information" didn't have a name tag on. We were told the next morning by another person working reception that there was a room and she would move us, waiving the cost ($25!!!) of housekeeping. Make sure you are not in the main building by the pool if you want to sleep before 11 or past 7. There is limited housekeeping provided - something like 4 days for any new towels or straightening. There are only 2 towels in each room. Pool towels areunder lock and key. The beach is quite nice. The wifi is a joke. Shout out to Jessica and Murielle at reception - they were very helpful.
4 out of 5
by martha

Beautiful grounds and beaches

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
The grounds of this property are huge and beautiful. The beaches are beautiful and clear. However, you must wear water shoes because they are rocky, though. The restaurants were very expensive and the food was "ok". We recommend you either cook or eat in town. If you don't speak French, bring a translator as not many speak English. Some do, Rudy and Muriel at the front desk, were great. If you have problems walking, this is not the place for you. As I said, the property is very large and you have to walk everywhere, including taking your own bags to your room when checking in and back to the lobby when checking out. A lot of stairs and hills, but you'll be in great shape when you leave. We are definitely returning next year because we loved the Island and the property, but we will be more prepared. There is no housekeeping services, your towels do not get renewed and once your toilet paper runs out, you must buy more yourself. That was a surprise to us. When we return, we know what to expect, we'll come prepared. We will definitely learn some French before returning. Best restaurant to go -- Les Pieds Dans L'Eau in Saint Francois.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island, USA

Location and grounds are perfect!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Grounds were beautiful. Great view of the sea from our veranda.
Cons: The room was run down. Would have been nice to have a quality restaurant on the premise.
Location: We love Guadeloupe! Exploring the little villages & rainforest. Saint Francois, Pointe Chateaux was breathe taking.
My husband & I were more interested in a location on the beach than the comfort of our room. So a luxurious room wasn't important to us. However, that being said, the room was very disappointing. Cleaning service was done on our 5th day stay. Towels, when requested, were paper thin (very worn). Kitchen sink leaked, microwave did not work, and bed had a super hard foam mattress (very uncomfortable). The 2 pools were very nice. Beaches were beautiful but water was shallow. We had planned to snorkel off the beach but that wasn't possible. Food was ok but nothing to fave about. It did have a convenience shop on site. Parking was insufficient. We explored the island everyday and if you didn't return before sunset it was difficult find a parking spot on the premise. A good reasonably priced resort, especially for families. Good activities for young kids.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK place

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night to discover Sainte Anne and Saint Francis. Although we made it late, they were still opened which is not always the case. the room for convenient, typical hotel rooms in the guadeloupe/ Martinique area. As an avid traveler and an american I have learnt how to lower my expectations compare to what we are used to in the US. This is a very bog place so don;t expect the service to be personnal or for the front desk to accomodate all ur needs. You will need a transportation to and from there. Traffic to the airport from here is HORRIBLE! don't let the distance fool you.We missed our flight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael from Greenwich, NJ

Great family destination

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
The facility is quite pleasant with a few provisos. There is free WIFi, but ours only worked for a few hours as far as I could tell. Due to our lack of French, I didn't think I could really explain the problem to the staff so I didn't even try. The resort is self-contained and really caters to kids and families. If you want anything else, you need to drive there. The shower is totally open and wets the whole bathroom floor, so be careful as it gets very slippery. Despite having neighbors all around us, our room felt very private and was very quiet. The outdoor kitchen and dining area was a very nice surprise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Away

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The Pierre & Vacances is not a good place to stay if what you're looking for is comfort and relaxation. The staff believes in "learn as you go". So for example, you will not know that there is no housekeeping until you come back to your room at the end of the day to realize that the beds were not made and the towels are unchanged. Or, you will not know that you need a tag identifier for your car until, two days after you have been parking, the gate guard happens to let you know and for that reason doesn't let you in (not without a whole lot of arm-twisting anyway...). The list goes on and on, including lack of signs to get to the restaurant or inability to get extra bedroom keys, which forces one to wait in an often long line to deposit and retrieve the bedroom keys. What takes the prize though is the unfriendliness and negative attitude of the hotel staff. To start, if you do not speak French, don't even think about staying there. The staff will only speak French, and if you're able to successfully communicate with them, they will engage you in nonsensical canards about how they can't keep track of everything or how Pierre & Vacances is not really a hotel (even though the entrance sign clearly identifies it as a hotel). Bottom line, you will not get anything from them other than a deep sense of frustration. As for the facilities, the parking is often full and any availability is at distant and inconvenient locations. The rooms need serious makeovers. The bedsheets are
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Not for us. Too isolated and unable to book a car.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Quiet pool and beach area away from the main pool/beach
Cons: Quality of food in restaurant. Better facilities in the room. Change of towels. Only once during our stay.
Location: Remote. Needed a car. Unfortunately they were fully booked. We used the shuttle to St Anne and St Francois to get out.
We tried to communicate by e mail 5 times before we arrived to arrange airport transfer. NO REPLY. Even when we sent e mails via head office. On arrival there was only one person on reception and nobody to help us with our cases to our room which was a long way from reception. The room was small and dated. The micro wave didn't work and nobody seemed interested with any complaint. I asked for upgrade but nobody seemed interested.
4 out of 5
by olav

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels