Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful location. All the staff were very helpful and have great plans for the place.
5 out of 5
by Simon

Lovely view

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice walk to grange although pretty steep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous views

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
New owners prices have gone up considerably in restaurant food still very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The new proprietors are renovating the hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The owners were very hospitable
Cons: It needs so much work.
Location: Cartmel and Grange over Sands are worth a visit, but make sure to visit the Lakeland Motor Museum.
I am sure that we the hotel is renovated it will be nice, but in its current state of decoration and menu, it is not for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice hotel in a lovely location

Posted May 9, 2017
Great hotel, nice quiet area. Very clean, great food. Really friendly staff. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Lovely hotel, handy for areas we wanted to visit

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean & comfortable and the staff were more than helpful. Excellent food & service. Overall excellent
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very near Lakes & coast. Loved the racecourse in Cartmel. Lovely little village
Wanted to get away for a night over the Easter Holiday and no better place to stay. It enabled us to relax and enjoy the food and lovely atmosphere of the hotel. Very good value for money and the food was excellent. Would not hesitate to come back for an even longer stay next time.
2 out of 5
by Serge from Orpington

Nice hotel, no heating, dismissive staff

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Uplands Hotel i located just outside Cartmel on the hill. There's plenty of space to park the car at the front. The bedroom was cosy, nicely refurbished and the bed was very comfortable. Wifi was available in the bedroom and worked well. Breakfast was nice with a variety of cereals, fruit and full English. We encountered 2 letdowns during our stay: we didn't have any heating in the bedroom the whole night and morning. No need to highlight that in March it can be pretty cold in this part of the country. When we reported the matter to the receptionist, her response was quite dismissive "oh yeah, someone forgot to turn the heating on yesterday for the night, sorry about that". Pity it ruined the whole experience which would have been quite good otherwise.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Todmorden

sUPerLANDS!

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place and a cracking breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Need attention to detail...

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Fantastic view great food friendly helpful staff.
Cons: As title of review.
Location: On hilltop betwween Grange over Sands and Cartmel. Great areas to visit. Within easy reach of Windermere, Bowness, Ambleside etc.
Title says it all. Staff were very helpful, pleasant and courteous. Food excellent. But few things which could have been done better. Bathroom door that can't open more than a quarter of the way because it hits the floor tiles. No light above bathroom mirror no shaver point and poor overhead lighting made it impossible to shave. Also you really need a car to stay here, as the road has no footpath and is steep and winding. Particularly not to be walked after dark!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

out in the country piece quietness outstanding

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: comfort area veiws and overall the friendliness
Cons: already 100%
Location: 20 minutes walk into Cartmel, short drive to grange over sands lots to see and do
booked this little gem of a hotel wanted some peice and quite and thats what we got staff only to helpful nothing to much trouble for them we will definatly be bACK