Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some organisation and money spending

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Historic. Friendly and willing receptionist. Large grounds, quiet location.
Cons: Vegetarian selection for dining. Fridge or minbar in room. Staircase decor. Very small lift. Potholes in driveway. Use first floor for bedrooms.
Location: Handy location near the A1 but no noise. Central for visiting locations such as Burghley House and Lincoln.
Nice situation in countryside. Nice grounds and some lovely communal rooms. We had a mansion bedroom, which was nicely decorated but is in the eaves, so a sloping ceiling and high up windows so it is hard to see out. No lift to the top floor. Staff are nice but struggling to cope. Service is slow. Dining experience not good, although breakfast was mostly ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Hugely disappointing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
As you drive into the estate the anticipation is high, sadly that feeling is short lived. As soon as you step across the threshold you rapidly realise that Stoke Rockford is an illusion. Beautiful on the outside but the interior is beyond genteel poverty. We stayed in the Woodland lodge and in all honesty we slept just a couple of hours each night . Room 24 is to be avoided at all costs. We were given a paultry 10% off our bill. Personally if it had been my business I would have compt the whole bill. The interior of all the public areas is tired & drab, dirty and in desperate need of a complete refurbishment. The room was freezing yet when I called reception all I got was " that other guests where too hot" it took several requests to conjure up a portable heater. All in all I would advise that you save your money and check into the Travel lodge just a mile or so south. It can't be any noisier than the room we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel with good facilities

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Beautiful location, very nicely finished rooms, clean and well equipped with plenty of space and very impressive bathroom. Breakfast was very disappointing on both days, however the restaurant food was of a good standard and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Looks nice from the outside but from inside!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Stable annex room dirty,mould, not nice, menu pricey and inadequate, staff nice,driveway in dire need of repair, main hotel looked lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Beautiful building and grounds

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The old building and grounds.
Cons: Food in the bar. I thought the chicken salad I had was very poor. I found the anchovies but never did find the succulent bacon! Very slow service.
Location: Convenient because on the A1.
As with all large old buildings, they are very difficult to maintain. I enjoyed wandering around the books in the library but there was no where to sit. The grounds were wonderful, interesting and very well kept. I congratulate the gardeners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Ove r night stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Cons: The main part of the hotel is well maintained.T he courtyard is in need of refurbishment.
Location: National trust property close by and golf course
STAYED OVERNIGHT IN A COURTYARD ROOM .WE HAVE PREVIOUSLY STAYED AT STOKE ROCHFORD AND HAD A COURTYARD ROOM.THE ROOM ON THIS OCCASION WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT.THE CARPET HAD DIRTY MARKS ON IT AND WATER MARKS WERE VISIBLE ON THE WALL. THE BATHROOM WAS UNBELIEVABLY SMALL WITH A BATH BARELY LARGE ENOUGH FOR A CHILD.THE SHOWER WAS DISAPPOINTING.EMPTY TOILETRY BOTTLE LEFT ON FLOOR FROM PREVIOUS GUEST. ATE IN RESTAURANT AND HAD A VERY NICE MEAL AS WAS BREAKFAST FOLLOWING MORNING. WE WOULD RETURN BUT HOPE FOR A DIFFERENT ROOM!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby

Tea afternoon + overnight stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable, the food was excellent when it finally arrived, the grounds were well maintained and relaxing, beautiful location
Arrived at Stoke Rochford Hall at 12 noon after a 2 hour drive from Grimsby, went to reception and presented our voucher, could not check in our room until 2pm which was fine as we were supposed to have our RESERVED & BOOKED reservation at 1pm, first they could not find our booking (this was booked 6 weeks earlier) , we had a confirmation email which we printed and took with us. we were told to go through to the bar and wat there and someone would be through to serve us, Sat there until 2.45pm still nobody came to see us. Went back to reception to complain and find out what was happening, got an apology and a free drink and told we would be served shortly, our food finally came at 3.15pm, After the food there was supposed to be tea, coffee and hot scones, these did not arrive, went to reception again at 4pm to ask where the rest of the order was, (fed up by this time) checked in and went to our room, the tea, coffee and hot scones arrived at our room about 20 minutes later. The Hotel was very busy on this day with weddings and other functions, the staff were very busy multi tasking between serving food, serving behind the bar and looking after reception, I felt sorry for them but if you are running multi functions you should employ more staff tp accommodate ALL your functions on time. It has not put me off visiting the Hotel again as the staff were really nice but overworked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Parts outdated

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Some of the rooms have beautiful features and the grounds are well kept.
Cons: Rooms need updating...especially the stables
We arrived and given key to a stable room. First impressions of hotel were wonderful..it's a large beautiful looking place set in some beautiful grounds. Stable room was outdated and furniture looked as if it had just been brought from an auction warehouse. The bathroom/wet room was dirty. After some thought we went back to the receptionist and she was very helpful in finding us another suitable room... which I have to say was miles better. We then proceeded to the bar and there were no staff serving. In fact we could have helped ourselves. 15 minutes later we managed to get a drink.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spalding

Evening wedding stay over disappointing

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Arrived at Stoke Rockford Hall full of anticipation at seeing such a wonderful building and grounds, couldn't wait to see the interior. What a beautiful old building but very out-dated and dowdy. Lots of beautiful polished wood but everything seemed to need some TLC. Our room was in the Old Courtyard, which was ok but on closer inspection the cleanliness needed a lot to be desired. The furniture was cheap and chipped although the bed was clean and comfortable. Venturing down to the bar, we had a huge shock. The cost of the drinks was extortionate. This unfortunately put a damper on the evening. If we had known this we wouldn't have stayed overnight, as together with the cost of the disappointing room we spent a small fortune. The evening wedding food was however very good, as was the breakfast, which did makeup for the disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Despite having read some bad reviews for this hotel, this was not our experience and we stayed in the stable block! Housekeeping was good and staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back to Stoke Rochford Hall in the near future.