Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Grants, NM

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Cooked-to-order breakfast (limited) clean, comfortable beds.
Cons: Parking lot, bathroom fixtures such as toilets and showers/tubs, breakfast offerings.
Location: Easy access off Interstate 40. Chaco Canyon, Bluewater Lake Recreation area, hiking.
We booked four rooms - one couple per room - and found the accommodations satisfactory. The rooms were clean, the linens were clean, no stains, etc., and the beds comfortable. Easily accessible off Interstate 40 and close to the Wal-Mart and the town of Grants. The hotel is has undergone some renovation (i.e. newer mattresses, newer room fridge and microwave and granite on bathroom sinks) but can use a facelift. The parking lot has numerous potholes, the swimming pool needs to be repaired and re-opened. Breakfast offerings were standard/sufficient. It's a clean, inexpensive location to stay if you plan to spend most of your time away from the room, sightseeing, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

We won't be back

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Dirty and smelly. Stale air in a room that once allowed smoking. Fitness equipment not working. No elevator. Breakfast was acceptable. Good location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Good value

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Older place but they keep it up pretty well (except the pool). The hot breakfast was a great bennie. Not a lot of other guests which surprised us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a ok hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Room is big. Location is convineient. Facility is old. Room is ok for cleanness but not very good. Breakfast is ok for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Beautiful and affordable. We are difinitely going to go back to this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
just basic and I have nothing else to say. I have nothing else to say.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Globe, Az

Not what the Ad's Say...

Posted Jun 4, 2016
We stayed here last Sept, and the pool was "temporarily out of service, and they were doing what they could to get it in order ASAP" well we stayed here again last weekend and still same sign and no pool, no restaurant and the gentleman at the front desk was not friendly at all. The room was clean, and comfortable, yet the motel has seen better days, used to be one of the nicest in Grants. It's sad to see it this way and be mislead in the description of the motel. I don't recommend for families, maybe just someone who needs a place to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bremen

Abgehalftertes Hotel bei dem seit Jahren kein Cent

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Zimmer wie immer groß und netzten okay. Völlig abgelaufener Teppich mit großen Löchern. Die Hsndtücher ausgefranst. Amateuren hingen halb aus der Wand und Waser ließ sich zwischen Dusche und Wannenkopf nicht umstellen. Riesen Innenpool- OHNE Wasser. Einzige Eismaschine des Hotels kaputt. Kein anderes Angebot? Eis zu bekommen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Scary hotel! DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing! Don't stay here!
We were the ONLY people scheduled to stay at the hotel for the evening. We drove up and noticed broken windows covered with garbage bags, an unusually empty parking lot and not another person around except for the young guy at the desk and a local "lady" who looked like she used this hotel for her "evening occupation." The desk person told me the credit card machine was broken and I needed to pay cash even though our hotel was reserved and paid for through Expedia. We cancelled our reservation and headed for the Holiday Inn Express across the street. The desk person at the Holiday Inn Express told me that the Red Lion rents rooms to locals and that it's quite a party place. She also told me that it's not a safe hotel. YIKES! I will NEVER go back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pathetic , Terrible Experience!!

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Turn the lights on, take credit cards, clean the rooms,
Location: other hotels there that I wish I had booked instead of this one.
Driving up to the hotel, first I noticed there lights were off. Going into the deserted lobby, it looked deserted. The desk clerk was on his laptop and seemed to be offended that I was there. Since I already had reservations, I politely pulled out my credit card to pay . I was informed that they could not accept credit cards and I would have to pay cash. He stated that they had a power surge last Friday ( This was Wednesday of the following week) and could not take credit cards. Obviously, Expedia did not know this?... Since it was late, I decided to just pay cash and hope for the best. We proceed to the room only to find it was dirty and dingy.... The shower was awful... Their seemed to be no concern for the cleanliness of the room. Breakfast was included and it was ok and the restaurant staff was ok and the food was ok... Overall , I would never stay there again and would not ever recommend anyone else to stay there....