Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, New Mexico

It's the little things...

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: I liked my first impression of the room. There were plenty of towels.
Cons: Correct emergency evacuation map; replace lumpy bed pillows and mattresses; provide soap and shampoo; serve more wheat-free food for breakfast.
Location: In Grants, NM, go to the Mining Museum, and visit the Malpais, El Morro National Monument, and Acoma Pueblo.
My first impression was very positive. It was clean, the room looked pleasant and comfortable. I chose this motel based on room rate and amenities. I could have picked a motel with a cheaper rate, but thought the Super8 would be a step up. My overall impression after spending the night is that they cut all corners possible, including surface space for toiletries in the sink area, and a small surface under the TV. One of the beds was VERY uncomfortable -- and some of the pillows were amazingly lumpy. There was a small coffeepot and coffee, but no frig, no microwave, one tiny bar of soap in the shower, and no shampoo or other soap. The breakfast was disappointing as well. There were two choices of food that didn't contain wheat, there were some tired-looking apples and I think they had yogurt. The coffee was OK. The emergency exit map on the inside of the door is 180 degrees wrong -- which is disturbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We had a faulty toilet in the first room and we notified the staff. They immediately took care of us and switched us to another room without any hassle.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for price

Posted Dec 6, 2016
We needed a place to sleep and get out of a snow storm so we looked for something clean but cheap. This place was that. Nothing special but good for just a nights sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

convenient for travelers

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: price
Cons: housekeeping
Location: convenient when traveling thru,
the toilet and shower were so dirty I refuse to shower toilet looked worse than a public bathroom in a park, also water was not flushing properly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

My stay at Super 8, Grants, NM

Posted Nov 17, 2016
I thought the place was rundown compared to my stay at the Super 8 in Santa Rosa. The carpet was very worn and dirty looking. The sheet on my bed had stains on it. I do not remember ever having to sleep on a stained sheet in all my 50 plus years of travel. The bathroom needs remodeled. At breakfast there was only one waffle maker, not two like in Santa Rosa, and it kept sticking the waffles and you had to tear them up to get them out. Would not stay here again. I did not get her name at the front desk, but she was excellent. I am a Dish customer and know it inside and out. Know nothing about direct TV. She wound up having to help me three times on how to use it. She was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Just passing through the area

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The room was acceptable for a short overnight stay, which was our need. The bed mattress needs replacing and room was showing its age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge,La

Beautiful Southeast Desert Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Really enjoyed the hotel,room was cleaned with great detail as a 5 star attention to detail. All the facilities were well kepted and pool was beautiful. The towels are very small...sorry for that info so bring your beach towel if your modest. Parking lot is safe and well lit. Continental breakfast was well done. Thank you to all staff...job well done after a long day on road we really enjoyed this stop in our 12 day roadtrip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

big disappointment

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: training on rudeness with staff
Location: Never really looked, just there to sleep
First of all, no one at the staff desk when we arrived, stood for over 10 minutes finally seen sign to call on phone, she seemed disgusted that we interrupted what she was doing and hung up on me and then came out complaining how short staffed they were and not sure if room available yet, we were 2 hrs after the check in time. gave us handicapped room, why I don't know, bed seem like a double, but she swears was queen. I have checked it out yet, but I gave her my debit card and the receipt says that is so, but it was credited to my credit card. I know I originally made the reservation with the credit card, but never had any problems with the other 6 hotels we stayed at on our trip. I hope for their sake my checking didn't get credited also. Never stay here again or any super 8.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

Passing through

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The dual doors one from the hall and one to the outside.
Cons: Motel is starting to age and although the AC was quiet the control push buttons were worn through and the push pads were worn.
Location: Didn't explore the area but did notice a Denny's if you didn't want to take advantage of the breakfast provided by Motel 8.
This motel 8 is starting to show its age but still comfortable. Very close to the freeway (40)with easy on and off ramps. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. The room I was in had hallway and exterior doors (ground floor) you had to enter the room initially from the hall but had the option to open the other door to the outside and access your car from the outside door. Both doors had very good locks and I felt secure when both were locked. The breakfast was Ok and had a waffle maker which was easy to use. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Overall it was okay

Posted Jun 1, 2016
I was happy that the pool/spa was open. That was a proitory. Thankful that my pup could stay with a fee. Breakfast could be better. Overall was happy with my stay and will stay again.