Ratings based on 1,648 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the epitome of a bad resort

Posted Jul 30, 2017
I am not sure where to start. This was supposed to be a high end resort, but turned out to be a cheap badly designed, poorly run pseudo-resort with cost cutting at every corner. The hotel was supposed to be lakefront, but actually has no access to the lake. The only pool that is supposed to serve hundreds of rooms is slightly larger than a backyard pool. The food was terrible and the service was even worse. Employees were rude, and disfranchised. The room has a very odd design. The signage were terrible. There were no signs to be found for the elevators, and by the way, there were only 4 elevators for this behemoth hotel complex. In our room, the window panels had terrible soundproofing, so the music being played in the atrium till early morning hours prevented us from getting good sleep. I burned my hand on the boiling hot water. Almost all hotels keep the hot water >130 F to prevent such accidents. The covered atrium is very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

excellent place to stay vacay

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Everything within walking distance
Cons: I expected more from the steakhouse where we had reservations. Staff was on point but the food wasn't the best.
Location: Loved the waterpark. We will have to do more nightlife next time without the kiddos.
At Check-in Bayley was wonderful. She provided an excellent service and answered all of our questions. She even left some gift cards to the arcade because it was my daughters 6th birthday and we were celebrating at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nome, TX

Quick getaway!

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We went to the Gaylord Texan for a quick weekend getaway with our 9 and 13 year old daughters! We enjoyed the water park and the activities at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome for families!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I stayed here for 3 days when we were visiting Dalas for a wedding. My 6 year old daughter loved the water park and all the fun stuff for kids in the hotel "biosphere"! My only complaint is the costly daily parking fees and resort fees. I would rather just be charged a higher nightly rate instead of all the extra daily charges. I also had errors on my bill at checkout. I was charged for self parking and for vallet parking for 2 cars. I only had one car. The hotel made the correction but it took my time to call and have them correct it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great hotel easy fun

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great hotel, great pools for everyone and easy access to shopping with the free shuttle .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi

Great Hotel with great scenery!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Its as great on the inside as it is on the outside!
Cons: N/A
Location: Has good restaurants surrounding it. Old West for Breakfast as well as Los Amigos for some Mexican!
We were excited about the view of the Hotel and kids loved the inside. We didn't get to spend time in the outdoor pool, but hope to do that on next trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Valet very slow- otherwise nice hotel with lots to see and do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Home away from home

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I was only there for one day but definitely a cool place and need to stay there for a couple days to get a good experience but for the time I was there it was well worth it and the room was nice and very comfortable beds and pillows!! I would bring my family back there for sure!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Tired and overpriced.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The property is way overpriced for what you get. The rooms are small and beds are not comfortable. The pools are not good for a resort this size. The waterpark is nice and the gym is good. The food and beverages are way overpriced. The staff is great and the service is excellent which helps. I would recommend another property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Tx

Beautiful Hotel for a Staycation

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Our stay was Great. We went to celebrate our 2yr wedding anniversary as well as a summer vacation trip for the kids/grandkids. There was plenty for the kids to do. I just wish that there were more activities for the Adults to do. The Hotel is Beautiful and if the food is to pricey because it is just do as we did and go to one of the many local restaurants.